Suzuki Violin - Discussion
Do you have to tune his violin? Or he tune it himself? I bought a tuner cum metronome, but I dunno how to use it! Haha.
Right now his lesson is 30 mins per session, I wonder if yours is the same? Or is it longer? I notice some school offers 45 to 1 hr one to one session. :? -
smurf:
Yes, when he started it was 30mins lesson. I had to help him tune it last time. I use my ears and the piano or pitch-pipe. Only occasionally i use the electronic tuner. I'm glad I don't need to tune it anymore for quite a few years already. He can do it himself. And he usually tunes by ear only.Do you have to tune his violin? Or he tune it himself? I bought a tuner cum metronome, but I dunno how to use it! Haha.
Right now his lesson is 30 mins per session, I wonder if yours is the same? Or is it longer? I notice some school offers 45 to 1 hr one to one session. :? -
I think I'm tone deaf...can't tune it man...even though I played piano last time. :stupid:
smurf:
I think I'm tone deaf...can't tune it man...even though I played piano last time. :stupid:
Can train one. Last time my dh tone deaf too, but now his hearing improved tremendously with exposure from the kids! haha! -
Haha...for me, difficult lah, too many distractions... :lol:
smurf:
Haha...for me, difficult lah, too many distractions... :lol:
That-also can train.
Haha...you are very optimistic leh...

Hi phankao,
Have you managed to find a violin teacher for your youngest son?phankao:
You mean there's no need for Grade 5? I was under the impression the student must clear Grade 5 practical before doing higher level?He did his Grade 4 exam that year then and his gr 8 exam 3.5years after that.
smurf:
Can skip one meh? I thought it's better to take step by step? At least can experience mah...How long does it takes for your ds to take the first exam?

Exams are definitely not a must. For my kids' violin teacher, he doesn't encourage kids to take abrsm exam until they are into Suzuki Book 4. If I'm not wrong, that's equivalent to ABRSM grade 4 or 5. But most importantly, it all depends on the kid's ability and diligence. The violin teacher kept telling my son to work hard on violin like a basketball player or competitive swimmer does. Unfortunately, my son was not the hardworking type then (when he was younger) and neither was I keen in pushing him that hard.
For my kids' piano teacher, she feels it depends on the nature of the students. Most students need exams to push them on in the learning journey. For the good students, she would encourage them take grade 1, then do grade 3 whenever they are ready. She would also prefer her students to take an exam a grade lower than their acutal ability. This would ensure that they get distinctions, instead of just a Merit. For my kids, we chose to do away with the exams. Instead, she started my son on pieces in Burgmuller Op 100, as well as those by Bach, i.e to train him by composers and to expose him to various techniques of playing.
So, it's best to talk with your son's teacher to determine the direction you would like to take. -
smurf:
Haha...you are very optimistic leh...

Haha, trust phankao. I'm a living example. I know nothing about music and can't tell a high Do from a low Do. But now, I can give them general comments on how they have played - tempo, too fast or slow, if the notes are tumbling etc... With your musical background, it should be even easier for you.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.