[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    525 Posts 183 Posters 424.1k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      greenbean2011

hello jul04,

I encourage you to attend parents montessori workshop too.
      very good !

last year when I went, there were 6 parents in the group.
      3 fathers, 3 mothers.

I was surprised to see fathers present in the workshop.
      I thought only mothers attend this type of workshop.

But nowadays modern generation, seems like fathers change.
      Fathers also concerned, “kan cheong” over kid’s education, not just mothers. One father came from India, another from China, last one local from SG. Quite a few foreigner parents there.

The father from China said his daughter’s english weak, because they speak mandarin predominantly at home. So come to workshop to learn the montessori method - can start teaching son at home from young, now 15 months old. He said English is his main concern for his girl.

The father from India said he come SG to learn, go back home then teach his wife, how to teach his 2 kids. He said his wife is the one spending most of the time at home with the kids, while he goes to work. He said worth it - pay one time school fees for this parents workshop, can teach 2 kids simultaneously at home, saves up lots of $ if were to send 2 kids individually to Montessori enrichment classes, costing around $100 / $120 per month.

He said Montessori method is good - very structured, systematic, step by step programme that helps kids grasp the fundamentals well, also help a child very much in spelling later.

The father from SG said it is his wife who ask him to come.
      His wife fall sick, so can’t come. He said his daughter going to a good school in primary 1, so it is important that she can read well - because all the pupils in that reknown primary school are expected to read well.

For mothers, one was a foreign lady from Germany (Berlin).
      curious, I asked why she joined ?

She said she is a kindergarten teacher from Berlin – teaching kindergarten the traditional way. She said come to SG, learn the montessori method it’s good - so that go back Berlin, she can incorporate into her regular kindergarten teaching.

I asked curiously – doesn’t Berlin teach montessori ?
      She reply limited. Come SG better, because SG education system so advanced! In Europe, education system very different. Children play a lot ! Kindergarten kids still play a lot, even at K2.

The other mother is a local Malay. She wants her daughter to read well, so enrol for this parents workshop.

at the workshop, trainer Nafisa and parents shared many things.

sharing ….

In primary 1, there are a number of students in primary schools who still can’t read properly.

example:
      ======

at primary 1, there are pupils who can’t read simple sentences like “the fat cat sat on the mat.” If they can’t read, they face tough challenges ahead. How to cope with other subjects like Maths, and subsequently Science later at Pri 3?

so, help is on hand !
      MOE recognise montessori method as a very good, useful teaching / training methodology tool - to help pupils lay good foundation in english. MOE allow the tool to be used by school teachers in training students.

so, weak students are identified early onset, by primary 1 subject school teachers. They are placed into small groups of 6 pupils maximum - called Learning Support Group for english (LSG).

In LSG, if that primary 1 english teacher happen to be montessori trained, then she can use the montessori method to help brush up the pupils’ phonics and grammar. Teacher can use that LMA (large moveable alphabets) montessori tool set to train pupils go up the learning curve quickly, catch up in time !

after training for a period, pupils sit for english tests.
      If pupil pass, pupil quit LSG, go back normal class to catch up.
      If fail, pupil remain in LSG, continue to brush up English, until can pass.

likewise, there is also Learning Support group for Mathematics, for pupils weak in Maths. Teacher use the montessori Maths tool set to train weak pupils.

sharing ….

toddlers got short attention span, < 5 minutes.
      issue is - how to make toddlers learn ?

a) one mother shared – overcome, by asking the child to role play.

first, she teach her child montessori method first.
      next, she place 3 soft toys in front of her child –like a bear, a rabbit, a toy girl.

now, she ask her child to teach the 3 toys what she’d learnt….
      so, the child becomes a teacher to the toys now.
      in the process, she learns.
      if she is wrong, her mother corrects her.

b) creative method.

to engage toddler’s interest creatively, when using LMA tool set to match the object / picture to the word / phrase, she told her child this - if mommy get it wrong, mommy dance. But if you get it wrong, you dance, ok?

so even if the child is wrong, she learns.
      she learns which set she has matched wrongly the object to the word.
      then she dance ! 🙂

if yr son has short attention span at home, can try apply above methods to help him.

if you keen in parents workshop, can drop trainer Nafisa an email at
      [email protected]

when the time comes for her to conduct workshop, she’ll inform you.

