All About Church/Clan/Society Membership

1.9k Posts 321 Posters 862.2k Views 1 Watching
      pumpkin_pie

Wow.. TNS is that tough to get in now ah? Sounds really competitive.

Is it worth moving to within 1km? What if dun get in TNS still? Will be so wasted right.. My boy is 2008 kid...still early i know..hehee..but just ks and start reading up early. šŸ˜‰

What happens to those kids who do not stay within 1km to any school, nor are parents in any clan/PV/GRC? If everything need to ballot, will there be a scenerio where they dun get into any school at all?

Ok, how about this scenerio, I become member of SHHK, and I try for TNS and Kong Hwa? (both schs are within 1-2km) Can I use clan affiliations to get into both schools? Or can only choose 1? Usually how do we go about choosing schools? Got 1st, 2nd, 3rd choice during the P1 registration?

Tks so much for your replies...really helps when i only just read about these phases..and found out getting into a sch of ur choice is so tough.

• tankeeT Offline
        tankee

when you request for \"recommendation letter\" from SHHK, you can only request for 1 specific school.

Clan members are in Phase 2B, and balloting is very likely to occur for within 1km in phase 2B, thus if you are 1-2km, you do not stand any chance at all.

šŸ˜„

LOLMum

pumpkin_pie:
          Ok, how about this scenerio, I become member of SHHK, and I try for TNS and Kong Hwa? (both schs are within 1-2km)

hi, if you want to be a SHHK member, better do it now. hopefully you already have some members who can get you in otherwise it might not be easy.

best of luck.

• qmsQ Offline
            qms

pumpkin_pie:
            Is it worth moving to within 1km? What if dun get in TNS still?

It's for you to decide whether it's worth it.
            pumpkin_pie:
            What happens to those kids who do not stay within 1km to any school, nor are parents in any clan/PV/GRC? If everything need to ballot, will there be a scenerio where they dun get into any school at all?
            No. MOE makes sure that every child will get a place in a school. Perhaps the school may not be what the parents desire, though.
            pumpkin_pie:
            Ok, how about this scenerio, I become member of SHHK, and I try for TNS and Kong Hwa? (both schs are within 1-2km) Can I use clan affiliations to get into both schools?
            See tankee's reply above. FYI, based on this year's balloting history, Kong Hwa conducted balloting in P2B for those staying 1-2 km from the school.
            pumpkin_pie:
            Usually how do we go about choosing schools? Got 1st, 2nd, 3rd choice during the P1 registration?
            Your so-called first, second or third choice is only for yourself only. It doesn't apply for the registration. In every phase, you are only allowed to register with one school. However, if you apply for School 1 on Day 1, and by Day 3, think that your chance with this school is not high, you are allowed to withdraw your application with School 1, and apply with School 2. You must withdraw and apply before the phase ends, though.

Bottomline is - if you don't want to move, and insist on TNS, you must have a backup plan (i.e. your so-called first, second and third choice). If you don't get a chance to ballot in TNS (because balloting takes place for those within 1 km), you must withdraw your application with TNS (assuming you had applied for this school in Day 1) by Day 3, and apply with your second choice school.

ctct61t

found FAQ for Phase 2B Recommendation and Registration under SHHK...

http://www.shhk.com.sg/chinese/PDF/Primary%20One%20Phase%202B%20Registration%20FAQ-CL%20as%20at%20191107.pdf

• tankeeT Offline
                tankee

ctct61t:
                found FAQ for Phase 2B Recommendation and Registration under SHHK...

http://www.shhk.com.sg/chinese/PDF/Primary%20One%20Phase%202B%20Registration%20FAQ-CL%20as%20at%20191107.pdf
                Wow ! Good finding ! Thanks for sharing !

pumpkin_pie

If you don't get a chance to ballot in TNS (because balloting takes place for those within 1 km), you must withdraw your application with TNS (assuming you had applied for this school in Day 1) by Day 3, and apply with your second choice school.
                  Im confused. Does it mean I can aim for TNS 1st choice, inform SHHK, then apply for phase 2B at TNS. Then TNS will inform us if there is even any balloting for phase 2B (1-2km). If no balloting, then I quickly pull out, inform SHHK I need to change choice of sch to Kong Hwa, then by Day 3, apply at Kong Hwa under phase 2C (1-2km)? Meaning I still have 2 days to 'play with'?

I assume all schools ballot each phase on the same day? Or may be different?

• tankeeT Offline
                    tankee

pumpkin_pie:

Im confused. Does it mean I can aim for TNS 1st choice, inform SHHK, then apply for phase 2B at TNS. Then TNS will inform us if there is even any balloting for phase 2B (1-2km). If no balloting, then I quickly pull out, inform SHHK I need to change choice of sch to Kong Hwa, then by Day 3, apply at Kong Hwa under phase 2C (1-2km)? Meaning I still have 2 days to 'play with'?

I assume all schools ballot each phase on the same day? Or may be different?
                    First you need to apply at SHHK, SHHK may or may not give you the recommendation letter depending on their own creteria that year.

Say you managed to get the recommendation letter from SHHK, you then can apply at TNS under phase 2B. TNS will inform you before the end of the phase should your application is a sure goner, ie no chance to ballot. Then assuming you are still qualify to register at another school under the same phase 2b, you should quickly withdraw your application from TNS and proceed to the other school.

SHHK member can only request recommendation for 1 school, you can't change the school once the submission period is over.

Most schools if not all, conduct balloting on the same day.

• O Offline
                      oinkee

New bie here! Reported too...

Wow I was amaze to come across kiasu parents forum. Alot of informative resources sharing over here.

Been reading for the past 1-2hrs... realise I should plan early for my gals.

I have 3 DD. 1 is born 2006, 2008 & going to pop in Mar 2011!

I live at sembawang... canberra is within 1 km of my house. But somehow... I read from here on clan/church. Ai Tong drew my eyes.

My cousin was from Ai Tong. But sad to say she didnt perform very well and go to normal secondary school. Wonder is it really so stressful to send our kids to BETTER school?

Then I realise all these Phase 2B 2C etc. So scary make mi getting very freak out lately after hearing some of my frds whom child born in year 2006 already start preparing PV etc... Or even join in catholic faith and wanted to get batipsed in order to send her gal to St Nicholas.

This strike my mind too.. but all the while I have no faith into catholic as I am raised from a Taoist family.

Haha. Saw that SHHK is so popular here!

Near my house have ChongFu but not within 1-2km.
                      I am even resort of moving near Ai Tong if I can manage to get my gal in there... If DD1 get in a good school, subsquent my 2 others DD also benefit too šŸ˜‰

I know alot of parents are also asking n requested any willing to sign 2 members. If I start now, will it be helpful and its going to be 2yrs time my DD1 gonna to register for P1!!!

Gan Cheong mummy leh.....

SO I am also trying my luck to request if any willing to help me too?
                      Or how can I find SHHK members to sign for mi? I do not know of any from my area....

Please PM mi... email also... thanks thanks
                      [email protected]

mummy of 3

I think you got not enough time to become SHHK member to let your DD1 get into Ai Tong.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 193