Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      minnie2004

Totally agree that the govt shud waive the maids levy. Not sure about taiwan, but in hk the levy is waived. If the sg govt really wants to boost the birth rate and economy, this is the least that they can do.

hquek

Angelight:
        I'm not surprised at all that one day we will have to pay cpf for maids, maybe that day will come sooner than expected, what with the maids suppliers saying that spore employers have to match up to HK's S$650 and Taiwan's S$800 pay for maids.

I read the forum letters in TODAY. One lady was saying that she worked in TW/HK before and the maids supplied to those countries are of far better quality. They would 'deserve' such rates. In fact, SG is more often the training ground for such 'quality' maids.

Pay peanuts get monkey, I understand this principal. But what i don't understand is why the amount we fork out is getting bigger - and it seems the monkeys we get are bigger (not better).

In any case, yes, I do support if MOM:
        1. legislates that FDWs to be responsible for their own loans. Don't make SG employers the scapegoat should any FDW want to come here for free holiday only. Since HK and TW don't have loan, why should we bear that amount?

2. reduce the FWL. I really really dunno what the monthly levy is for. the newsletter? the exam they have to take?

3. fdw to be responsible for their own actions. Why is it they can have a good time with men and then employers have to bear their childbirthing cost? Aren't they adults?

BUT, if any employer/govt wants to top up OUR pay to be on par with TW or HK standards, okay, I pay TW or HK price for maid.

Last word on this matter (getting more and more excited). Are the domestic workers in INDO getting the same 20% or more increment to stay on in their current positions? Or why THEIR own pp pay HK/TW price to engage their locals to work as domestic workers in Indo?

hquek

btw, I understand from a filipino maid that in HK, there is no such thing as transfer. Once the employer don't want to engage the helper/maid, she will HAVE to leave the country. Time for SG to do that? They can well afford to fly to and fro now...may as well accumulate the mileage. šŸ˜›

minnie2004:
            Totally agree that the govt shud waive the maids levy. Not sure about taiwan, but in hk the levy is waived. If the sg govt really wants to boost the birth rate and economy, this is the least that they can do.

In HKG, if the maid is not satisfactory, she can get sacked...and she can jolly well go and find another employer. We cannot do that.

Why must our MOM take levy for nothing done ?
            There is no such thing as free replacement in HKG. Actually, if we don't have to be SO responsible for our maids, their behaviour could be better...bcos they know they have to leave if they are sacked. For goodness sake, these maids are old enough...why should employers have to hire a maid and look after them like a 3 year old ?

catang

more den 4 yrs ago, cant recall which one but an agent from nation or best home (i took maids from these 2 agencies) told me the salary from hk/tw is higher cos maid dun stay wif the employer. they pay for their own lodging.

true not i duno

minnie2004

catang:
                more den 4 yrs ago, cant recall which one but an agent from nation or best home (i took maids from these 2 agencies) told me the salary from hk/tw is higher cos maid dun stay wif the employer. they pay for their own lodging.

true not i duno
                that's not the case, unless they're not domestic helpers. in hk, the maids also live with the employers and due to limited space there, very often they don't have their own rooms or have to sleep in very small cubicles without windows. i've only heard of some very rare cases where the the employer rents a flat for his 2 maids b/c he wants more privacy. the maids go to his house to work from 6am-9pm šŸ˜Ž .

minnie2004:
                  catang:

true not i duno

that's not the case, unless they're not domestic helpers. in hk, the maids also live with the employers and due to limited space there, very often they don't have their own rooms or have to sleep in very small cubicles without windows. i've only heard of some very rare cases where the the employer rents a flat for his 2 maids b/c he wants more privacy. the maids go to his house to work from 6am-9pm šŸ˜Ž .

My friend in HKG had a stay-in maid...slept in her store room. Don't have to pay levy, not responsible if they get pregnant, no replacement...but insurance and agent fees very high.

Andaiz

minnie2004:

[quote=\"catang\"]more den 4 yrs ago, cant recall which one but an agent from nation or best home (i took maids from these 2 agencies) told me the salary from hk/tw is higher cos maid dun stay wif the employer. they pay for their own lodging.

true not i duno

My friend in HKG had a stay-in maid...slept in her store room. Don't have to pay levy, not responsible if they get pregnant, no replacement...but insurance and agent fees very high.[/quote]Insurance is for the employer and partly for maid. Right now we are paying levy, putting the maid up and putting up with the maid šŸ˜› Hidden costs that the maid doesn't see!

Andaiz

)Sorry I don't have time to look through the thread so please forgive me if I'm duplicating posts...

My helper's mum has passed away. She said that her family members have sent an sms to neighbours' maid's mobile :roll: :roll: :!: instead of the home phone or my numbers.

She wants to go back to see her one last time and also to sort out childminding stuff for her only child (mother sole guardian of kid and my maid is a single mother).

Although it is very inconvenient - especially now that CNY is round the corner, I've agreed to let her go back and sort things out.

Is there anything I need to look out for, mummy's on this thread?

Thanks in advance!

hquek

Andaiz:
                        )Sorry I don't have time to look through the thread so please forgive me if I'm duplicating posts...

My helper's mum has passed away. She said that her family members have sent an sms to neighbours' maid's mobile :roll: :roll: :!: instead of the home phone or my numbers.

She wants to go back to see her one last time and also to sort out childminding stuff for her only child (mother sole guardian of kid and my maid is a single mother).

Although it is very inconvenient - especially now that CNY is round the corner, I've agreed to let her go back and sort things out.

Is there anything I need to look out for, mummy's on this thread?

Thanks in advance!
                        Sorry to be very cynical - timing is very good hor.

But on the practical side.
                        1. is she coming back? If yes, then I suggest to retain $500 (if she has bank account, best becos anything less than that, she will incur bank charges). If not, then say bye bye.
                        2. remember to make sure your valuables are safe on the day she's leaving.
                        3. is she fili or indo? Indo no issue - no paperwork to be prefilled. Just get airtickets and as long as her passport and wp valid, she can still come back. (BTW, she need to bring her wp with her). If fili, I suggest you query about coming back - my colleague had to pay for paperwork for her fili to go on home leave.

If she's reluctant to leave anything behind in SG, personal items and some money, I will really have my doubts on her intention. Again, my apologies if this is real - and my condolences on her bereavement.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 372 / 1032

sweetgirl80S
                        sweetgirl80