All about Cakes & Cookies Baking
hi happymama,
Oh dear.... don't worry. Keep trying! I'm sure you will succeed... :celebrate:
yes i am going to try another batch during one of the CNY
anyway, the 2 nd batch also finished liao.....can't even last till the start of CNY
Yes, i also bake the pineapple jam together with the pastry. (easier lah...)pink_daisy:
erm sorry to side track abit..when baking the pineapple tarts, do u bake the pineapple filling together with the tarts (for the type where the filling can be seen on top)?
Yes, for the open face tarts, you bake with the pineapple jam on top of the pastry, otherwise, the pineapple jam will not 'stick' to the pastry, but you have to watch your heat, otherwise, the jam might get a bit burnt if the heat is not watched carefully.
Hope it helps.
but i also heard that some pple bake the pastry first, half way thru then they add the pineapple jam.
( need to brush some egg on it so as it can stick on the pastry) -
That means it is really delicious!!! :drool: :drool: :celebrate:
hi happymama,Happy Mama:
Oh dear.... don't worry. Keep trying! I'm sure you will succeed... :celebrate:
yes i am going to try another batch during one of the CNY
anyway, the 2 nd batch also finished liao.....can't even last till the start of CNY
:lol: -
The recipe calls for 2 pounds of flour and 500g from Ghee. So it is about 900g of flour. As for using semonlina flour, I have not tried.hi Funz
is ok.....dun feel bad, fortunately, i did a small batch for the 1 st batch...
So far following my mum's recipe, the cookies turn out smooth, crumbly and melty, not crunchy, but my cookies tend to crack just like my pineapple tarts. But I guess, it also depends on individual taste. My colleagues were raving about Bengawan Solo's, sugee and pineapple tarts but I find them just ok only.
By the way, I accidentally kinda figured out a solution for my cracking cookies and tarts. I use flat baking trays for my cookies and they cracked, those that I use the cake tin to bake don't crack. No idea why but since problem solve with an easy solution, I'm happy. -
That means it is really delicious!!! :drool: :drool: :celebrate:
yes, no doubt the texture can be further improve, it tasted delcicious
Funz, some of my sugee also cracked (i also used flat baking trays).
The recipe calls for 2 pounds of flour and 500g from Ghee. So it is about 900g of flour. As for using semonlina flour, I have not tried.
So far following my mum's recipe, the cookies turn out smooth, crumbly and melty, not crunchy, but my cookies tend to crack just like my pineapple tarts. But I guess, it also depends on individual taste. My colleagues were raving about Bengawan Solo's, sugee and pineapple tarts but I find them just ok only.
By the way, I accidentally kinda figured out a solution for my cracking cookies and tarts. I use flat baking trays for my cookies and they cracked, those that I use the cake tin to bake don't crack. No idea why but since problem solve with an easy solution, I'm happy.
i think it must be the uneven oven heat distribution which caused the crack.
as i notice those which were slightly brown (overheated) cracked but those which were at the sides , no browning, no cracking, looked good.
so u found teh solution for it
but then if using cake tin, not able to contain all the cookies in 1 go (unless u have several cake tins).
This thread has been very quiet ....
Baked these today. They were inspired by Augmum's swimming rings in qms' personal thread and the question in Bakeware about mini doughnut moulds .... Also wanted to finish the coating chocolate which have been lying in the fridge for quite some time.
They were baked using a premix that I bought from NTUC the other day. Didn't quite like the recipe that I found from the Internet, so when I saw the premix at NTUC the other day, decided to buy one packet to try.
Taste wise, not exactly like doughnut, more like cake texture, and not too sweet, would say it's just nice, and definitely much better than the Internet recipe which I tried long ago.
One packet of premix yielded 18 mini doughnuts.
http://postimage.org/image/2d0esh2dg/
http://postimage.org/image/2czzwmxxg/
http://postimage.org/image/2d3fxxyys/
http://postimage.org/image/2db7frmf8/
http://postimage.org/image/2dalxs404/
Oops, I ran out of coating chocolate, so used icing sugar instead.
http://postimage.org/image/2davv06ys/
Enjoy! -
looks good maid!
:thankyou: I cheated by using the Premix! :oops: -
WOW Maid, the donuts look delicious and so colourful! :drool: :drool: :drool: Lovely! :celebrate:
...and... and.... I like the brand of the premix! HAPPY donut!!! :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.