Marymount Convent
funkymonkey:
Hi funkymonkey,Hi Tinkerbelle,
Thanks so much for your encouragement
My gal is in Ms Sung's class and I have been very open about my gal's condition to her.She has been very helpful and I am super thankful!!!
Good to know that teachers in MCS have shown patience to gals with special needs.
Btw,i saw a gal with 2 teachers during dismissal the other day and i'm guessing she's autistic.The teachers' spoke softly and kindly but at the same time firmly as she was squirming away....I'm just soooo glad that we got into MCS... :love: :love: :love:
Ms Sung is a very caring and encouraging teacher. Her P1 classes for the last 2 years were awarded the most well-behaved P1 class.
I thought your DD is in Mrs Rashid's class because DD1 told me she saw someone with special needs in her class. If it's any reassurance to you, your DD is not alone. Last year, in DD2's P1 class, there was also a gal with special needs. She had problem with learning her spelling and could only score 0-3 at the beginning of the year. However, with the teacher's encouragement, she managed to score a perfect 10 by Term 3. Quite a remarkable improvement. The FT praised her in front of the whole class.
In addition, there are a few students with physical disabilites in the AM session. It's heart-warming when you see students fighting to help push their wheelchairs around. I believe MCS's stance towards people with special needs will help inculcate compassion in our MCS gals.
Here's wishing your DD all the very best. :rahrah: -
funkymonkey:
I see, then no worries lah. Mummy can help
Hi can'tbearit,
My husband is chinese and I'm malay.My 2 other kids have been taking Chinese.So far my Ds have doing well enough to get Band 1. My gal has only been exposed to English due to her condition. I can help her with the language but no worries here as she wil not have to do MT in PSLE anyway as we got doctor's approval. Easier for my gal lah...all the strokes in chinese is giving me a stroke!! Malay class also have fewer students and the teacher can focus on my gal better i think....good call right?
Stroke??? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: Guess what, it can oso have the same effect on Chinese mama. I have given back a lot to my teacher since I left sch. I think besides watching Chinese shows and speaking to my frenz, it is pretty much under utilise lor.
We can only count on the enrichment class she's attending.
Funny thing is, she came back fr MCS and speaks to me in Mandarin (the sentence was constructed as per English rules, haha...) during dinner. It actually gif me the goosebumps when she calls me \"mama\" in Mandarin. haha....guess IM not use to it. -
Tinkerbelle:
Hi Tinkerbelle,
Hi funkymonkey,
Ms Sung is a very caring and encouraging teacher. Her P1 classes for the last 2 years were awarded the most well-behaved P1 class.
I thought your DD is in Mrs Rashid's class because DD1 told me she saw someone with special needs in her class. If it's any reassurance to you, your DD is not alone. Last year, in DD2's P1 class, there was also a gal with special needs. She had problem with learning her spelling and could only score 0-3 at the beginning of the year. However, with the teacher's encouragement, she managed to score a perfect 10 by Term 3. Quite a remarkable improvement. The FT praised her in front of the whole class.
In addition, there are a few students with physical disabilites in the AM session. It's heart-warming when you see students fighting to help push their wheelchairs around. I believe MCS's stance towards people with special needs will help inculcate compassion in our MCS gals.
Here's wishing your DD all the very best. :rahrah:
Looks like I have chosen the correct sch for my DD. Character moulding at a young age is far better than any stellar academic results during PSLE.
Thks for sharing wif us, Tinkerbelle! :thankyou: :thankyou: :thankyou: -
Hi all mummies,
My girl has spent 4 days last week in MCS and she is now transferred to Pei Chun wef today.
I am very thankful and appreciative of all the kind help, info and encouragement I have received from the mummies at MCS. It has been a wonderful experience dealing with you all!!
I want to share my limited and short-lived experience in MCS. I would like to thank the P5 buddy who was attached to help my girl during the 3 days. Her name is Sheryl and she’s so sweet, mature, helpful and patient with my girl, who was such a crying baby. Generally I feel that the P5 girls had done a fantastic job in helping the younger ones coping with the new environment…
Bus operator Mrs Chua was kind enough to waive the transport charges for last week when I called to notify her this morning of my girl’s transfer. I thank her for that.
