Club Breastfeeding Mums
3rd child 6mths, breastfeeding direct as am SAHM. Even if need to express, I do it by hand, so much easier than to use pumps (of any kind and brand). From my first to second, I had tried Avent, Pegion and Medela. Discover the ease of expressing by hand with number 2. So easy, no need to sterilise all the equipment and to lug them to work, when I was still workingβ¦
3rd child 6mths, breastfeeding direct as am SAHM. Even if need to express, I do it by hand, so much easier than to use pumps (of any kind and brand). From my first to second, I had tried Avent, Pegion and Medela. Discover the ease of expressing by hand with number 2. So easy, no need to sterilise all the equipment and to lug them to work, when I was still working....
Adoi! Express by hand very painful leh!
Not to mention, it's a very
laborious process. Especially me! I have soooo much milk, it'd take
forever to express wor! Not handy for full-time working moms.
With DD1 i had my handy medela electric to office without fail.
For DD2 still medela electric... and now for DS1, still faithful
with my medela electric. :love:
Btw, i can express 200ml to 300ml every 3 hours. :roll: That's why when
the boobies are engorged, they hurt like heck!
There was once i
forgot my tool in my rush to work so bo-pian too painful liao, so i use
my hands. I had elbow cramps after that and not to mention i had to
skip lunch/lunch-time too.
That's only your opinion. ;D And you didn't get the knack of it right? Neither did i. But my friend who's a doctor was expressing fully by hand at work. She say very fast. Not more than 10 to 15mins. eg. if expressing right side, she would balance one bottle in the crook of her left elbow while that same left hand would hold another bottle for the right side that she is expressing. She said so convenient and quick.
Adoi! Express by hand very painful leh!
Not to mention, it's a very
laborious process. Especially me! I have soooo much milk, it'd take
forever to express wor! Not handy for full-time working moms.
peh-boo:
nursing rooms next or inside toilet - also not nice smell, wat.
nowsdays some toilets have nursing rooms beside so maybe can use that room for ur privacy lor. -
foreverj:
Yes Yes..
awww, she really sounds like a child raised the attachment parenting way! :love: pray she remains so sweet, thoughtful and compassionate!buds:
Ya lor! She too free.. :lol:
But awesomely sweet. :love:
Till today, she still asks me if i need help to wash my feet...
Cos during preggie time, i cannot see under... after delivery
time, too painful to bend down... so she offered to give me a
foot or rather feet spa each time i hit the showers. She said,
\"U must take care u noe mummy, if you need anything just
call me..\" :please:
she remains the sweetie thoughtful pie she is today for as
long as she can or even... forever!
foreverj:
Aaawww foreverj... :love:u really brought her up very well, she is probably emulating the love that you have shown to the people around you

:snuggles: -
Yes I too had problems expressing via the hand so always used pump sometimes electric and sometimes manual

You had both electric and manual pumps?
Or by manual you meant, the hands?
I had a manual Pigeon pump as a gift and
another manual Avent from hand me downs
and both gave me sore nipples... it was even
painful to bf thereafter the pumping.
I was first introduced to Medela Electric in the
hospital... and they were using the industrial kind,
on a stand as high as those hospital drip stands with
a boxed motor and superdee silent! When i asked where
to get that magic tool, the nurse laughed and said, \"You may
purchase a mini medela electric from the pharmacy or some bb
stores... the ones we have in the hospital are industrial ones...\"
Later on, i found out from a nurse friend that the industrial ones
can be rented...
Just curious, my SIL commented that my DD3 is chubby even though sheβs breastfed.
So breastfed baby are not chubby?
I BF my DD1 for 3mths, DS2 for 1 yr and currently DD3, 6mths still BFing. My DD3 might be more chubby compared with my DS2 at the same age.
My diet is very normal, balance of veg, meat, fish and carbo⦠-
It's genetic. Not quite much to do with diet. There are fat & skinny formula-fed babies, just as there are fat & skinny breastfed babies.Just curious, my SIL commented that my DD3 is chubby even though she's breastfed.
I BF my DD1 for 3mths, DS2 for 1 yr and currently DD3, 6mths still BFing. My DD3 might be more chubby compared with my DS2 at the same age.
My diet is very normal, balance of veg, meat, fish and carbo......
I'm still bf'g my dd3 at 29mths. I'd bf'd dd1 for 29mths and dd2 for 38mths. -
Thanks. From her tone she seemed to imply there was something amiss. Although this is my 3rd, I'm still learning. :lol:
It's genetic. Not quite much to do with diet. There are fat & skinny formula-fed babies, just as there are fat & skinny breastfed babies.SAHM_TAN:
Just curious, my SIL commented that my DD3 is chubby even though she's breastfed.
My diet is very normal, balance of veg, meat, fish and carbo......
I'm still bf'g my dd3 at 29mths. I'd bf'd dd1 for 29mths and dd2 for 38mths. -
I had electric pump before for Ds1 but gave me sore nipples cause I couldnt control the speed then I bought manual during DS2 time wherein I could control the speed and stop in between.. so just stick to it.. now no need

Medela's Mini Electric was and still is good for me as it gives me the
fastest let-down sensation for painless expression and also it also
has a dial-speed feature that the user can rotate according to their
comfort & required level. With the manual ones, i had to use hot
towel compress to many times before the let-down sensation
came in... and still sore around the nipples. After the skin ard
the nipples cracked a coupla times i gave it away to a friend
who gave birth a few months after me.
With Medela, i could express around 300mls within 15 to 20mins...
hence i stuck to it. With DS1, this Medela is my third. I used the
first two medela's till konk out! Overused! :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.