PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit
How about this, tax refund on income tax, not on taxable income. Meaning after computing everything, govt give you a tax refund of $X for 1st kid and $X+ for 2nd and $X++ for 3rd and so forth. And for those who do not need pay much income tax, part of the money goes into CDA, part of it CPF? That way the higher income earners get some relief and the lower income earners also benefit mah.
3rd child got tax rebate right?
Oohhh.. you want refund for the first two that came out arh? :lol:Funz:
Do-able in my opinion. :idea:haha. Just tossing ideas
And knock off at 3pm on Fridays, no work on Saturdays and start work on mondays only at 10am. :lol:
A good start i would say.. :celebrate:
Your staff can don't work Saturdays arh, Funz?
What i think phankao is referring to is that while many may have grandparents
And what makes you think we have grandparents able to look after our children? How about being the one that is responsible to look after the children on our own? If not, why would I talk about exhaustion and stress?phankao:
[quote=\"laughingcat\"]I beg to differ.....as in line with the government, people used to think that grandparents will comes in handy in helping the young couples to look after kids. Not everyone is as lucky as you - having parents to stay with you and do the marketing and cooking. For some who does not have the grandparental support, having a maid is a necessity. This was what is currently being debated in the other thread http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18613&start=70
There are others who were so unlucky to have your parents \"playing you out\" in looking after grandchildren.
Having a maid for some are not necessarily being engaged them in looking after kids. For some, engaging the help of the the maid in the household chores.
Gee, I do have my MIL staying with us, but no, she is not relied on to do the cooking, marketing, looking after grandchildren. She is incapable of doing so.
how many of them are truly wanting to care for the grandchildren be responsible
caregivers? That said, the ideals of a responsible grandparent may be subjective
between one person and another's.
On the other hand too... grandparents are also not obliged to care for our children.
They have done their part... their years of raising their own children... time to
take a break. And if they do, even the willing and responsible ones... do give a
fair token of appreciation. If maids can be paid X amount of moolah ($), then i
say, our own parents (espcially the willing and responsible ones) definitely
deserve way better. :love:
As for me... heh... i didn't outsource to either... though i have both sides still
living and relatively younger than most grandparents around but i kiasu... i
choose to pao everything myself. :laugh:
Plus, i have a hubby who is all in for housework! :celebrate:
Automatic too! :idea: A nit-picker some more...
Well trained? :idea: Hmmm... maybe a bit of that... :laugh:
A bit of consideration... :love:
Must have a bit of love oso lar right or else how to be auto? :rotflmao:
And... and... and.... :idea: ... this is a bonus factor! :idea:
The man must also be one who likes a clean house. :love:
My hubs can start Train the Papa school anot?
Can pay via cash, cheque, credit and paypal. :rotflmao:
Btw, hubs took e-leave yesterday while i just fainted with my flu.
He was with the baby whole day. I couldn't even breastfeed due
to medication.
DD2 spongebathed me... sponged my forehead... and gave me a
full body massage!
So, while i cannot bank in on the incentives and the moolahs of
a working mom, i have the best incentive of being bonded with
my children... care for them well and having a hubs who cares..
well that...? :idea:... sometimes.
When i asked DD2 why she did the things for me when i was ill
& bloody knocked out yesterday, when she too was sick as well.
Her reply, \"I'm almost recovered already... besides i want to take
care of you just like how you take care of me. Watching TV is not
important. I am here for you when you need me...\" :love:
Today, she mopped the floors cause she said she doesn't want the
dust to make me go on my sneezing-spree... when it actually is the
flu bug acting up on me.. :love:
Now how in the world should the gahmen incentivise me for bringing
up smart, considerate and loving children? Go figure..
[/quote]This is so heartwarming I wanna cry... really... sob!!
Aiyoh.....your gal's action so touching. :love: I always think that having a DD is different leh.
This is so heartwarming I wanna cry... really... sob!!buds:
What i think phankao is referring to is that while many may have grandparents
caregivers? That said, the ideals of a responsible grandparent may be subjective
On the other hand too... grandparents are also not obliged to care for our children.
They have done their part... their years of raising their own children... time to
take a break. And if they do, even the willing and responsible ones... do give a
fair token of appreciation. If maids can be paid X amount of moolah ($), then i
say, our own parents (espcially the willing and responsible ones) definitely
deserve way better. :love:
As for me... heh... i didn't outsource to either... though i have both sides still
living and relatively younger than most grandparents around but i kiasu... i
choose to pao everything myself. :laugh:
Plus, i have a hubby who is all in for housework! :celebrate:
Automatic too! :idea: A nit-picker some more...
