Try Indon maid lah...at least not so daring like Filipino ones. I can't stand neighbour's maid...swinging her long hair from side to side like some model doing advertisement :x forgot to mention the employer is angmoh, so the maid slang like crazy.
Not true leh...my mum's maid is Indon. Her hair is so messy and untidy, always ask her to tie up, after 3rd days she bo chap liao. Sometime can see her hair in the food.....alamak!
She is very stubborn type when you scold her, she can stared at you like going to beat u up...she don't like ppl to touch her, when u touch, she say you slap/beat her :shock: -
My mum got fed up getting Filipino maids…due to bad experiences.
With Indonesian ones, their problems are stubborn and dirty…something which has to be reminded and reinforced. As for telling lies, all maids are the same.
I really really wonder if all these women are coming here to work or whatever. My prev Indon dresses up wherever she goes, like going to see the King even though we are just going to the supermarket. My son calls her Miss Indonesia. -
Anna Ng:
i just got a maid in Aug, the agent told me for Philipino $420 & Indonesian $390 for new maid
I just applied for a new maid. Myanmar, ex India (apparently they do go India to work) - no off days, $360. Apparently fresh Indo is $360 pm. Not sure about filipino. -
KSmom8:
Re handbags, I think just be aware. You have to go toilet etc - there is no way it can be within sight. I have heard of maid who helped themselves to $50 notes from employer's handbag, and also of one who helped herself to thousands of dollars kept in employer's bedside table. On that afternoon, she asked to go out for a while and after that, the money was never found.Btw, does anyone make sure that their handbag is always within sight at home? After one of my maids stole from me, I will always make sure my handbag is within sight at home. So when I go to the bedroom, I carry it with me. When I am in the living room, it is also carried there. I place it on a table where I can see clearly.
Know of people who arrange for their telephone number to be \"private\" so that the maid will not know the number. Is it really necessary? Shouldn't the maid be given the number so that her family can reach her in case of emergency?
I don't let my maids keep money with them, so accounting is easy. If there is money, it must be stolen. All their monies are kept in the bank - for their sanity and mine. If she need to use, I pay for her first.
re phone number. The housephone is unlisted. But I'm sure by now she probably know the number - there are ways and means of knowing. Anyway, I was very impressed with my current maid that she even knew to check caller id. Once the door alarm was ringing, and she was able to call my hubby hp to tell us....I was shocked. This was like her 3rd month of working here. I guess she probably knows also how to delete called numbers.
my agent highly recommended myanmese to me. First time - a bit trepidation. Kept asking her for indo (cheaper to send back) but she told me currently no stock. Good luck for your hunt!
Even i am searching so this is what i got fresh Indo is 340, exp any other country except singapore is 360 and with exp in singapore is 380. Fresh filipino is 380 w/o any experience. Myanmar is 350 -
Hi hquek,
I’ve not heard of good Myanmar maids around…several of my friends who have them experienced stubborn and inability to communicate with them. They live in a world of their own and it’s hard to communicate with them unlike Filipinos and Indon…bcos most of them cannot speak English. -
Actually I'm expecting that already - the pride problem. My fren's maid ran away becos she said that grandma keep scolding her. Sigh.... Anyway, for me, anything but filipino - I can't stand yakkers. And with this current maid, already never scold her - just explain and tell her carefully and patiently. What to do when we don't get support from our chenghu?
The one who is there opposite my house is quite good but cannot scold her and have lotsa problem in communicationjanet_lee88:
Hi hquek,
I've not heard of good Myanmar maids around...several of my friends who have them experienced stubborn and inability to communicate with them. They live in a world of their own and it's hard to communicate with them unlike Filipinos and Indon...bcos most of them cannot speak English.
I believe my current maid is already dreaming of being in HK land, so she had requested to leave early. With that, i also cannot keep her. And with agent insisting that there are no good indo supply, I have to make do.
This one worked in India for 2 years. When I first heard, was a bit surprised becos I thought India will have no lack of domestic helpers right? But it seems to be a common thing. Hopefully her 'expat' experience will give her an idea of what working life is like outside of her home country.
But thanks for your concern and tips. -
Is. family of 4 somemore. My agent showed another myanmese biodata...also ex-India!hquek:
This one worked in India for 2 years. When I first heard, was a bit surprised becos I thought India will have no lack of domestic helpers right? But it seems to be a common thing.
hmm I was also surprised to read she worked in India maybe not as domestic worker :? -
Even i am searching so this is what i got fresh Indo is 340, exp any other country except singapore is 360 and with exp in singapore is 380. Fresh filipino is 380 w/o any experience. Myanmar is 350[/quote]Seem like the trend now is employing Myanmar Maid.hquek:
[quote=\"Anna Ng\"]i just got a maid in Aug, the agent told me for Philipino $420 & Indonesian $390 for new maid
I just applied for a new maid. Myanmar, ex India (apparently they do go India to work) - no off days, $360. Apparently fresh Indo is $360 pm. Not sure about filipino.
May I know does they know how to cook and speak english ?
I read from another forum that most of the Myanmar doesn't know how to operate electrical applicance, is that true ? -
gumiho:
Seem like the trend now is employing Myanmar Maid.
Even i am searching so this is what i got fresh Indo is 340, exp any other country except singapore is 360 and with exp in singapore is 380. Fresh filipino is 380 w/o any experience. Myanmar is 350LKVM:
[quote=\"hquek\"]
I just applied for a new maid. Myanmar, ex India (apparently they do go India to work) - no off days, $360. Apparently fresh Indo is $360 pm. Not sure about filipino.
May I know does they know how to cook and speak english ?
I read from another forum that most of the Myanmar doesn't know how to operate electrical applicance, is that true ?[/quote]My agent told me that fresh myamese better dun get becos they may literally come from mountains. So far, her recommendations are all ex-someplace.
I'm curious though, ex India - if she will be able to speak better English. So far, I have heard of communications problem for Myan maid. Indo not scared cos my parents can speak a bit Malay.
And this maid is fairly honest. Her biodata shows she can't cook. Quite in line with my experience. My 2 indo maids who were supposed to be able to cook local Indo dishes, don't seem to be able to fry an egg. Watching the way they try, my parents rather cook for them.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.