[Queenstown] Primary Schools

350 Posts 87 Posters 221.1k Views 1 Watching
      winth

wow… thot can only pv in 1 school at 1 time… so i guess your hubby and u did your share of pv each?

both schools look good, but i would personally prefer radin mas.

dun have the time actually… both hubby and i came from neighbourhood schools, so thot we should let children enjoy their less stressful years there, while i put in more effort in their work lo…

if i could get into a school of my choice, would have chosen acs, got real good impression of that one… but i think it’s an impossible dream.

titank

Yes generally Radin Mas perform better than River Valley in the 2008 PSLE. Just we do our PV then perform detail analysis, now need need o analsyse the following factors:

(i) Environement of the School (Percentage of Chinese, Malays, Indians)
        (ii) Academic Performance Of School
        (iii) Transportation of School Bus
        (iv) Stress Level of School
        (v) Principal Competency. River Valley now have new Principal in 2009.

Maybe when coming to nearer the P1 Registration then we ask any KS Parents for advices again.

Oh to enter ACS is either you are a Christain, RC or do PV I think. Where do you stay by the way?

winth

Queenstown lor… stone’s throw away from queenstown primary…

no lar… me buddhist but it’s the environment of the school that i like. I’ve seen very fine boys from that school before… thought they’ll make good gentlemen when they grow up.

titank

Oh then either you try Queenstown or New Town.

Both of them are single session school.

Both school you should have better chance to get into at Phase 2C. Ya ACS is good but seem like a lot of rich people.

audreymarilyn

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Hi RRMummy,

Which school u actually applied to be a PV? I am thinking of placing my kids @ my alma mata.... Fairfield Methodist ... but becoz i am putting up in Sengkang, distance is a very big headache. I would prefer my kids to grow up in a god-abiding environment.

I quit my job as a primary school teacher when i had my 3rd.... these days i am giving some tuition so that i can get out of the house for an hour or so.... i am thankful for a good helper.

hi audreymarilyn,

:? I thought you already had a newbie http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3046? 😉
                relax...don't be too nervous over the registration k? 😄

audreymarilyn

hi Jedamum,

i posted a reply for RRMummy but i am not sure how it ended up an entirely new post? i m new here…

i am very anxious abt the P1 thingy coz i wont want my boy to end up in just any school…

tell me more abt urself?

• 2 Offline
                    2blurcats

I’m an old girl from Fairfield - thought of putting my dd in there, but hubby feels that the Chinese standard in most mission schools is not good and would prefer that we put dd in a Chinese school, considering how important Chinese is to our society in future.

Another friend told me that Chinese schools are very "academic" and not all-rounders.

Can anyone advise me on both the above views?

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

Queenstown is such a quiet thread…

anyhow, managed to sneak in under 2B for FMPS (57 app for 59 places). Time well invested I guess, despite my continuing misgivings about PV scheme…

Queenstown is such a quiet thread....

anyhow, managed to sneak in under 2B for FMPS (57 app for 59 places). Time well invested I guess, despite my continuing misgivings about PV scheme....
                        Hey 3Boys... :congrats:

Now for the juicy piece we have been waiting for ... ? :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 35