To sell or not to sell our pty
I am in a dilemma as to whether to sell away our apt. My hubby wants to sell it so that we are free from the bank loan… use the money to buy HDB and pay in full…
However, I really like where i live right now… cos it very convenient for me to pick up my kids from school… i just like the environment around my house… My hubby is suggesting to move to some where close to his workplace which is Yew Tew/Upper Bt Timah… But when i think of the traffic around that area i dun feel like selling my apt.
Any advise??? -
depends on how much money you can make out of the sale and whether it is enough for you to make up for any inconvenience that you cannot adapt to even after some time. that is a question only you can answer.
very much also depends whether the existing property has any more price gain ?
Actually, our pty has appreciated by abt 50% to 60%… I am not sure whether it will continue to appreciate or not… I not just not sure whether i can tahan the change of environment if we were to relcoate to another location… but sometime when i think of the profit we stand to gain… i tink we shld just move and put the money in our pocket…
Tania:
Actually, our pty has appreciated by abt 50% to 60%.. I am not sure whether it will continue to appreciate or not... I not just not sure whether i can tahan the change of environment if we were to relcoate to another location.. but sometime when i think of the profit we stand to gain... i tink we shld just move and put the money in our pocket..
do remember to take in other \"hidden\" costs in your \"profit\" calculation.
- interest paid over housing loan (and perhaps renovation loan)
- renovation cost
- legal fee
- property agent commission
The potential gain may not be as much as what it appears to be. -
Hi just sell it.
Tania:
Defintely you can free from bank loan if sell private property & buy a HDB flat. Yes you would need some time to adjust to a new environment especially you had been living in the same neighbourhood for quite a period of time.I am in a dilemma as to whether to sell away our apt. My hubby wants to sell it so that we are free from the bank loan.. use the money to buy HDB and pay in full..
However, I really like where i live right now.. cos it very convenient for me to pick up my kids from school.. i just like the environment around my house.. My hubby is suggesting to move to some where close to his workplace which is Yew Tew/Upper Bt Timah.. But when i think of the traffic around that area i dun feel like selling my apt.
Any advise???
Perhaps you should wait for the property to crash then you can sell your low & buy low. It is the same as you sell high & buy high at this time. In a layman term, I just think the property market would crash. SOmething go up sure have to come down! -
Just sell it and take profit. The property market has little or no chance to go any further with the gov keeping a very close eye on the price index. More measures will be implemeted if the prices still goes up next quarter. So the buyers now all become sellers. In a speculative market the buyers and sellers are the same bunch of people. A property market without speculators will crash for sure.
titank:
from private to HDB, it is better to sell high buy high
Defintely you can free from bank loan if sell private property & buy a HDB flat. Yes you would need some time to adjust to a new environment especially you had been living in the same neighbourhood for quite a period of time.
Perhaps you should wait for the property to crash then you can sell your low & buy low. It is the same as you sell high & buy high at this time. In a layman term, I just think the property market would crash. SOmething go up sure have to come down!
whereas from HDB to private, it is sell low buy low
HDB price tends to be more stable whereas private is more volatile. The difference between the high and low of HDB is nothing when compared to private properties. -
When would be the best opportunity where sell high & buy low? Maybe sell away & then temporary move to someone's house. Wehn low then enter the market?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.