• G Offline
        greenbean2011

hi,

\t

fyi – sharing.

when comes to Chinese enrichment, everyone heard of Berries.

But not many people are aware that Kinderland kindergarten actually offers daily Chinese immersion classes Mon – Fri, 5 times per week at K1, K2.

The good thing is – this daily Chinese immersion is available to kids not just enrolled at Kinderland, but also to outside kids, from other kindergarten elsewhere. Outside kids can join in.

not many parents are aware got such thing.
        now, it’s good that you know !

note:
        ====

Kinderland got 2 type – kindergarten and child care centre.

The one that conducts Chinese daily immersion lessons is the - kindergarten, not Kinderland child care centre.

you may choose Mon – Fri 5 times per week, or minimum 3 times per week.

each lesson, 2 hrs duration solid.

for costs fees per term, you may call up Kinderland kindergarten to inquire.

call up Kinderland Serangoon tel: 6288-2979, or
        Kinderland Marine Parade tel: 6344-4722

smurf

Hi Greenbean,

Just curious, if Montessori so good, why did u put your gal at church kindergarten ha? :?

I went visiting to a Montessori sch. And I was very surprised that the standard is very much higher than normal kindergarten. I have this impression that Montessori is all about play, do worksheet, project, etc. And kids would have difficulty adjusting to primary 1 work, but i was so wrong.

Kids learn in stages, starting from N1, first mth learn this, 2nd mth learn that, etc. Very structured, in fact, much more structured than normal kindergarten, IMHO. Actaully come to think of it, I dun remember what my elder has learn in kindergarten. Maybe I didn't ask, coz I was so afraid of 'disturbing' teachers. Which is wrong, parents should ask as much questions. 😉

Midas88

Hi everyone, I was asking a colleague for advice regarding good childcare centres in Bishan and she told me about this forum.

My son is close to 2 yrs old and I’m desperately seeking a decent childcare facility for a full day run. Would REALLY appreciate your advice because my wife suddenly had to be seconded to Australia for 6 mths and I’ve been tasked to enroll Julian in a playschool.

Please extend your advice, I’ve been to a big name playschool nearby for a visit and its really nothing spectacular (seems very commercialised IMHO). Looking for a school that allows my son to run around and not get cooped up in a classroom all day.

ANY advice would be appreciated!

• G Offline
              greenbean2011

hello smurf,

\t

montessori no matter how good - at the end of the day, is only academics.

To me, character more important.
              prefer her to know God, sing hymns  so sent her to church kindergarten.

montessori - 2 sides of the coin.
              =====================

depends on your child.
              because every child is different.

a)\tif the child is the self motivated type, always keen to learn new things eagerly, obey teacher do homework regularly, consistently, can follow instructions, can co-operate with teacher, can obey teacher, then fine! Montessori pre-school is good for this child.

b)\tbut if the child not self motivated, hate to obey teacher’s instructions, don’t co-operate with teacher, refuse to do homework, not disciplined type, this may pose a problem.

why ?
              because the definition of Montessori is “learn at the child’s own pace”.

for whatever reasons – can be due to teacher, can be due to home environment, in the event that the child not interested in studies, or child doesn’t like the teacher, refuse to obey teacher to do homework like simple handwriting, etc. and if happen that the montessori teacher he has suay suay is the bo-chap type, and the child refuse to learn, then this poor child spiral downwards. ie. the child can be in nursery class due to his age, but his mentality is only that of a pre-nursery kid.

If this problem is not arrested early, he can turn into a problem kid next time, headache.

