Marymount Convent

5.7k Posts 143 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      kerbaya

Hi Tinkerbelle,

Do our gals learn higher Chinese in P1 or only in P5? Understand some non-SAP schs are offering higher Chinese at P1.

TIA.

cantbearit2

cantbearit2:
        :welcome: everyone

1. Compassion (kerbaya)

2. Integrity (autumn82, Connie Chai )

3. Perseverance (cantbearit2, Callie Tan)

4. Gratitude (preciousmoments)

5. Responsibility (acbj, llx04, Pepooh)

6. Respect (jesyeo, viviwy, Shree) πŸ™‚

7. Humility

8. Zeal
        funkymonkey, lvkt & bubble_jj all MIA(missing in action) liao ah. :lol:

cantbearit2

kerbaya:
          Hi Tinkerbelle,

Do our gals learn higher Chinese in P1 or only in P5? Understand some non-SAP schs are offering higher Chinese at P1.

TIA.

Wow kerbaya so fast ask abt higher Chinese liao ah??? really live up to be KS parents lor.... :lol: :lol:

Tinkerbelle

cantbearit2:

Hi Callie,

So glad that our DDs R in the same class. :celebrate:

My DD managed to spell it liao. Phew!!! So IM kinda getting over it too. πŸ˜‰

U oso went to sch to submit the car label forms??? My DH went to the sch too during lunch time. What time did u go??? He said saw someone paying $30 for 5 car labels (yes, 5 lor :shock: families muz b very rich got 5 cars :lol: ) Was that u??? :lol: :lol:
            Hi Cantbearit2,
            Wow!!! Your DD is very efficient and is a fast learner.....already learn how to spell 'perseverance'. :ugogirl:

Tinkerbelle

kerbaya:
              Hi Tinkerbelle,

TIA.
              Hi kerbaya,

MCS only starts Higher Chinese in P5. For P1 - P4, MOE has introduced the Modular Approach whereby all students will be ability-banded. There are 3 modules available: Bridging module, Core module and Enrichment module.

All P1 will start Term 1 doing han yu pin yin. Towards the end of Term 1, pupils will sit for a diagnostic test. Those with poor oral skills will be banded into one class from term 2, taking the bridging module before the core module. Those who are stronger in Chinese will do the enrichment module in addition to the core module.

Basically, if you look at the Chinese text book, each chapter will have 3 sections. 'dao ru' (bridging), 'ke xin' (core) and 'shen kuang' (enrichment). From term 2 onwards, if your DD's teacher is going through 'shen kuang' with the class, that's a pretty good indication that the class is a high-ability Chinese class.

Bubble_jj

cantbearit2 wrote:

everyone

1. Compassion (kerbaya)

6. Respect (jesyeo, viviwy, Shree)

7. Humility

8. Zeal

funkymonkey, lvkt & bubble_jj all MIA(missing in action) liao ah.

Hihi,
                Sorry just updated mine,

1. Compassion (kerbaya, bubble_jj)

6. Respect (jesyeo, viviwy, Shree)

7. Humility

8. Zeal

Callie Tan

cantbearit2:
                  Callie Tan:

Hi cantbearit2,

I am slowly getting over this Perseverance thingy... the kids need to spell the word according to the staff i met yesterday when I was in school submitting the applicaton for car labels. In fact, for a moment I cannot spell the word myself off hand... but then I guess we'll get use to it soon.

Hi Callie,

U oso went to sch to submit the car label forms??? My DH went to the sch too during lunch time. What time did u go??? He said saw someone paying $30 for 5 car labels (yes, 5 lor :shock: families muz b very rich got 5 cars :lol: ) Was that u??? :lol: :lol:

Haha.. it's not me lah, I need 2 car labels... Me and my husband. I went around 11.30am... the school is still as quite as ever... I find it really puzzling why this is so... Thot primary schools are very noisy and vibrant??

Callie Tan

Tinkerbelle:
                    Callie Tan:

[quote=\"Tinkerbelle\"]Hi mummies,

For those who haven't bought bags for your DDs yet, Kinderfun is having a sale from today till 21 Nov on SPI and Logo bags.
                    $40 off all models except for new arrivals. After discount, the bag works out to be about $89-$99.
                    All new arrivals have 15% discount.
                    There are also llimited old designs which cost $69 only. A bargain. :lol:
                    Kinderfun is at Centrepoint, 5th floor & at United Square, 2nd floor.

Sorry for asking but do we need to get such school bags for our girls?? It's like a bit steep in prices... I don't know but I rem my school bags used to cost less than $20 in my time. Are these bags really worth the price? Please enlighten me thanks

Hi Callie Tan,
                    No, it's not necessary to buy expensive bags for our gals. It's strictly a personal choice. Ya, the prices for SPI bags are a bit steep but considering the ergonormic features and their durability, it's worth it. DD1 used her SPI bag for 3 years before trading in for a new one. Even then, she could have continued using the bag but she wanted a new design as she found her older bag too childish.
                    Nowadays, our kids' bags can be heavy so hopefully, with the ergonomic features, it can somewhat offer some protection to DDs' spine. Just my 2cents worth. :lol:[/quote]Thanks for the info... will check out the bags nonetheless...

cantbearit2

Tinkerbelle:
                      cantbearit2:

Hi Callie,

Hi Cantbearit2,
                      Wow!!! Your DD is very efficient and is a fast learner.....already learn how to spell 'perseverance'. :ugogirl:

Thks for the compliment. :lol: But of course she din understand what it meant.

cantbearit2

Callie Tan:
                        cantbearit2:

[quote=\"Callie Tan\"]Hi cantbearit2,

I am slowly getting over this Perseverance thingy... the kids need to spell the word according to the staff i met yesterday when I was in school submitting the applicaton for car labels. In fact, for a moment I cannot spell the word myself off hand... but then I guess we'll get use to it soon.

Hi Callie,

Haha.. it's not me lah, I need 2 car labels... Me and my husband. I went around 11.30am... the school is still as quite as ever... I find it really puzzling why this is so... Thot primary schools are very noisy and vibrant??[/quote]2 car labels=2 cars lor (also rich lor πŸ˜‰ )

11.30am should be lesson time for the morn session kids rite? So would think it shld b quiet. Correct me if IM wrong Tinkerbelle.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 59 / 567

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog