Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
ptnttsg:
Mine also Merit. My ds take up a third language too. That's why I am wondering shld he take up the LEP. He is also going for sports CCA so if the sports CCA take up 3 times a week, a day for 3rd lang, then he won't have time for other things like project etc.[/quote]Exactly my worries. Wonder if they will talk about this issue at the symposium this Fri?
Which class is your DS? Did he take up any 3rd Lang? Just wondering if those took up 3rd Lang will not have time for LEP.cascada:
[quote=\"ptnttsg\"]
My ds in Ortus. The teacher says the requirement is A* for chinese and above 260 to offer the LEP.
Mine also hv A* and abv 260.
Or a distinction in hcl is also a criteria? Mine only Merit.
RS = research studies -
cascada:
Exactly my worries. Wonder if they will talk about this issue at the symposium this Fri?
Mine also Merit. My ds take up a third language too. That's why I am wondering shld he take up the LEP. He is also going for sports CCA so if the sports CCA take up 3 times a week, a day for 3rd lang, then he won't have time for other things like project etc.ptnttsg:
[quote=\"cascada\"]
Which class is your DS? Did he take up any 3rd Lang? Just wondering if those took up 3rd Lang will not have time for LEP.
RS = research studies[/quote]
Regarding LEP the teacher says to let him know by Wednesday how about yr ds.
What do they do for rs, is it for everybody? -
cascada:
Sori for any :? caused. Just received SMS from ds that he has been offered LEP.
Which class is your DS? Did he take up any 3rd Lang? Just wondering if those took up 3rd Lang will not have time for LEP.cascada:
[quote=\"ptnttsg\"]
My ds in Ortus. The teacher says the requirement is A* for chinese and above 260 to offer the LEP.
I m not sure if it will clash with any other activity? As well as your concerns abt drop out mid way & exam. however I understand such prog will further help in CL learning.
Any idea if RS is on for whole yr or only for 1 semester?[/quote]RS is for 1 semester only. -
Thanks, pinky88.
ptnttsg:
RS is for all S1, and according to pinky88, itβs only for 1 semester. -
ptnttsg:
My ds says that there will be exam but i am not sure if it is counted as a subject. May I know sec 1 how many subjects are there and will these extra programmes affect the overall grades.[/quote]Hello, I am a new member to this forum. My ds is in year 1 this year. According to him, we can opt out anytime but need to inform the teacher. I guess we have to provide some valid reason as well. My ds told me he has put his name in for it. sigh...... can make his own decision liao, dun need parent consent anymore......ApronMama:
[quote=\"ptnttsg\"]Anyboby knows about the LEP (Language Elective Programme). Are we able to opt out if we cant cope with it. My ds is in sec 1, his teacher asks if he is keen to join the programme.
Is the mark counted in the exam as 1 subject? If I am not wrong it is studying Chinese literature in Chinese ? -
ksasalways:
I am not sure about you, but I have personally take the effort to speak to students in the school, including those in year 4 this year and in cca leadership position.
though 4 years is a long time, they do allow change of CCA if it really does not suit or you realise that you detest itverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"ycpang\"]
Fully agree. 4 years is a long period, and it is extremely important to find one CCA that you are really interested. It will be a complete waste of time if you try to slack through 4 years of important period in life.
Their advise are:
1) Choose a cca that you like and have stamina + interest for 4 years.
2) Change of CCA into later part of high school (even year 2 for that matter) will be difficult and to some cca, almost impossible (i.e. uniform group - cannot imagine how they can cater to someone who join them half way)
3) transfer of cca points will be difficult since teachers will find it difficult on how they should compute the points that student accumulate from one cca to the other.
4) moving from one cca to the other will mean lost of seniority and experience point (depending on nature of cca) thus the student will always end up as a member of that particular cca...minimum exposure.
5) from the mouth of a Year 4 - sense of responsibility and commitment is important aspect of cca in HCI...
