If you could, would you decide on a 3rd child?

367 Posts 78 Posters 108.7k Views 1 Watching
      Luvkid

blur-daddy:
      Hi. For our case, it was by accident and not planned.Took us sometime to consider, and end of day, just go for it. Given the age gap between 3rd and first 2 is like 10 and 8 yrs apart, we are like going back in time, re-learn all abt diaper wrapping, baby bathe etc. Kind of chaotic at first, but now, getting close to a yr, things are falling into place. Still at times, it can be nightmare... So be prepared.

Personally, i can see it helped somewhat about grooming responsibility with DS1 to take care of baby brother, and in time to come, when both DS1 and DS2 go to sec sch, only the baby will follow us to places... The other 2 will graduate and have their own world and friends. There is no regret from us abt 3rd one, just be mentally prepared as 3rd one will be different, and u no longer have the luxury of one-on-one between parent and kids.

As the saying goes : each child is unqiue and different! For my 3 DS, i can't agree more.
      blur-daddy,

Our coming new arrival will be 5 years gap from DS2;9 years gap from DS1, which I feel that i might not be able to handle..... ๐Ÿ˜ž

As for DS1 who will be turning 9 yo next year when didi arrives, i doubt he can be there to help me to take care of baby brother. I am entrusting this duty to DS2 as he has been constantly concerning about didi more as compared to DS1.
      blur-daddy:
      hahaha... accident happened liao lah... we actually considered abortion, or go ahead with 3rd one... even went for consultation. In the end, decided to go for 3rd and last one. No regret, just bite the bullet and go for it. I'm glad I got a sensible DS1 and a playful DS2, and both loves the baby... so it is a family thing now to handle the young one. Still adjusting...
      By reading this, i felt that i were in the smae boat as u back in 3 months. I booked for consultation (for abortion), but didn't turn up. So dun even have to mention anything about the procedure...Ya, i am biting the bullet hard now cos really dead worried about financial when baby arrives.

I totally agree the joy the little ones will bring to the whole family.. :celebrate:

blur-daddy:
        Hi. For our case, it was by accident and not planned.Took us sometime to consider, and end of day, just go for it. Given the age gap between 3rd and first 2 is like 10 and 8 yrs apart, we are like going back in time, re-learn all abt diaper wrapping, baby bathe etc.

The other 2 will graduate and have their own world and friends. There is no regret from us abt 3rd one, just be mentally prepared as 3rd one will be different, and u no longer have the luxury of one-on-one between parent and kids.

As the saying goes : each child is unqiue and different! For my 3 DS, i can't agree more.
        It's not easy to start all over again, but it can be fun to a certain degree if your 2 older boys have their own friends, NS later but there is a little tot at home who still needs your loving care.

Accidents do happenโ€ฆand it can be hard to accept. But move on and consider having the child. For some couples, it can be hard esp if there is a wide gap and starting over againโ€ฆbut consider CLOSING shop after giving birth to the 3rd one.

blur-daddy

Accidents do happen...and it can be hard to accept. But move on and consider having the child. For some couples, it can be hard esp if there is a wide gap and starting over again...but consider CLOSING shop after giving birth to the 3rd one.

Haha... you are right. It was not an easy decision, especially when DW and me were in disagreement upfront... Even after consultation with doc and family support, we can't decide and need to go to Genting to chill out... so i suppose, for my case, I decided in casino - BIG OR SMALL??? hahaha...

Anyway, the issue I got is that we already have a stable env with 2 kids, one to one teaching if needed to... and both are in Primary school... 2 is really a GREAT number u know... 3 is ODD... While we visualize our retirement in 10 yrs time i.e. both kids in NS and we can sit in starbucks to sip coffee... read comic, watch people rushing pass us... we itchy hand and reset our button... now need to wait for another 20 yrs!

so with a new addition, it is not only start all over again, we need to see how to integrate him and also take care of my DS1 and DS2 in term of their study... Anyway, no regret. We enjoy the new addition, and bring back all the joys and 'panic'...

ttlkbs

blur-daddy:

Accidents do happen...and it can be hard to accept. But move on and consider having the child. For some couples, it can be hard esp if there is a wide gap and starting over again...but consider CLOSING shop after giving birth to the 3rd one.

Haha... you are right. It was not an easy decision, especially when DW and me were in disagreement upfront... Even after consultation with doc and family support, we can't decide and need to go to Genting to chill out... so i suppose, for my case, I decided in casino - BIG OR SMALL??? hahaha...

Anyway, the issue I got is that we already have a stable env with 2 kids, one to one teaching if needed to... and both are in Primary school... 2 is really a GREAT number u know... 3 is ODD... While we visualize our retirement in 10 yrs time i.e. both kids in NS and we can sit in starbucks to sip coffee... read comic, watch people rushing pass us... we itchy hand and reset our button... now need to wait for another 20 yrs!

so with a new addition, it is not only start all over again, we need to see how to integrate him and also take care of my DS1 and DS2 in term of their study... Anyway, no regret. We enjoy the new addition, and bring back all the joys and 'panic'...

hi, you'll hv no regrets! my no.3 came as a total surprise since i aldy hv DS & DD which is so perfect. but now the 3rd one aldy 3 yrs old & he is the one that brought the most laughters to the family. Everybody loves & dotes him so much including my neighbours! Really no regrets at all.

blur-daddy

hahaha... thks for the encouragement... yes, I understand... just that when u in the situation, it is very different, especially for us, we got no extended family support, and sometime, things can get crazy.

Nevertheless, I do agreed that it is worth it... for those haven't consider and do have a choice, do consider your option VERY CAREFULLY. ๐Ÿ˜

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

DH and I were trying very hard to cause an accident the last 2 yrs. Now, we have more or less resigned ourselves to the fact that we will have only 2 kids. Well we are still driving recklessly, ignoring red lights and speed cameras, still no accident. ๐Ÿ˜›

Hi blur-daddy,

We have a boy...he was born with cleft lip and palate. So naturally we didn't think of #2...when we discovered the accident, it really took ME by surprise and SHOCK.

For the detailed scan, I was so worried and it took longer than usual bcos the sonographer called in her supervisor to give me a peace of mind. She asked me whether I wanted to know the sex of the bb...I told her that isn't impt. Even though the scan turned out well, I still worry for another few months until her birth. My gynae personally checked her and gave me the THUMBS UP. ๐Ÿ˜„

Now with 2 kids, we have decided enough is enough.

• DesertWindD Offline
                      DesertWind

DH and I were trying very hard to cause an accident the last 2 yrs. Now, we have more or less resigned ourselves to the fact that we will have only 2 kids. Well we are still driving recklessly, ignoring red lights and speed cameras, still no accident. ๐Ÿ˜›

Hi Funz,

Perhaps you need to PLAN it. Kee...hee...hee!

For me, hoping for an \"accident\" certainly didn't work for DH and me. We planned and timed and used countless ovulation test kits over one plus year, did about 4-5 times IUI before conceiving my boy naturally!
                      Planned or \"accident\", leave it in God's good hands and his perfect timing!

blur-daddy

Hi blur-daddy,

For the detailed scan, I was so worried and it took longer than usual bcos the sonographer called in her supervisor to give me a peace of mind. She asked me whether I wanted to know the sex of the bb...I told her that isn't impt. Even though the scan turned out well, I still worry for another few months until her birth. My gynae personally checked her and gave me the THUMBS UP. ๐Ÿ˜„

Now with 2 kids, we have decided enough is enough.
                        Hi Janet,

Thanks for sharing your story... yes, 2 is enough... every kid is a treasure in his/her own way... :love:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 30 / 37