Travel: Japan - General
Herbie:
Hi 3boys, we are flying to tokyo via haneda airport. I hv checked with ascott, they said tat i hv to book 2 rms for 2 adult n 2 children. Cost 12000 yen each. It is really difficult to book a hotel rm for a family of 4. We are still looking for other alternatives. We will b in tokyo for 9 days n we are still comptemplating whether we shld travel to osaka. Btw, this is our 2nd trip to tokyo we went there 2 years apo . So we hv been to tokyo tower. Hakone
Can you do an open-jaw by flying into Kansai? Will save you a long and costly trek from Haneda to Osaka.
Not sure why they are being picky, I squeezed 2 adults and 2 kids into a tiny room at Citadines.....sometimes its better to ask for forgiveness than for permission. -
Herbie:
Hi 3boys, we are flying to tokyo via haneda airport. I hv checked with ascott, they said tat i hv to book 2 rms for 2 adult n 2 children. Cost 12000 yen each. It is really difficult to book a hotel rm for a family of 4. We are still looking for other alternatives. We will b in tokyo for 9 days n we are still comptemplating whether we shld travel to osaka. Btw, this is our 2nd trip to tokyo we went there 2 years apo . So we hv been to tokyo tower. Hakone
Did you check with the hotel directly or their global reservations hotline?
To my knowledge, staff at global reservations will just go by the regulations set by the respective hotels, they will not make exception. Normally, flexibility will be exercised by the hotel directly. -
Hi 3boys, we bnught the air tickets liao so cannot fly to kaisai instead. But if we were to osaka we will need to buy jr pass ($1700). May i know how old r yr kids when u stayed at citadines?
perhaps we will juz follow yr Footstep n make the booking at citadine. i hope they won’t chase us out. Tx -
Herbie:
I honestly cannot now remember all the details of how it transpired. It may have been that I had booked for 2+1 and then showed up with 2 kids instead. They were 6 and 4 at the time. I may have been charged a small supplementary for the extra child.Hi 3boys, we bnught the air tickets liao so cannot fly to kaisai instead. But if we were to osaka we will need to buy jr pass ($1700). May i know how old r yr kids when u stayed at citadines?
perhaps we will juz follow yr Footstep n make the booking at citadine. i hope they won't chase us out. Tx
Ok, better stop here. You need to make your own choice hor? I am recounting my experience only and don't want to ruin your vacation by giving bad advice! -
chergaby:
I second this.. it happens for many chains.. rg. Holiday Inn, if u book via website, or their international/singapore hotline, they insist u book 2 rooms.. but IF u write to the hotel itself, they allow children up to 16yrs old to share room!!
Did you check with the hotel directly or their global reservations hotline?
To my knowledge, staff at global reservations will just go by the regulations set by the respective hotels, they will not make exception. Normally, flexibility will be exercised by the hotel directly.
the citadines website indicates that child under 6 (iirc) are allowed to stay for free, best email them direct, and you can get a clearer pic. I read on tripadvisor that pple have been prosecuted for sneaking in additional persons then indicated in their booking. :roll: -
Pay a visit to JTB @Ion B4. They can get some good deals for hotels for you. I originally did my own Tokyo hotel room booking (for Keio Plaza Hotel @Shinjuku) and thought I got quite a good rate. In the end, JTB managed to get it for me at average S$308 per night. They also do Airport Limousine ticket sale/booking, Disney Tokyo ticket.
Anyone here have recommendation on transportation deals within Tokyo? eg: (1)Tokyo Metro Pass-cannot travel on Toei Line; (2)Tokyo One-Day Free Ticket ((aka Tokyo Free Kippu 1580 yen)-unlimited 1-day use of all subway lines (Toei and Tokyo Metro) and JR trains in the central Tokyo area + Toei buses; (3)Tokunai Pass (730 yen)-unlimited 1-day use of JR trains in the central Tokyo area. Which provides the best coverage and is most economical for those tourist area?
Based on my observation, for eg: travelling from Shinjuku to Ikebukuro subway station involves using JR Yamanote Line or Toei Oedo Subway Line which takes 5min to travel between the 2 destinations. Else, it will take 36min to travel between the same 2 destinations if going strictly by Tokyo Metro and it requires quite a number of transfers. I don’t think buying individual ticket per ride is a good choice as it looks like you’ll end up paying at 600~700 yen if it involves 1 transfer. Am I correct?
Is there a lot to do in Hakone? Would 2 day be just nice or too long?
For Tokyo, if I have 2 full day in the city (2 other days will be spent at Disneyland and Puroland), do you all have a suggested itinerary suitable for kids, hubby and some shopping?
Anyone went to the Ikebukuro Earthquake Muesum?
Hope you all can give me some ideas, feedback, suggestions. Thanks! -
Has anyone book their F&E flights to tokyo before? Did anyone take taxi and knows how much it cost?? -
i3mum:
Taxi very expensive leh. Take the airport limousine. Even during biz trip, we also take the airport limousine. You can find the schedule, route and the cost online. Have fun!Hi,
Has anyone book their F&E flights to tokyo before? Did anyone take taxi and knows how much it cost?? -
Dinah:
A friend who is working in Tokyo recommended us to buy the stored value ticket in Tokyo and we could use it for all the lines and places. Just top up when it runs low. You can surrender the unused portion at end of your trip to get a refund.Hi,
Anyone here have recommendation on transportation deals within Tokyo? eg: (1)Tokyo Metro Pass-cannot travel on Toei Line; (2)Tokyo One-Day Free Ticket ((aka Tokyo Free Kippu 1580 yen)-unlimited 1-day use of all subway lines (Toei and Tokyo Metro) and JR trains in the central Tokyo area + Toei buses; (3)Tokunai Pass (730 yen)-unlimited 1-day use of JR trains in the central Tokyo area. Which provides the best coverage and is most economical for those tourist area?
Unless you can plan all your routes upfront and do comparison of the costs, the stored value ticket is very convenient and you don't have to worry about which line you can take etc. Some days we don't even spend up to the amount of the 1 day pass. It provides lots of flexibility on your travel and plans.
Btw, at every subway/JR station, there is either an office or a booth/table with the chop for that station. If your kid is interested, you can collect the chops on a nice booklet as a trip momento. We collected quite a few and my kid loves the different design for each station.
Hakonr is nice. Do remember to stop by one of the hotspot to have your hot spring eggs. It was a regret that we did not visit the place on our last visit.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.