Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
I would like to say that PV is not only for professionals. In fact, I have many friends who are "professionals" rejected for PV work as they cannot offer what the school is looking for.
My "financial accountant" friend was rejected by a popular school in her neighbourhood whilst a stay-home mother was accepted as she was an ex-teacher from China and could offer Chinese tuition to the school kids under-performing for that subject.
My "IT head" friend tried to offer his service to another popular school, only to be told that the school does not need that. The school chooses another guy who was an air-con servicing technician, as a traffic warden and to help with manual labour of painting and setting-up the computer lab.
Elitist??? Not available to masses??? I really do not think so.
To be fair, I think the school chooses the PV based on what they need. And I know of schools that list down examples of types of tasks for PVs as well in their application form. Competition for PVs for popular schools are definitely there - just like competition for students to get into good secondary schools. Over the years, I can see that most schools limit the number of PVs to prevent disappointment. Yes, there may be a few disappointments - in life there is no guarantee of "sure win" all the time despite putting in the effort.
All of us wants to try our best for our kids and there is no system that benefits everyone. Going to a popular school does not guarantee the kid will perform better. A lot is dependent on the kid’s ability and willingness to learn and perform. There are so many examples of neighbourhood school kids joining the GEP programme in popular schools at P4.
Ultimately, the fairness comes when secondary school is chosen based on PSLE results, JC chosen based on "O" level results and Uni entry based on "A" level results. -
Pen88n:
.....Ultimately, the fairness comes when secondary school is chosen based on PSLE results, JC chosen based on \"O\" level results and Uni entry based on \"A\" level results.
I do recall reading elsewhere about we should not judge any kid's capability by exam taken over a few days. lack holistic assessments, kid could be not feeling well on exam day or days, etc etc
:siam: -
Pen88n:
AgreedI would like to say that PV is not only for professionals. In fact, I have many friends who are \"professionals\" rejected for PV work as they cannot offer what the school is looking for.
My \"financial accountant\" friend was rejected by a popular school in her neighbourhood whilst a stay-home mother was accepted as she was an ex-teacher from China and could offer Chinese tuition to the school kids under-performing for that subject.
My \"IT head\" friend tried to offer his service to another popular school, only to be told that the school does not need that. The school chooses another guy who was an air-con servicing technician, as a traffic warden and to help with manual labour of painting and setting-up the computer lab.
Elitist??? Not available to masses??? I really do not think so.
To be fair, I think the school chooses the PV based on what they need. And I know of schools that list down examples of types of tasks for PVs as well in their application form. Competition for PVs for popular schools are definitely there - just like competition for students to get into good secondary schools. Over the years, I can see that most schools limit the number of PVs to prevent disappointment. Yes, there may be a few disappointments - in life there is no guarantee of \"sure win\" all the time despite putting in the effort.
All of us wants to try our best for our kids and there is no system that benefits everyone. Going to a popular school does not guarantee the kid will perform better. A lot is dependent on the kid's ability and willingness to learn and perform. There are so many examples of neighbourhood school kids joining the GEP programme in popular schools at P4.
Ultimately, the fairness comes when secondary school is chosen based on PSLE results, JC chosen based on \"O\" level results and Uni entry based on \"A\" level results.
:goodpost: :goodpost: -
The fallacy is in thinking that a positive PV experience equates to PV as a concept bing fair or right, or even necessary.Yup, we all are entitled to our own way of thoughts and we maintain our rights to disagree. You may call it conventional thinking - but what I shared was my personal experience and observation.
I rather go to work knowing that there are volunteers who tag along with my kid on his school outing and making sure that the kids all stay together and are kept safe; than say, for there to be no PV and that 40 kids are wandering in Bt Timah Hill with only a couple of teachers around. And certainly, when I fail at a job interview, I certainly don't call up the interviewer and demand to know how I didn't measure up.
I had a wonderful PV experience generally. When I got into the roll of it after a bit, it was actually pretty fun and I think I managed to make a real impact in my area of contribution.
So why am I coming back now and dissing the system? After I got my boy in on that basis?
I've explained in various threads in detail about the vagaries of the PV system and I am not going to bore anyone by repeating it here again.
Just because someone had a good PV experience or on the face of it, has an impression that the school could have done with that help, it doe not mean that one assumes that it is true. First and superficial impressions can be misleading.
On the balance, I find the PV system to be archaic, opaque and inconsistent. Something that is out of place as an 'entry selector' for something as sensitive and important as P1 admissions. Hence my desire for its dismantling.
I am pretty happy where my boy is actually. school is in a sweet spot for him. Aced his academics, far exceeding his dad in MT, class leader and brimming with confidence. Fine where he is, don't need super-branded school.....
