All About Choosing Piano Schools And Teachers
Maybe your kids might want to tinker on the piano at some point? My elder boy figured out how to play the piano himself this year. Went to borrow books from his friends and played - like grade 3 standard. haha.
haha. Looks like my ds1 has sworn off music, dun think he would touch the piano. Told him to fidget the electric guitar sitting one corner, he also reject. :x Ds 2 had piano lessons for 1 year and all he could play is jingle bells! :stupid: As for dd, I'll be lucky if her toes dun go onto the keys now! :shock: Think my dizi also can become sword already.
Anyway, trying to get good piano contacts now. Maybe next time will come in handy. Good ones always quite hard to find and hard to get a slot. -
meiah:
I thought yr ds1 does violin? My boy was looking desperately for members for the string orchestra(cannot make minimum number for SYF!) and asked me if your boy was joining. haha!phankao:
Maybe your kids might want to tinker on the piano at some point? My elder boy figured out how to play the piano himself this year. Went to borrow books from his friends and played - like grade 3 standard. haha.
haha. Looks like my ds1 has sworn off music, dun think he would touch the piano. Told him to fidget the electric guitar sitting one corner, he also reject. :x Ds 2 had piano lessons for 1 year and all he could play is jingle bells! :stupid: As for dd, I'll be lucky if her toes dun go onto the keys now! :shock: Think my dizi also can become sword already.
Anyway, trying to get good piano contacts now. Maybe next time will come in handy. Good ones always quite hard to find and hard to get a slot. -
I thought yr ds1 does violin? My boy was looking desperately for members for the string orchestra(cannot make minimum number for SYF!) and asked me if your boy was joining. haha!
In NJC? Haha, I wish too! :love: Ask your boy help mine to appeal to go NJC lah, then he can join the SO. Yep, violin. So since he doesn't want to touch violin after 4 years in SE, not likely he would touch the piano. -
meiah:
Too bad my boy not so *powerful* lah. Aiyah, why don't want to touch violin? My son seems to have deepened his interest since he got into sec school.phankao:
I thought yr ds1 does violin? My boy was looking desperately for members for the string orchestra(cannot make minimum number for SYF!) and asked me if your boy was joining. haha!
In NJC? Haha, I wish too! :love: Ask your boy help mine to appeal to go NJC lah, then he can join the SO. Yep, violin. So since he doesn't want to touch violin after 4 years in SE, not likely he would touch the piano. -
ctct61t:
I don't think my DD piano teacher will go to student's home...actually, she is quite tightly occupied.poohcutie:
Ctct61t
I've just got a piano for my gal n decided to get a teacher to come my place.
Wonder if yr piano teacher is available. Mayb you can PM me her contact.
Thank you
Anyway, I can pm you her contact.
Thks alot
Eh.. I think we very off topic leh. From piano go violin. Dunno him lah. CH Sec no SE, try MEP dun want. Sigh...
Too bad my boy not so *powerful* lah. Aiyah, why don't want to touch violin? My son seems to have deepened his interest since he got into sec school. -
meiah:
;(
Eh.. I think we very off topic leh. From piano go violin. Dunno him lah. CH Sec no SE, try MEP dun want. Sigh...phankao:
Too bad my boy not so *powerful* lah. Aiyah, why don't want to touch violin? My son seems to have deepened his interest since he got into sec school. -
Some friends were sharing with me that teachers who don’t do home-visit teaching are generally better n higher qualification.is it true??
poohcutie:
Some friends were sharing with me that teachers who don't do home-visit teaching are generally better n higher qualification.is it true??
Assuming a lesson is 30 minutes, a home tutor needs time before and after lessons to travel between their students' places. But she cannot charge 3x the fee. She has to forsake lots of profits. Given that fact and the many other advantages of working in a studio (such as accessibility to teaching resources), most will definitely teach full-time in studio, if financial circumstances allow.
Fresh music-graduates working in schools/centres may give home-tution privately for side income. After a few years, many established enough reputation and students to teach at their own studio/house. If they are really good, advanced students will travel all the way across the island for their lessons. There's little need for them to do home-visit teaching.
Home-visit teaching is a bit like stepping stone.
poohcutie:
Some friends were sharing with me that teachers who don't do home-visit teaching are generally better n higher qualification.is it true??
That's what my son's ex-music teacher (school based) told the class. Can't recall the topic at hand but she said that any teacher worth his/her weight won't teach at children's place. I had tried finding, but those recommended to me all teach at their own place.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.