But if he’s lucky that his montessori teacher is good, patient kind enough to alert the red light to parents early, and both parents and teacher willing to co-operate together, work hand in hand to fix / resolve the child’s issue asap, then still got hope!
              \t
              \tat the end of the day, no matter how famous a Montessori pre-school is, most important is still – who is the teacher handing your child ? She must be the right fit to handle your child’s unique character, personality and temperament.

But in church kindergarten setting, every child must do homework, whether like it or not. If that child is naughty, don’t do homework, form teacher has her own method to make him do homework - via discipline.
              At same time, form teacher will call up parents to alert first, before / during PMT (parents meet teachers) sessions.

smurf

Hi Greenbean,

Have u heard of singapore montessori? :? Just want to ask u for opinion, but i think we have to move this discussion to the Montessori thread coz very out of topic already. Haha. :lol:

• G Offline
                  greenbean2011

hi smurf,

Sorry, i am not sure about SG montessori.

you are right.
                  i should stop talking about montessori here.

smurf

No lah, just thought that should share the knowledge at the correct thread mah...but Your gal is very fortunate to have a mum who tried so hard to run around places to find so much info for her education. :celebrate:

jul04

Wah the topic is on Primary schools now? :!:

Aiyah I'm still so confused. Montessori all the way or to switch after Nursery? Which kindy to go to - MMK or Newton? Shd I take into account distance & accessibility? Shd I go for a \"nice\" kindy & spend my weekends on enrichment classes or to get a kindy that covers everything so that weekends can just be on play. :imdrowning:

• G Offline
                        greenbean2011

hello jul04,

frankly, I will choose Newton over mmk.

a) as what smurf pointed out earlier, there is no spelling / tingxie even at K2 mmk. Last yr, her son went thru K2 mmk.

This year, her son in Pri 1. Smurf is speaking the truth.
                        Smurf knows best. Because she is speaking from her own experience, what her elder son had gone through before.

now search yr own heart, honestly.
                        do you want yr son to come to Pri 1, then start learn spelling / tingxie ?
                        are you comfortable with this ?

or, do you prefer to ground yr son earlier in his kindergarten years, so that come Pri 1, he is already very familiar with spelling / tingxie? The honest answer you reply to yr own heart…. will untie the knot to your confused dilema.

besides, chinese is weak at mmk - unless you send yr son for extra chinese enrichment. However, this happen not just at mmk alone, but across the board, in a large number of kindergartens all over SG.

In SG, besides Newton, the other 2 kindergartens very strong in Chinese are:-

a)\tNanyang kindergarten.

The initial first 2 years – pre nursery and nursery are taught in 100% Chinese. But once come K1, K2, Nanyang operate just like any other normal kindergarten, back to (50% English, 50% Chinese) curriculum.

so many parents rushing to Nanyang.
                        why ?
                        because of the attraction of the 100% full Chinese curriculum, for the initial first 2 yrs – Pre nursery and Nursery.

look at this mother here carrying a sleeping toddler in her tired arms, jostling with so many other parents on a busy morning, rushing and panic to enrol her child at Nanyang, in case no vacancy left! She queued overnight at the front gate of Nanyang kindergarten, with her toddler.
                        this picture speaks a thousand words !

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_622799.html

b)\tHoly Grace Presbyterian church kindergarten.
                        (located in Upper East Coast, near Siglap)

this kindergarten teaches not 100%, but 70% - 80% Chinese, which is high enough!

many kids study here staying in the East are heading for - Nanyang primary school, plus a number of SAP schools in East, like Tao Nan primary, Kong Hwa, Ngee Ann primary, all co-ed. Some also heading for St. Hilda’s primary at Tampines, which offer GEP programme at Pri 4.

\tthe kids here speak very good Mandarin.

