PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit

314 Posts 49 Posters 79.3k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

happy to be mum:
      Can someone out here do a voting on whether parents are willing to give birth to one or two more kids if they have siginificant help from our govt? Hope someone here is from MCYS and hear all our feedbacks and maybe select some of us to have a discussion with our PM..hehe...

Oh yes, let's do a voting. It will be interesting to see the result.

Chenonceau

Ok ladies, I wave white flag here hor :siam:

Too taxing to be simultaneously pummelled on 3 different thread at once.......want to maintain peace whilst there are at least a few people still on speaking terms with me.
        Where got pummel you.

A few loving slaps only mah...

:rubhands: :rotflmao:

toddles

happy to be mum:

you are all right saying no amount of incentives will entice those who already decided in their minds to stop at one or two to have another kid. But I have alot of friends who have 2 kids, they will still love to try to have another one. If our govt is daring enough to give big, bold incentives, like free childcare, free maid levies, paid grandparents' incentive (for those grandparents that help to take care of their grandkids) free maternity incurred expenses (like if you choose to give birth in a govt hosp, fees will be FOC), fortnightly family allowances given base on some means testing, free vacinnations even in GP, free doctor fees even in GP, etc..

Why I said even in GP cause I understand vacinaations are FOC in polyclinics? Cheap doctor fees in polyclinics? Okay, I believe most parents in KSP go to GP instead of polyclinics. We are not spoilt but I will rather go to the GP near my place than wait more than half a day to see a doctor in a polyclinic which will make me more sick due to the waiting time.

I believe people see GP bcos they cannot afford the time to wait at polyclinics. Get queue, queuing to see doctor is the WORST. The last time I waited at polyclinic, it took 2 hours to get a cream for rash and referral letter to see dentist at Jurong Medical Centre for removal of wisdom tooth. Another 30 min at the pharmacy for my medicine and the referral letter.

actually my friends who brought babies (under 18 months) to polyclinics for vaccinations all had great experiences. they get to cut queue! ok lah, let's say 'priority'. apparently if they see you with an infant you get to go within 10 mins. šŸ™‚ :love:

laughingcat:
            happy to be mum:

Can someone out here do a voting on whether parents are willing to give birth to one or two more kids if they have siginificant help from our govt? Hope someone here is from MCYS and hear all our feedbacks and maybe select some of us to have a discussion with our PM..hehe...

Oh yes, let's do a voting. It will be interesting to see the result.

Just a min...if couples want more kids, shouldn't they be discussing with their other significant halves instead of waiting for govt to help ? How much can govt help ? The govt isn't going to wake up nights to attend to hungry baby or change diapers. Govt isn't going to make the education system less stressful.

toddles

Too taxing to be simultaneously pummelled on 3 different thread at once.......want to maintain peace whilst there are at least a few people still on speaking terms with me.

Where got pummel you.

aiyah, forums are like that one... actually i think everyone is very nice, just some tend to sound fiercer as keyboard warriors.

plus, I commended your alma mater leh! got see or not.

Chenonceau

toddles:
                If we cared about babies as much as the politicians a) say they do, b) cared about national defence (which we should, since having one's population half in size in the absence of immigration is no joke), then if they can put So Much Money into mindef's budget, what is it to allocate a fraction of that to childcare incentives/subsidies?

If they can legislate for every NSman to go back for reservist EVERY YEAR (and pay employers ridiculous sums for the men to lobo in camp), what is it to legislate a month of paternity leave when a child is born (at most 2 or 3 in a lifetime right) or 2 weeks of childcare leave a year (and pay the employers for the loss, whilst the men actually productively spend time with kids, as opposed to waiting to rush and rushing to wait)?
                Problem is that almost all our Ministers are men, with supportive wives (EVEN IF the wives work). We need 2 or 3 women ministers who have supportive husbands to get this through 'cos the men don't get it.

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

Hey 3Boys, dun go leh. :lol: It is interesting to read your view leh. :please:

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

Just a min...if couples want more kids, shouldn't they be discussing with their other significant halves instead of waiting for govt to help ? How much can govt help ? The govt isn't going to wake up nights to attend to hungry baby or change diapers. Govt isn't going to make the education system less stressful.

At least to have enticing options in order to kick start the talk with hubby mah šŸ™ :lol: I am still hoping that we can consider a 3rd one coz I want to have a DD :love:

toddles:

actually my friends who brought babies (under 18 months) to polyclinics for vaccinations all had great experiences. they get to cut queue! ok lah, let's say 'priority'. apparently if they see you with an infant you get to go within 10 mins. šŸ™‚ :love:
                      same for airlines. priority boarding and priority meal service

in fact, going to paediatrician will ensure long queue and pay more

Problem is that almost all our Ministers are men, with supportive wives (EVEN IF the wives work). We need 2 or 3 women ministers who have supportive husbands to get this through 'cos the men don't get it.

MM's wife raised the 3 kids.
                        How many male ministers can raise their hands and tell people they played a big part raising their kids ? If they can put themselves in wives' shoes, well maybe they will understand better.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 32