.....but the principle of how the admissions system is implemented in Singapore wrong, and PV is just one part of it. -
I ever mentioned that being PV allowed me to understand the school culture and that was dismissed as bs. It's precisely I know which school I want to register my child in, which is why I want to be a PV to be in the school compound and talk to teachers.I'm glad and happy that PV work can only be undertaken by parents (No grandparents, no maids allowed).
I did PV and so am probably classed under one with 'vested interests'. But I'm glad I did PV. Not all schools have open days. I'm not the socially active type that can go around the neighbourhood obtaining information about the school I'm interested in. PV work allowed me to get INTO the school and see for myself what the school is like. During the days on duty, I could walk around and look at the noticeboard; chat with the teachers etc. How to do that if I'm not allowed into the school?
I am not one who likes to walk about my neighbourhood to enquire...better to find out and experience personally than ask around.
That said, after my child gets into the school, the rest pretty much depends on him/her to work hard and get into sec school of choice. Of course, parents also have to play a part and not leave everything to the teachers. That's your own child after all. -
I read 3Boys is not opposing the whole PV system but wants/wished the PV selection process to be transparent. Correct me if I am wrong.
And the reason for wanting transparancy because transparancy equates fairness? Am trying to iron out the core reasons behind this call. It is interesting.
Busymom:
Wasn't going to respond further actually, but then...cannot help it lah.The way I read it (and I do apologise in case I have gotten it wrong), is that you are classified as one with 'vested interest' not because you have done PV, but that you have a #2 who will get into the school under phase 1.
If parents have to go through the torture of school balloting for each child, I, for one, would definitely not have #3...
I classed myself as vested interest becos I got DS1 in via 2B (PV work). Phase 2C would have involved balloting (within 1km) - I don't think we have the luck. And yes, that DS2 is going in via Phase 1. PLEASE don't tweak phase 1
. I will :stupid: if I kena one more round.
Just for discussion sake. Imagine if Education Minister say those who have 4 kids and above - only the first kid will be able to get in during Phase 1 (subsequent also no issue mah)....wonder if parents will bite the pain and have loads more.
And to stir the pot further, make that 4 kids and family is not on social aid (meaning they can afford the 4 kids in the first place - I'm just adhering to the message \"have 3 or more if you can afford it\").
This is just for discussion, please don't get into heated debate about divide and all. I'm just curious if this will spur pp to have more kids faster (becos if number 4 to come out when number 1 register, parents have to continually have kids leh - very very hard target). -
Just for discussion sake. Imagine if Education Minister say those who have 4 kids and above - only the first kid will be able to get in during Phase 1 (subsequent also no issue mah)....wonder if parents will bite the pain and have loads more.
Although my 2 kids are already in primary school, I still hope MOE doesn't change the system to tweak Phase 1...ie guaranteed place. Some parents have gone through the heart-thumping stress of balloting and it wouldn't be fair to them to go through the balloting again for subsequent kids. Govt wants more kids right ? So if #1 gets into the school, it's logical that younger siblings are guaranteed. If not 4 kids, hopefully parents are encouraged to have #2 or #3. -
To set the record straight, I didn't have a wonderful PV experience. There were some stuff I saw which I don't want to talk about. But overall, we weighed the options - nearby dunnid to move house, further away more branded but we got to uproot and then face child caring issues.
The fallacy is in thinking that a positive PV experience equates to PV as a concept bing fair or right, or even necessary.
When DS1 first got in, honestly, I was wondering if I made the right choice. Then someone woke me up by telling me that I am the one to make a difference to my kid - and that's the most impt thing of all.
Again, nothing is fair in the world. Not everything has to be transparent - again I reiterate the example of job interviews and now, even bonuses.
But I try to find the brigher spots in life and rejoice in it. Pollyanna? probably. But as the hokkien saying goes 'hwa hee tio ho'.
Not all find it bs (the getting to know better part).
I ever mentioned that being PV allowed me to understand the school culture and that was dismissed as bs. It's precisely I know which school I want to register my child in, which is why I want to be a PV to be in the school compound and talk to teachers.
I am not one who likes to walk about my neighbourhood to enquire...better to find out and experience personally than ask around.
That said, after my child gets into the school, the rest pretty much depends on him/her to work hard and get into sec school of choice. Of course, parents also have to play a part and not leave everything to the teachers. That's your own child after all.
I hear about the school, I want to get my kid in and therefore do PV. That bit is correct. But then, after doing PV, I am in a better position to assess my initial understanding.
I would love it if my neighbours can feed me information. But then, not everyone has that kind of wonderful neighbours.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.