All About Montessori
Hi bud,
I truly kowtow to your Montessori knowledge .
Currently I am in a very early stages of planning for preschool, my kid is only 10mths old, but I intend to sign him up for the Shichida method from 18th months plus.
Having read this montessori thread and some previous literature on Montessori, I am rather keen to place my son in that type of environment.
From your knowledge if there are any conflict in introducing the Shichida Method with the Montessori method to a child ? :? -
[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]
Any comments on MMI at Ten Mile Junction? Tks. -
2blurcats:
Hi buds, You seem really well-versed in Montessori!

Where got... so-so oni lah. Gg to be outta touch liao if
not for my coming into KiasuParents to share with you
guys! It's stimulating to chat with parents who can also
appreciate the strengths of a good Montessori education
anytime... be it in the home or the centre. Cos i've seen
the results and of course not only using the Montessori
Methodology alone, as that might be short-changing our
kiddies to other methods of learning acceleration. My take
is take the positive from everything and anything to apply
to teach or even to apply life concepts/skills to... Being
harped-up on just one thing for a long time may not inspire
everyone in general.. I'm ok with one-man-woman idealogies
lah though.. Hehee.. Cannot have the pleasure of having
many positive men to put my positive life in perspective
can I? Wuakakakakah.. just jesting with ya, k.
2blurcats:
I didn't start out to be a Montessori fan myself dear..I am a big fan of Montessori as I like their language and Math aspects, but I am wondering if it would make my child (2.5yo girl) more introverted and shy compared to a mainstream school such as Chiltern or Pat's?
Only in the midst of my career in Montessori education
I found faith in the methodology that so encourages that
learning should come from the heart... the willingness to
learn to come from within the child himself... not enforced
upon. But along the way (with my own 2 girls)... reali bo-pian
must bring out the cane and force liao. Other people's children
always easier to teach than thy own lor. :roll:
And yes, i'm a big fan of the Montessori Phonics and Montessori
Mathematics myself! And i have also found many other varied
materials to support the Montessori method of learning apart
from the full range of Montessori apparatus used in the method.
Do check out some other threads i contribute to as well if you're
interested, k.
>Learning thru play
>How to teach pre-school maths
>Fun materials, books and ideas for phonics2blurcats:
I've never been to both as i'm a westie, darling.Also, do you have any opinions about:
1. Halifax Montessori and
2. Agape Montessori at Thomson Hills?
So can't comment. Sowie k..
Ermm... why d'ya call yerself blur cats? Got the number 2 some more..
trisha.yeo:
Oh pls don't.. :shock: cos there are many others who understand Montessori Methodologies better than moi. :oops: And these are true blue Montessorians!Hi bud,
I truly kowtow to your Montessori knowledge .
They eat, sleep, breathe Montessori in their daily lives! It's true! I've the privilege to have met a few... these devout Montessorians.
trisha.yeo:
Currently I am in a very early stages of planning for preschool, my kid is only 10mths old, but I intend to sign him up for the Shichida method from 18th months plus. Having read this montessori thread and some previous literature on Montessori, I am rather keen to place my son in that type of environment.
From your knowledge if there are any conflict in introducing the Shichida Method with the Montessori method to a child ? :?
I dun think so. If you choose a Montessori environment for your child,
that's on a daily thing. Shichida can be another form of stimulating
enrichment for him/her in aiding learning acceleration. I wud send mine
too if it weren't so ex. I'm a SAHM and now slowly gg into PTWM so.... :roll:
Anyone has experience or comment on MMI located at Tampines Mart? Planning to send my son to the nursery class. Plzzzz… share! Tks!
Hey buds,
It's so nice to see your reply:)
I guess besides having 2 real longkang cats at home, my hubby and I are the 2 real blur cats!
We were so sold on the \"pure\" Montessori education that we decided mths ago (my dd is only 2yrs 4mths old now) that we would send her to this certain centre when she reaches 3.
It was only after a friend sent her kid there that she gave some feedback about it and made me think twice.
Now I am trying to enrol dd into a more established school like Pat's and then realised how long the waiting list is!
btw, you mentioned about a Montessori career.
Did you go through the Montessori course? Where do I find out about the course (e.g. fees, duration, part-time or full-time etc)?
And if I don't take the course, how do I leanr the Montessori method of teaching phonics?
I read through the book Montessori Read and Write, and attempted to sing some phonic song to dd, but later on borrowed a CD and realised I pronounced 'a\" wrongly!
And thanks for the 3 threads you directed me to! I've checked them out - they're great, just what I need right now
Have bookmarked them too... keep up the superb contributions! -
2blurcats:
Hey buds,
It's so nice to see your reply:)
2blurcats:
I am not from the 'pure' stream either, 2blurcats. :oops:I guess besides having 2 real longkang cats at home, my hubby and I are the 2 real blur cats! We were so sold on the \"pure\" Montessori education that we decided mths ago (my dd is only 2yrs 4mths old now) that we would send her to this certain centre when she reaches 3. It was only after a friend sent her kid there that she gave some feedback about it and made me think twice. Now I am trying to enrol dd into a more established school like Pat's and then realised how long the waiting list is!
I give and take. I adapt more to the take the positive
from the bits and pieces of stuff.... and apply it to life
skills/decisions and also to introduce to my 2 girls.
2blurcats:
Yes i did. :oops: I did go thru' a local school to study Montessori andbtw, you mentioned about a Montessori career.
Did you go through the Montessori course? Where do I find out about the course (e.g. fees, duration, part-time or full-time etc)?
And if I don't take the course, how do I leanr the Montessori method of teaching phonics?
I read through the book Montessori Read and Write, and attempted to sing some phonic song to dd, but later on borrowed a CD and realised I pronounced 'a\" wrongly!
have worked in the Montessori for many years and still practising the
Montessori spirit in teaching my girls and also in the part-time stints i
have now.
How to learn aah...
Mebbe i can teach you!
Hehee... :lol: Hmmm... shud
seriously consider giving parents
here a good workshop where we
can all sit down and learn together.
Whaddya' think, 2blurcats?2blurcats:
And thanks for the 3 threads you directed me to! I've checked them out - they're great, just what I need right now
Have bookmarked them too... keep up the superb contributions!
Wuah? Bookmark ah? :shock:
Tks... :oops: Am happy that it
is of use to you. And yes, i will
keep contributing to those posts
as much as i can, when time permits.
Heyya 2blurcats,
I PM-ed you!
hey buds,
Thanks! Now let me try to find how to assess my PM!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.