Well trained? :idea: Hmmm... maybe a bit of that... :laugh:
A bit of consideration... :love:
Must have a bit of love oso lar right or else how to be auto? :rotflmao:
And... and... and.... :idea: ... this is a bonus factor! :idea:
The man must also be one who likes a clean house. :love:
My hubs can start Train the Papa school anot?
Can pay via cash, cheque, credit and paypal. :rotflmao:
Btw, hubs took e-leave yesterday while i just fainted with my flu.
He was with the baby whole day. I couldn't even breastfeed due
to medication.
DD2 spongebathed me... sponged my forehead... and gave me a
full body massage!
So, while i cannot bank in on the incentives and the moolahs of
a working mom, i have the best incentive of being bonded with
my children... care for them well and having a hubs who cares..
well that...? :idea:... sometimes.
When i asked DD2 why she did the things for me when i was ill
& bloody knocked out yesterday, when she too was sick as well.
Her reply, \"I'm almost recovered already... besides i want to take
care of you just like how you take care of me. Watching TV is not
important. I am here for you when you need me...\" :love:
Today, she mopped the floors cause she said she doesn't want the
dust to make me go on my sneezing-spree... when it actually is the
flu bug acting up on me.. :love:
Now how in the world should the gahmen incentivise me for bringing
up smart, considerate and loving children? Go figure..
With respect to grandparents, I agreed with you that is subjective to individual. Perhaps my idealogy is different. I was brought up by my grandparents and not by my parents, as my parents were working. Grandma offered to look after me and my siblings so that my parents can work peacefully. When my turn comes to start a family, grandma reminded my mother to do likewise. However after Grandma passed away, things become different. I was being \"played out\" by my own mother on the last day of the funeral rites for Grandma. She rather perfer playing mah Jong and shopping and gossiping with friends. But heh.....I paid her very well and more than the market rate as I feel appreciative for her effort but things don't turn out nice either.....
I was being brought up that grandmother will help as they have the experience and know how. My grandmother alone looked after 15 grandchildren, including me. Afterall, daughter usually turn to mother for advise right. At least for me. Dahhhh.....I am missing my beloved grandmother.
With everything so expensive, think suka suka want to have children means can have children?
First must find time to find the other half before can get married.
Life in Singapore is so stressful, think of all the bills need to pay, piles and piles of work (last time 10 to 20 years ago, 1 pay 1 work, but now still 1 pay, but work like spider, using multiple hands and legs to work), sometimes want to "that one" also difficult (because both couples very tired).
Worst, after give birth, the real nightmare starts, sleepless night take care of baby, even more sleepless nights when trying to get into P1, even more and more sleepless night at P6. Sec 4 and beyond maybe some other parents can share.
If child school work not good, not only you need to help to teach personally, but also need to spend tonnes on tuition.
I believe when they grow up, getting married, looking for house, well, now the houses (including HDB) so expensive and will be very expensive in their time and we all know for past 10 to 20 years, salary never move as fast as the price index of not only property but also household goods.
Sigh…!!!
How hah? -
JonC:
haha - i don't think it's expensive to have children at all, but you're right about the sleepless bits! Esp the 1st 5 years! I don't get sleepless after they get to secondary school lah - time to layoff them. I was also not sleepless at sec 4!With everything so expensive, think suka suka want to have children means can have children?
First must find time to find the other half before can get married.
Life in Singapore is so stressful, think of all the bills need to pay, piles and piles of work (last time 10 to 20 years ago, 1 pay 1 work, but now still 1 pay, but work like spider, using multiple hands and legs to work), sometimes want to \"that one\" also difficult (because both couples very tired).
Worst, after give birth, the real nightmare starts, sleepless night take care of baby, even more sleepless nights when trying to get into P1, even more and more sleepless night at P6. Sec 4 and beyond maybe some other parents can share.
If child school work not good, not only you need to help to teach personally, but also need to spend tonnes on tuition.
I believe when they grow up, getting married, looking for house, well, now the houses (including HDB) so expensive and will be very expensive in their time and we all know for past 10 to 20 years, salary never move as fast as the price index of not only property but also household goods.
Sigh...!!!
How hah? -
Nope, that's not what I am talking about. I think one parent was saying that some of those who have grandparents very \"ho miah\" so why complain?
What i think phankao is referring to is that while many may have grandparentsphankao:
And what makes you think we have grandparents able to look after our children? How about being the one that is responsible to look after the children on our own? If not, why would I talk about exhaustion and stress?
Gee, I do have my MIL staying with us, but no, she is not relied on to do the cooking, marketing, looking after grandchildren. She is incapable of doing so.
