[Choa Chu Kang] Primary Schools
mama_g:
PEPS is not that far from CCK lah!I called up CCKPS and confirm that they did not post their PSLE result but i read somewhere that they do produce top sch of 275 and above.
I am less than 1km away from SV, but rejected as PV for my DD P1 in 2012. My DH is an ex student from princess elizabeth primary school (any comments on this sch??).
Should i chose:
1. PEPS but need to travel quite far and pay monthly school fees of $100 (i have anothet DS born in 2007)
2. Go for ballotting for less than 1KM in SV??
3. CCKPS or concord??
Any advice please.........
Bus fees may kill, but I will go for PEPS. if commuting became a concern eventually, it may be easier to transfer to CCKPS or concord compared to PEPS which is rather popular in Bt Batok.
but eventually, it depends on your expectations of primary sch education. there are also a lot of benefits of sending kids to schs that are only a walking distance from your home. because time spent commuting to sch can be used resting or doing more worthwhile work at home.
MHO. -
chwoo:
personally to me, i will see which school offers me a better chance of entry because both are popular schs in CCK. I think SVPS phase 2C is very very competitive.Hi all,
Anyone knows the PSLE 2010 results for CCK Pri?I don't seem to be able to find out any info.
Yew Tee Pri and South View Pri have their results available on their websites. Seems to me that the results are comparable, with Yew Tee Pri doing better in some subjects and vice versa.
Thanks! -
geksim_mummy:
hi geksim_mummy,
ya!!!!
hahaahahaa.... its good for the children but to me...like not preparing the children leh....tat's why i in dilemna lor....
I heard from neighbour whose P4 nephew is in CCKPS has remedial lessons after sch even though he's in the top class....whereas my boy who is in the top 3 class in Concord can 'report home' everyday! Remedial is really only for those weak students.....
Another fren whose P3 girl is in the top class in a popular Yishun neighbourhood sch also has remedial lessons after school
M i being too paranoid??? being tooooooooooo kiasu??? or remedial lesson is the sch's way to maintain its student's standards so as to uphold the school's popularity??? :scratchhead:
I m worried that the school doesn't prepare them well for their PSLE. But looking at Concord's achievement for the 2009 PSLE, they also produced top scholars too....although scores not as high as tat in SV la....
Or i expecting too much?? :lol:
is it too late to share my views?
my ds1 is also in a neighbourhood pri sch that is >1km from my place.
we were told during PTM session this year that the kids will be having remedial class once a week (for ds1's level). personally, i hope that remedial classes are for weak students than above average student, because i feel that as a SAHP, i can make better use of my son's time at home.
my personal opinion to your 'situation' is that if you cannot fully embrace the fact that your firstborn's school is suitable for himself and his siblings, how are you going to stand to face sending your dds to the school that have not gain your full support?
MHO. -
mama_g:
mama_g, I was in a similar situation like u 2 yrs ago. What I did was to register in 2B in the school in Bukit Batok and then monitor 2C. Balloting was up for the CCK school near my place and I decided not to risk the chance. However, I decided to drive my boy to school as the bus came more than an hr earlier than if I drive him; pickup was at 11.10am! Thank goodness that COEs were cheap then and I got a second-hand car cheap. Eventually, I managed to get him transferred to a school in CCK bcos we waitlisted and we were lucky to get a spot; someone else staying in my area went thru' the same route. It all depends on if you are willing to risk giving up a secure place to ballot for something uncertain and how willing are u to travel that far...I called up CCKPS and confirm that they did not post their PSLE result but i read somewhere that they do produce top sch of 275 and above.
I am less than 1km away from SV, but rejected as PV for my DD P1 in 2012. My DH is an ex student from princess elizabeth primary school (any comments on this sch??).
Should i chose:
1. PEPS but need to travel quite far and pay monthly school fees of $100 (i have anothet DS born in 2007)
3. CCKPS or concord??
Any advice please......... -
mama_g:
I live >2km from SV but <1km from Yew Tee Pri. Also got rejected from SV for PV so SV is definitely out. Yew Tee definitely also needs balloting for <1km although chances of success should be higher than SV for me.I called up CCKPS and confirm that they did not post their PSLE result but i read somewhere that they do produce top sch of 275 and above.
Should i chose:
3. CCKPS or concord??
Any advice please.........
I know Princess Elizabeth Pri is one of the more popular schools in BB but not sure if it is the best. I have compared their PSLE results and seem to me to be just average. Bukit View Pri seems to achieve much better results.
CCKPS doesn't seem want to reveal their results but is the backup school for those who failed to get into SV. -
For me, SV is definitely out since I live >2km away, unless I move house before the P1 registration next year!But I am pleased if could my kiddo could get into Yew Tee Pri.
personally to me, i will see which school offers me a better chance of entry because both are popular schs in CCK. I think SVPS phase 2C is very very competitive.chwoo:
Hi all,
Anyone knows the PSLE 2010 results for CCK Pri?I don't seem to be able to find out any info.
Yew Tee Pri and South View Pri have their results available on their websites. Seems to me that the results are comparable, with Yew Tee Pri doing better in some subjects and vice versa.
Thanks!
My view is SV is a good neighbourhood school and has good publicity but not significantly better than other schools in CCK. To me, Rulang is a really excellent \"neighbourhood\" school. -
can someone advise me to get into Bukit Panj or Yew Tew Pri or Unity?
i was staying at cck cres where can go BPPS in 2B. Shall i choose to YT or Unity where is within 1km?
Distance is the concerns to me as i checked it need a hr for traveling to bpps. -
ac1502:
Hi,Hi,
can someone advise me to get into Bukit Panj or Yew Tew Pri or Unity?
i was staying at cck cres where can go BPPS in 2B. Shall i choose to YT or Unity where is within 1km?
Distance is the concerns to me as i checked it need a hr for traveling to bpps.
We are pretty much in the same situation. Are you still living in CCK Cres?
I am a PV at BPPS and aiming for Phase 2B but highly likely to need balloting or even no chance for balloting as there are too many PVs. Both Yew Tee and Unity also within 1km of where I live. My own preference is to go Yew Tee as I think it is also a good school (not too sure about Unity but seems not too bad either). Both Yew Tee and Unity need balloting as well..sigh
If you confirm eligible for 2B then can try first but not guarantee. If not,then not much choice and need to try luck at either Yew Tee or Unity. -
bpps is the parent sch…so sure will get a seat. But i was concerns on the distance need to travel…do you have any ideal on sch bus timing on pick up…
I have checked the yew tew and unity, both need ballot in past record and both are good school. problem is the risk…if cant get, the only choice will be Kranji…which i dnt prefer to go there…(read from the mail, there is change in principle, how the result, any comment? -
So yours will be Phase 2A2.If I were you, I will go for BPPS as it is confirmed. Distance wise, it is not near but not too far either. Perhaps you can go for waitlist in either Yew Tee or Unity and tranfer out of BPPS.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.