\tIf you free one Sunday morning, bring yr child attend Holy grace church Sunday school worship. You hear the kids here open their mouth, rattle off in mandarin, fluently. You can hear them using a number of difficult, challenging Chinese vocab, at ease. I ask the kids where you learn this Chinese from ? who teach you? They reply - it’s lao si at Holy grace kindergarten teaching them daily.

Holy grace website:-
                        http://www.holygrace.sg/Kindergarten.html

what then is mmk forte ?
                        English, plus all the loving, caring teaching environment at mmk, from Principal + teachers teaching kids good character Christian values.

b) besides the daily 60% built in challenging Chinese curriculum, Newton has got so many enrichment lessons available.
                        let’s see, what does Newton have ? Newton has –

- creative Art drawing, to develop your child’s creativity.
                        - Fast track kids brain development programme

what do fast track kids learn, in this programme that originate from US ?
                        they learn:-
                        =======

- Astronomy
                        - Biology
                        - Communications
                        - Creative Literature
                        - Creativity
                        - Earth Science
                        - Economics
                        - Goals and Life Lessons
                        - Mathematics
                        - Natural Science
                        - Speech, Drama and Art
                        - Technology.

- John Langheir critical thinking,
                        - Science experiments exploring enrichment,
                        - English speech and drama, by famous Helen O grady,
                        - Chinese speech & drama, by Applepie,
                        - han yu pin yin to help prepare yr kid for Pri 1 chinese.

refer newton website:-
                        http://www.newtonkindergarten.com/centres/?dxuid=SG010296&&pageid=1865

how about mmk ?
                        what enrichment at mmk ?
                        mmk only got speech and drama, computer lessons, plus 2x Chinese tuition only at K1, K2.

refer mmk website:-
                        http://www.mkg.edu.sg/programmes.html

due to limited classroom facilities available, unfortunately mmk do not conduct creative Art drawing, Fast track kids, John Lanheir critical thinking, science enrichment, han yu pin yin.

why Newton better ?
                        because all enrichment lessons are conducted during weekdays.
                        The way they arrange the timing is also very good.
                        They are spaced out nicely !

If yr son attends AM regular kindy lessons, then all enrichment follow immediately after his AM lessons end, from 12.15 pm – 1.15 pm.

But if yr son attends PM regular kindy lessons, then all enrichment conducted in morning, from 10.15 am – 11.15 am.

weekday enrichment is good.
                        why ?

so that can free up yr Sat/ Sun precious weekend for other enrichment like let yr son learn violin / piano, go for swimming, Shichida / Little Nero Tree, family get together activities, etc. So that you got more time to spend with yr husband, son, other family members at weekend.

if not, your weekend become very stressful - need to ferry yr son to and fro for Art drawing, for hanyu pin yin, etc, over and above his violin / piano, swimming, etc. The ferrying here and there eats into yr own personal time and yr husband’s personal time to rest, because one of you has to do the driving.

how about the enrichment timing at mmk ?
                        not so good, bec enrichment are conducted in PM.

so if yr son attends AM regular kindy lessons, you need to bring him back PM for afternoon enrichment. Troublesome !

if yr son attends PM regular kindy lessons, the enrichment will follow immediately after his PM finish. By then, don’t you think he will be too tired to concentrate, because he just finish his regular PM kindergarten lessons ?

c)\tbest thing is go down - visit both mmk and Newton.

talk to both principals.
                        visit kindergarten premies during term time, not during school vacation holidays.

ask Principal to show you samples of worksheets curriculum for English, maths, Chinese, for the levels - Nursery, K1, K2.

from flipping through sample worksheets, you should be able to gauge for yourself - which kindergarten shows higher standard / more depth in her teaching curriculum, which one is more shallow ?

but pls go during term time, not during school holidays.
                        If you go during school holiday, principal can say she can’t show you any worksheet - because all the kids had gone home, not around since it’s vacation time. So go and visit during term time, see what are the kids doing !

ask all queries you have.
                        from here, you will obtain the answer - that unties the knot to yr headache dilema.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 31 / 53