2009 P1 Registration Exercise for 2010 In-Take

1.1k Posts 175 Posters 365.5k Views 1 Watching
      titank

luanee:
      Titank, both Radin Mas and RV did not conduct balloting under phase 2B for the past 3 years, so u should be quite safe. IF you want to wait till last minute then register, do note that you only have one set of original documents, hence u would need rush to 2nd choice school if need be. If you do the withdrawal method, then u can station each parent at one school.

Yes also had checked that past 3 years Phase 2B there is no balloting on both Radin Mas & River Valley. Either I submit on the 1st day of Phase 2B or last day to monitor the situation.

By the way anyone know how the grouping of the class? Those in Phase 1 would be in 1A, 1B follow by Phase 2A(1), 2A(2) in 1C, 1D. How to request the school to put a few PV's children in the same class?

Luanee

Titank, half of my girl’s class is made up kids with PV parents. I dunno if all schools do the same.

Btw some first-hand advice from a fren who went through the ‘last minute withdrawal and submission method’:

1. Check with the school what documents they need for withdrawal. For her case, she pre-signed a withdrawal form which need both parents signatures. Her husb was stationed at the withdrawal school.

2. Make sure the area’s phone reception is good as u need to contact ur spouse stationed at the other school.

3. Pre-fill the application form first also. It can be extremely nerve-wrecking and ur hands may shake (her personal experience).

Good luck!

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

I dun think I will have any problems with DD’s registration this year since I am an old girl. But DS 2 year later will be a challenge. DH’s old school is too far away and there are no schools within 2km of where we live!!

Discussed with DH and thot maybe we should buy somewhere with a decent school within 1km. But also wondering what are the possibilities of DS not getting into the school of choice even if we are living within 1km.

Haizzz.

titank

I dun think I will have any problems with DD's registration this year since I am an old girl. But DS 2 year later will be a challenge. DH's old school is too far away and there are no schools within 2km of where we live!!

Discussed with DH and thot maybe we should buy somewhere with a decent school within 1km. But also wondering what are the possibilities of DS not getting into the school of choice even if we are living within 1km.

Haizzz.

Sorry may I know what does DS, DD or DH stands for? Is there a Kiasu Dictionary to define the terms?

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

titank:
              Sorry may I know what does DS, DD or DH stands for? Is there a Kiasu Dictionary to define the terms?

heheh.

DD = dear daughter
              DS = dear son
              and DH = dear husband or when i'm angry with him, damn husband

shizta

Luanee:
                Tulip:

Actually, what some parents did is to register in their 1st choice school on 1st day, and monitor the registration situation. On the 2nd day of registration, one parent will be situated in 1st and 2nd choice school respectively. Usually until half hour before registration close, if the 1st choice school heading for balloting and they think the 2nd choice school has a higher chance of securing a place, the parent situated in the 1st school will withdraw registration and the other parent situated at the 2nd school (with original documents) will register in the 2nd choice school.

Yap this is the way! Coz u need original documents to register, but u do not need them to withdraw. So register in one first.

so what documents do you exactly need for withdrawal ?

Funz,
                  key in such relocation is to ensure that there are at least 2 schools near to the place of your intended relocated place, so that in case you didn't get into your preferred school, you still have another nearby one to fall back on.
                  try not to relocate to near 2 popular schools if you don't have priority. not only will you end up having a headache, you will also have to deal with no seats left in phase 2C supp and then having to deal with phase 3.
                  jmho.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

Funz,
                    key in such relocation is to ensure that there are at least 2 schools near to the place of your intended relocated place, so that in case you didn't get into your preferred school, you still have another nearby one to fall back on.
                    try not to relocate to near 2 popular schools if you don't have priority. not only will you end up having a headache, you will also have to deal with no seats left in phase 2C supp and then having to deal with phase 3.
                    jmho.

Darn, most of the schools in the area that we are looking at are popular schools. It will make sense to look for a place near my girl's school or within that area so that both my kids do not have to travel too far to school. But most of the schools within that area are popular schools and if I am relocating, I might as well relocate near a good school instead of just any school. And by then, I believe there will be even lesser place available in each of these schools as they prepare to go single session if they are not already single session. Arrrggghhh!!! Headache.

smurf

Luanee:
                      smurf:

hmm...say if my 1st sch need balloting at even <1km (actually it's cath high lah)...but I stay darn far, definitely >2km...so if I join the balloting group (for >2km) and didn't manage to get a seat..

SMurf, if u stay out of 2km from CH, I think u can forget about it totally. U wont even get a chance to ballot.

hmm...which is why I'm buying a property near Cat High. thing is, if balloting is needed in phase 2B even, I don't think I want to take the risk and move there and ended up no place...then have to move again?? :?

It will make sense to look for a place near my girl's school or within that area so that both my kids do not have to travel too far to school.
                        seems like you already have a plan 😉
                        just standby more panadol for relief... :politebleah:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 109