Maris Stella High
There was SA1 (20%), CA2 (30%) and SA2 (50%) for P1 this year. Not sure about future years.
toffeev:
There was SA1 (20%), CA2 (30%) and SA2 (50%) for P1 this year. Not sure about future years.
I think they kindof mentioned no exams for P1 this year. -
bigfoot:
Txs bigfoot! I am so desperate now - I signed him up for alot of 天下 holiday lessons in addition to his Berries!!
Not 1-1 tuition. I don't think 1-1 is suitable for P1. It is also a group tuition but the focus will be more academic based. Somehow I feel Berries is only good for generating the interest. I may be wrong here. This is just my opinion. That is why I am still keeping to Berries for now.vicki:
Do you mean 1 on 1 tuition or tuition centers?? My boy is also attending Berries - sigh - but cos we dont really have a chinese speaking environment at home - so - his standard is like behind his peers...
Now im doing some last min \"chinese speaking\" spree - hopefully come P1 he wont be totally lost!

We tried to make a conscious effort to speak in Mandarin. In fact, I was from a mandarin speaking environment. Tried let him watch chinese shows. Whenever we are in the car, I will also tune in to the chinese station. They will complain initially but slowly, they will get used to it.
Lastly, don't worry. I think many parents face the same problem with regard to chinese. We will share tips and help each other out. If I come across any good chinese tutor, I will recommend to you.
cherrygal:
Hi cherrygal - actually what got me really worried is that hsi berries teacher IS speaking to me every week now!! (sigh)
Hi Namie,
Speak to your Berries teacher and check with her on your son's progress. I just asked my son's Berries teacher today and she said he's progressing well. I had thought she made a mistake circling the \"Able to do Higher Chinese\" class next year coz he is very unwilling to do Chinese assessments books at home. She told me that the kids are all like that. They become independent and smart only in class and revert to their playful and lazy selves when at home. Don't worry too much!
I also used the Chinese flashcards (from the P1 book list) and he could read most of the words without hanyu pinyin. I drill him in Hanyu Pinyin myself once a week and we make it into a mini-quiz where we take turns to spell. He finds it fun that Mummy also has to be \"tested\".
BTW, how come MS doesn't hold holiday Hanyu Pinyin crash courses ah? Many schools are doing it leh.
I am actually more worried about the English Creative Writing and Chinese composition.
She told me to write hanyu pinyin on every word that he doesnt know and hopefully in time to come - he will learn!
So - now i super hardworking! Berries + Tien Hsia (holiday lessons) + as much spoken chinese as possible at home
But then hor - i must admit - my CL2 also not very good lah - so as i am speaking to my dear boy in chinese - my dh is correcting my CL2!!
Jus read more story bks and revise those words the child doesnt know, shd be ok. my girl doesnt go presch enrichment. i just read a lot of ch storybks (readers) n teach ch flashcards daily before she enters p1.
for MS p1, does they hv compo exam for eng?
wat abt compo exam for chinese in p1?
i thot most sch ch compo exam starts from p3. -
and practise writing ch characters daily.
they may not be tested in the exam but if cant write ch characters well, when doing compre, can even copy the word wrongly. -
This is seriously too much stress...worrying about the kid's Chinese, tests and writing... my parents never worried that much and never read a Chinese storybook to me (coz they don't speak Mandarin). I think I should just let him manage on his own. If he fails once, maybe he will wake up.

Yah - now i abit ling shi bao hou jiao liao!!!
is MS also using Stellar for eng?
for their SA and CA, is it based on vocab learnt in class based on stellar, or its out of the scope? -
Hellos everyone…
Can i know if you have received your name tags (the iron on for the school uniform) ? Is it a standard green colour for the name, aka, not = house colour??
Txs/
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.