Work hard, play hard, but make wise and informed decision....ask the seniors the right question and your ds will be able to get as closed to the right decision as possible. After all, no one can tell me what I will be tomorrow, but every decision we make today do have an impact on our tomorrow.[/quote]you are very right in every point. totally agreed
only thing is if the student for whatever reason had made the wrong choice and daily detest it, what to do ? to stay consistently wrong and unhappy for 4 years or hopefully change for the better ? the school also talks about second chance and care for the boys . -
mrspan:
Hello, I am a new member to this forum. My ds is in year 1 this year. According to him, we can opt out anytime but need to inform the teacher. I guess we have to provide some valid reason as well. My ds told me he has put his name in for it. sigh...... can make his own decision liao, dun need parent consent anymore......[/quote]My ds also put his name in for it as he says the teacher told him can opt out after 1 year. (So... can opt out anytime or after 1 year :? )
My ds says that there will be exam but i am not sure if it is counted as a subject. May I know sec 1 how many subjects are there and will these extra programmes affect the overall grades.ptnttsg:
[quote=\"ApronMama\"]
Is the mark counted in the exam as 1 subject? If I am not wrong it is studying Chinese literature in Chinese ? -
mrspan:
Hello, I am a new member to this forum. My ds is in year 1 this year. According to him, we can opt out anytime but need to inform the teacher. I guess we have to provide some valid reason as well. My ds told me he has put his name in for it. sigh...... can make his own decision liao, dun need parent consent anymore......[/quote] :welcome: Mrspan!
My ds says that there will be exam but i am not sure if it is counted as a subject. May I know sec 1 how many subjects are there and will these extra programmes affect the overall grades.ptnttsg:
[quote=\"ApronMama\"]
Is the mark counted in the exam as 1 subject? If I am not wrong it is studying Chinese literature in Chinese ?
Report here first :
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewforum.php?f=28&sid=2747eb8723782977681fea58138c9333
Ya loh, if they keep quite we also duno. Luckily got KSP forum. -
you are very right in every point. totally agreed
I am not sure about you, but I have personally take the effort to speak to students in the school, including those in year 4 this year and in cca leadership position.ksasalways:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
though 4 years is a long time, they do allow change of CCA if it really does not suit or you realise that you detest it
Their advise are:
1) Choose a cca that you like and have stamina + interest for 4 years.
2) Change of CCA into later part of high school (even year 2 for that matter) will be difficult and to some cca, almost impossible (i.e. uniform group - cannot imagine how they can cater to someone who join them half way)
3) transfer of cca points will be difficult since teachers will find it difficult on how they should compute the points that student accumulate from one cca to the other.
4) moving from one cca to the other will mean lost of seniority and experience point (depending on nature of cca) thus the student will always end up as a member of that particular cca...minimum exposure.
5) from the mouth of a Year 4 - sense of responsibility and commitment is important aspect of cca in HCI...
Work hard, play hard, but make wise and informed decision....ask the seniors the right question and your ds will be able to get as closed to the right decision as possible. After all, no one can tell me what I will be tomorrow, but every decision we make today do have an impact on our tomorrow.
only thing is if the student for whatever reason had made the wrong choice and daily detest it, what to do ? to stay consistently wrong and unhappy for 4 years or hopefully change for the better ? the school also talks about second chance and care for the boys .[/quote]On your last note, this is again my personal opinion again...no offence OK
I suppose everyone will need to be given a second chance no matter what. After all, many of us have gone thru trail and error to arrive at what we like / dislike.
On this note, I think this is where communication + our understanding / reading of our kid will help to minimize making dear mistakes. Anyway, What I want to mention here is that we will need to instill in them the sense of responsibility in decision that they make. We are not going to be there for them all the time, thus the earlier they are \"taught\" to look out for things to consider when they are making decision and to be responsible in decisions they made, I think it will be better for both ...
Again, just my thoughts and maybe my personal philosophy when it come to role of parent. -
pinky88:
RS is for 1 semester only.[/quote]hihi, may i ask does the 260 t-score incl HCL points in order to be eligible for LEP?
Sori for any :? caused. Just received SMS from ds that he has been offered LEP.cascada:
[quote=\"cascada\"]
Which class is your DS? Did he take up any 3rd Lang? Just wondering if those took up 3rd Lang will not have time for LEP.
I m not sure if it will clash with any other activity? As well as your concerns abt drop out mid way & exam. however I understand such prog will further help in CL learning.
Any idea if RS is on for whole yr or only for 1 semester?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.