All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching
      Blueb

Hi buds!

Need your advice hereโ€ฆ

Been looking for a good Montessori pre-sch at the NE region. Any recommendations?

daddy2007

any good one in central to recommend?

superdaddy000

I have not heard much good reviews for Montessori in the West.

Any parents with children enrolled can comment here pls. :?: :?:

swpf

any recommendations for good child care centres in bedok/tampines/simei?

Blueb:
              Hi buds!

Need your advice here...

Been looking for a good Montessori pre-sch at the NE region. Any recommendations?
              Hi Blueb, sorlie... i just oni shifted to North.
              I'm clueless about NE! :oops:

Issit Sengkang/Punggol area?
              If yes, then can mebbe recce Shekinah Montessori?

chatelaine:
                Is CS Montessori at Bt. Timah? How much is the fee?

There's another CS in Tiong Bahru Plaza right?
                But CS Montessori is fully airconditioned.

mulberry888:
                  hi anyone send their kid to MMI Sengkang?

i'll be sending my dd there next monday. she'll be doing 2weeks trial in PG class.
                  Hi mulberry888, parents are allowed in during trial session isn't it?
                  Then, you'd be the best person to help provide us comments on
                  how the place is run and how lessons are conducted...

soomum:
                    Hi buds, do you know of Montessori own set of readers to use along with the pink scheme where 3 letter phonetic words introduced to the child? I tried to check with the teacher but she only told me about the large moveable alphabets used. Then i went to ask the asst centre mgr, she told me there is a set of readers the teachers used which are meant for all montessori schools but she didn't show me a sample. :scratchhead:

I suppose she was referring to self-made phonetic reader booklets.
                    You can make them yourself here. Help yourself! ๐Ÿ˜‰ > http://www.hubbardscupboard.org/printable_booklets.html#WordFamilyBooklets
                    soomum:
                    great! i feel assured i won't be rushing the readers on her now. so am i right to say that for my gal now, i can do the following with her all at same time?
                    - introducing 26 letter names (she now can remember more than half, except letter e, i, j,q,u,v,w,y)
                    - continue reinforcing the single letter sounds to her, have been asking her about 1st letter sound of words on a adhoc basis..
                    - start 3 letter word building with her?
                    - start reading the readers with her?
                    Yes. All the abovementioned can be done at this stage.
                    You very ONZ hor. :salute:

Reinforce with her by playing more single letter sound games as well.
                    There are some cheap ones you can purchase and also definitely DIY
                    as well. I'd be putting up a few more materials in this thread here...
                    > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1927

Look out for it, okie? ๐Ÿ˜‰

PS : By the way, your girl needs to gao-tim the rest of her vowel sounds
                    to be able to work the wordbuilding exercises/activities. So, you need to
                    jia-you and work on that ok? Cos i notice the vowels she is currently
                    confident with is /a/ and /o/... (as pe the above in bold)
                    Take heart that with patience comes inexplicable rewards. Montessori way of learning has benefitted many children, albeit it may not be the fastest way to learn... to see results, but it sure is extremely fun and multi-sensory on top of it being a concrete way of embedding concepts to young children. :celebrate:
                    soomum:
                    i need to cultivate this :oops:
                    Yes. You must! Dun be naughty hor.. :spank:
                    soomum:

:oops: wished i had gone for the course b4 i became a mum. Buds, do let me know if you ever have lessons hor. Thanks a zillion!

You know you can have free course here with buds online. :lol: Yes! If i
                    do offer lessons, you'd be the first i invite okay? ๐Ÿ˜‰

soomum:
                    yes yes! thank you for the online course here ๐Ÿ˜„ TIA then!
                    You are most welcome, my dear. :celebrate:

wishababy

buds,

my son and I went for trial class (toddler programme) at Josiah Montessori.
                      it was good. quite impressed with the intensive montessori materials they have.

superdaddy000

Hi buds

I saw your post somewhere, mentioning sch doesnโ€™t have the bell which is one of the Montessori equipment. Is the bell like those normal one people using it to ring when selling ice-cream?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 63 / 165

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo