Marymount Kindergarten
greenbean2011:
Erm, actually I'm not too sure, even though my boy graduated from there! Hee...but I remember one mummy said they use in house phonics? :?hello smurf,
may i know what Phonics is Marymount kindergarten using ?

hi smurf,
last time did you send yr elder son for Speech & drama ?
which one did you send - english or chinese ? does it help ? -
I didn't send him to marymount speech and drama, but I send him to external vendor. ACT3. only for a term. I dun find it useful though. But maybe because it's for a term only, so cannot see the benefits. The teachers are very young, and I dun find them lively.haha.
But Helen O Grady is good! The teacher is very expressive and engage the children in a very fun way. I forgot the name of the teacher though. Very lively and the class is conducted in very fun way. I thought it was good! Coz speech and drama is supposed to be expressive right?
hello jul04,
another thing …
at mmk, all enrichment are in PM.
there is no morning enrichment.
if your son goes mmk for AM regular school, the sch bus will bring yr son back home to TPY right at the doorstep, say around, 12.30 pm.
He eats his home cooked lunch quickly. But after makan, bathe quickly, rest for a short while, then he got to go back mmk again, for his enrichment in PM (like speech and drama, 2x Chinese tuition for K1 , K2 level).
means on those days where got mmk enrichment, he comes back home for a short while quickly to makan, take a short rest, then go back again. Troublesome ! Who is going to bring your son back again, for the second trip ? your maid, mil ? do you have another younger child at home where yr mil need to look after ?
if you say ok never mind, in that case don’t come home, just let him stay at mmk till PM enrichment start – but, who is going to bring food to feed him there, look after him, till his PM enrichment start ? can be a few hours long. You can’t just let him hang around alone at mmk premises. Not safe !
visit mmk premises.
there is no waiting area to hang around.
another thing … after his PM enrichment finish, there is no more school bus fetching your son home. If his Chinese enrichment is 1.5 hrs duration long, means yr maid got to hang around 1.5 hrs somewhere else (bec no where to sit /hang around at mmk premises). After 1.5 hrs times up, then maid go back, fetch yr son home.
it is always this type of logistics transport issue … that’s giving parents lot of headache. -
Do note that your child is not allowed stay in sch after his sch hr finished. If u have enrichment, you have to bring him or her back. The sch will not look after your child. And you are not allowed to loiter in the sch. I agreed that MMK enrichment is very troublesome. But if you have the manpower, why not? My boy didn’t go for any enrichment at all, except towards the end of his k2, I put him in an enrichment because he asked for it.
hi smurf,
curious … may i know who are the external enrichment vendors at mmk for 2x Chinese, english speech & drama, and chinese speech & drama ? -
Erm, not too sure leh. You won’t know unless u ask the office or the teachers. Coz it wasn’t put on the communication sheet.
They only have speech and drama, Chinese and English, Chinese immersion twice a week, science (only started last July) gym (by bear gym or something), computer by ednoland. That’s all.
Actually, it doesnt matter what enrichment they have, coz after all, the parents can outsource this, even if the sch dun have. What is most important is the teachers and the curriculum. -
hi smurf,
heard got noisy construction going on.
curious … what they constructing at mmk ? -
Think it’s the MRT construction. Anyway, I dun think u can hear the noise during lesson.
Hi all,
I am looking to transfer my son to AM class instead of PM class because he was usually sleepy by the time PM class start.
Any of you in Violet I (AM) class wants to switch to PM please let me know we can swap!
Else, got to wait till September to apply for AM in K1 next year. Even then, I am keeping my fingers cross he will get it due to 4 Nursery classes reduced to 3 K1 classes.
Also I am just very curious whether any parents will withdraw their kids from MMK due to the proposed construction of the new N-S central highway? Apparently tunnelling work will start once the residents of the old folks home and nuns' quarters move out in 2012. Any comments about this?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.