The general office staffs are also very helpful and nice…
I wish all the girls have a great and enjoyful 6 years at MCS!! -
cantbearit2:
Stroke??? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: Guess what, it can oso have the same effect on Chinese mama. I have given back a lot to my teacher since I left sch. I think besides watching Chinese shows and speaking to my frenz, it is pretty much under utilise lor.
We can only count on the enrichment class she's attending.
Haha...I second that...I've also return a lot of my Chinese to my teachers...now my P6 DD can correct me.....Put me to shame hor....cantbearit2:
Sounds like my DD2. When she speaks Chinese, it's obvious it's a direct translation from English....Hiaz... :slapshead:Funny thing is, she came back fr MCS and speaks to me in Mandarin (the sentence was constructed as per English rules, haha...) during dinner. It actually gif me the goosebumps when she calls me \"mama\" in Mandarin. haha....guess IM not use to it.
Callie Tan:
Hi Callies,Hi all mummies,
My girl has spent 4 days last week in MCS and she is now transferred to Pei Chun wef today.
I am very thankful and appreciative of all the kind help, info and encouragement I have received from the mummies at MCS. It has been a wonderful experience dealing with you all!!
I want to share my limited and short-lived experience in MCS. I would like to thank the P5 buddy who was attached to help my girl during the 3 days. Her name is Sheryl and she's so sweet, mature, helpful and patient with my girl, who was such a crying baby. Generally I feel that the P5 girls had done a fantastic job in helping the younger ones coping with the new environment...
Bus operator Mrs Chua was kind enough to waive the transport charges for last week when I called to notify her this morning of my girl's transfer. I thank her for that.
The general office staffs are also very helpful and nice...
I wish all the girls have a great and enjoyful 6 years at MCS!!
No worries. We are happy for you too...!!! PC is well known for their strong ethics. I believe your DD will do well there. Gambatte, Callie!!!
cantbearit2:
Hi cantbearit2,Hi Tinkerbelle,
Looks like I have chosen the correct sch for my DD. Character moulding at a young age is far better than any stellar academic results during PSLE.
Thks for sharing wif us, Tinkerbelle! :thankyou: :thankyou: :thankyou:
I couldn't have phrase it any better.....No use if results are fantastic but character leaves much to be desired. Of course, if the child can have stellar results plus a great character, that will be a BIG bonus... :imcool: -
Callie Tan:
Hi Callie,Hi all mummies,
I want to share my limited and short-lived experience in MCS. I would like to thank the P5 buddy who was attached to help my girl during the 3 days. Her name is Sheryl and she's so sweet, mature, helpful and patient with my girl, who was such a crying baby. Generally I feel that the P5 girls had done a fantastic job in helping the younger ones coping with the new environment...
Bus operator Mrs Chua was kind enough to waive the transport charges for last week when I called to notify her this morning of my girl's transfer. I thank her for that.
The general office staffs are also very helpful and nice...
I wish all the girls have a great and enjoyful 6 years at MCS!!
How was your DD's 1st day at Pei Chun? Hope she settling in and enjoying new new sch.. :lol:
Wishing her all the best in Pei Chun. -
Tinkerbelle:
Hee.... tat's Y we wanted to put her in a v \"china\" sch in the beginning to let her immerse in a chinese culture. But in S'pore context, all the \"china\" sch diff to get in. Nan Chiau, Pei Chun, Ai Tong, Tao Nan etc. Later on, we oso worried if \"china\" sch, it might demoralise her cos' her mandarin not \"powderful\" lor. Hee.... :lol:
Sounds like my DD2. When she speaks Chinese, it's obvious it's a direct translation from English....Hiaz... :slapshead:
Luckily we shift our focus to holistic environment whr character building is strong and preferably wif strong emphasis on CCA. Hee....tats y MCS is the obvious choice.
cantbearit2:
Luckily we shift our focus to holistic environment whr character building is strong and preferably wif strong emphasis on CCA. Hee....tats y MCS is the obvious choice.

:hi5:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.