For us, our children's grandparents are *incapable* of helping even though they are around. Don't ask me to Help them good enough already, man! -
laughingcat:
Basically times have changed... so many things in our society are different, even we are very different from our parents (how many of us would be willing to look after our grandchildren 24-7?)... our grandparents might not have been educated much, or had 'careers' or their own 'life' outside the family. To them, when the time comes that they have grandchildren, it's almost a matter of fact that they would be the main caregivers, esp if they wanted their 'educated' daughters to work. Our parents probably have an idea of what they want in retirement, which might not include being 'chained' to the house to care for grandchildren. So these days, we can't expect our parents to be willing to do for us, what our grandparents did for them.
With respect to grandparents, I agreed with you that is subjective to individual. Perhaps my idealogy is different. I was brought up by my grandparents and not by my parents, as my parents were working. Grandma offered to look after me and my siblings so that my parents can work peacefully. When my turn comes to start a family, grandma reminded my mother to do likewise. However after Grandma passed away, things become different. I was being \"played out\" by my own mother on the last day of the funeral rites for Grandma. She rather perfer playing mah Jong and shopping and gossiping with friends. But heh.....I paid her very well and more than the market rate as I feel appreciative for her effort but things don't turn out nice either.....
I was being brought up that grandmother will help as they have the experience and know how. My grandmother alone looked after 15 grandchildren, including me. Afterall, daughter usually turn to mother for advise right. At least for me. Dahhhh.....I am missing my beloved grandmother.
Some grandparents make it clear from the start that they will not be the main caregiver, no matter how much you pay them.
Others volunteer to help in attempts to persuade their kids to procreate, some fulfil their promise, others back out last min.
Some initially refuse, then give in when faced with a cute bundle that they cannot bear to chuck in infantcare...
So we each have our own circumstances to live with, and have to make the best out of our resources and the people who are willing to help... -
Hi Phankao,
haha - i don't think it's expensive to have children at all, but you're right about the sleepless bits! Esp the 1st 5 years! I don't get sleepless after they get to secondary school lah - time to layoff them. I was also not sleepless at sec 4!JonC:
Worst, after give birth, the real nightmare starts, sleepless night take care of baby,
Sigh...!!! How hah?
Just wondering why you said it's not expensive having kids. Even PCF education isn't cheap now. Grocery and food is getting expensive, no thanks to inflation. Children's education is stressful...like what JonC mentioned, if parents can't coach, then tuition fees come in. -
toddles:
agree with toddles...we cannot expect our parents to look after our kids. It's a bonus if they do. hmm, i'm not sure if I would want to look after my grandchildren when I'm old. Play ok, but look after...haha, must think twice.
Basically times have changed... so many things in our society are different, even we are very different from our parents (how many of us would be willing to look after our grandchildren 24-7?)... our grandparents might not have been educated much, or had 'careers' or their own 'life' outside the family. To them, when the time comes that they have grandchildren, it's almost a matter of fact that they would be the main caregivers, esp if they wanted their 'educated' daughters to work. Our parents probably have an idea of what they want in retirement, which might not include being 'chained' to the house to care for grandchildren. So these days, we can't expect our parents to be willing to do for us, what our grandparents did for them.laughingcat:
Some grandparents make it clear from the start that they will not be the main caregiver, no matter how much you pay them.
Others volunteer to help in attempts to persuade their kids to procreate, some fulfil their promise, others back out last min.
Some initially refuse, then give in when faced with a cute bundle that they cannot bear to chuck in infantcare...
So we each have our own circumstances to live with, and have to make the best out of our resources and the people who are willing to help...
Well, first of all - kids don't have to go to kindy. How much is PCF? S$500 for 10weeks? I'm a little out of touch there, since I've not had a preschooler in a long while. Once they are in pri/sec/jc, it's quite cheap.
Hi Phankao,phankao:
haha - i don't think it's expensive to have children at all, but you're right about the sleepless bits! Esp the 1st 5 years! I don't get sleepless after they get to secondary school lah - time to layoff them. I was also not sleepless at sec 4!
Just wondering why you said it's not expensive having kids. Even PCF education isn't cheap now. Grocery and food is getting expensive, no thanks to inflation. Children's education is stressful...like what JonC mentioned, if parents can't coach, then tuition fees come in.
We have to eat, so adding a few more mouths to the equation is not that great. I still cook 3 dishes for dinner, and maybe plus soup. Yeah, they probably need supper sometimes, but the incremental is not quite so significant. I can think of how having the elderly is more expensive in my household, partly due to stubbornness and waste.
Once they go to pri & sec school, it's quite cheap too. How much is pri school? S$10/mth? or maybe a little more. We are paying S$20/mth for sec and the JC one probably a little more? Schooling in singapore is cheap. Oh well, until it gets to university. The kids better be working parttime to earn their way. I fully paid my own school fees from JC to university. Never had pocket money. So I expect the kids to as well. My eldest already started doing that before JC.
As for tuition, it's not a matter of parents can or cannot teach. The kids just have to learn to cope. Tuition is optional.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.