Aiyo! I actually let my maid keep the angpow. I didn’t bother to ask from her back or check with her about the amount. I didn’t know they will pocket kid’s Angpow. Luckily my gal always pass it to me when she receives an Angpow.
Anyone here paying their fresh new maid $450 because of the new ruling? Just want to know if really there employers there paying this salary now. -
Perhaps you may like to inform your relatives in future on the quiet NOT to give your maid angbao so as to make it easy to detect. For now, you can only bite the 'bittergourd' becos no proof.
After an unhappy experience with ex-maid last yr, this CNY, thot be clever by telling my siblings dont give maid angbao. End up, maid stayed home while we go baiNian cos hubby doesn't want to inform his side.
My side, my sis told me she has the right to give, said I'm a super stingy and petty employer. :?
She never employed maid b4, kept wanting to show-off/act like she super nice person, created unnecessary problems so indirectly make my life miserable ... :x
mummymaid:
I think a lot of those who never experienced problems before will think that we are being petty/stingy etc. Sorry, but please, if one is so generous, go donate to charity.hquek:
Perhaps you may like to inform your relatives in future on the quiet NOT to give your maid angbao so as to make it easy to detect. For now, you can only bite the 'bittergourd' becos no proof.
After an unhappy experience with ex-maid last yr, this CNY, thot be clever by telling my siblings dont give maid angbao. End up, maid stayed home while we go baiNian cos hubby doesn't want to inform his side.
My side, my sis told me she has the right to give, said I'm a super stingy and petty employer. :?
She never employed maid b4, kept wanting to show-off/act like she super nice person, created unnecessary problems so indirectly make my life miserable ... :x

Anyway, another way is to ensure that our kids give the angpow directly to mummy for safekeeping and don't just leave it lying around or in their rooms - or put inside a bag that they carry around. -
I think a lot of those who never experienced problems before will think that we are being petty/stingy etc. Sorry, but please, if one is so generous, go donate to charity.mummymaid:
[quote=\"hquek\"] Perhaps you may like to inform your relatives in future on the quiet NOT to give your maid angbao so as to make it easy to detect. For now, you can only bite the 'bittergourd' becos no proof.

Anyway, another way is to ensure that our kids give the angpow directly to mummy for safekeeping and don't just leave it lying around or in their rooms - or put inside a bag that they carry around.[/quote]Wat i did was, i told all my 3 kids, aged 6, 4, 2 tat when they receive any red packets, passed it to me immediately.. n it worked almost quite well.. and at times if the youngest did not pass it to me.. the 2 older ones will try to take it from her or inform me about it..
Though a few times i saw maid trying to keep it in her bag.. so i make sure if i receive 2 of the same red pkts frm my older ones, the pkts in the youngest bag should b the same as well..
celtricia:
Lucky you have 2 older ones to look out. These pp are :siao: - there are 3 kids, why would they think it's undetectable if one kid has lesser ab (even from designs).
Wat i did was, i told all my 3 kids, aged 6, 4, 2 tat when they receive any red packets, passed it to me immediately.. n it worked almost quite well.. and at times if the youngest did not pass it to me.. the 2 older ones will try to take it from her or inform me about it..
Though a few times i saw maid trying to keep it in her bag.. so i make sure if i receive 2 of the same red pkts frm my older ones, the pkts in the youngest bag should b the same as well..
Has/would any employer tell the maid upfront that she will tally the angpaos? Just so they can get rid of the notion they can pocket some? -
Opps! i tink i may have misdirect some of u.. sorry sorry.. heh
Lucky you have 2 older ones to look out. These pp are :siao: - there are 3 kids, why would they think it's undetectable if one kid has lesser ab (even from designs).celtricia:
Wat i did was, i told all my 3 kids, aged 6, 4, 2 tat when they receive any red packets, passed it to me immediately.. n it worked almost quite well.. and at times if the youngest did not pass it to me.. the 2 older ones will try to take it from her or inform me about it..
Has/would any employer tell the maid upfront that she will tally the angpaos? Just so they can get rid of the notion they can pocket some?
when i mentioned 'maid trying to keep in her bag' i meant my youngest girl's bag.. and i did told maid tat all the red pkts she received she should pass it to me at the end of the day when we get home..
Maid jus arrived in sg on 31st Jan and this is her first time in sg.. so i tink she hasnt have the courage yet to pocket my kids red pkts.. *cross fingers* tat it will remain this way.. -
celtricia:
If she can start pocketing angpow so fast then she's big trouble.
Opps! i tink i may have misdirect some of u.. sorry sorry.. heh
when i mentioned 'maid trying to keep in her bag' i meant my youngest girl's bag.. and i did told maid tat all the red pkts she received she should pass it to me at the end of the day when we get home..
Maid jus arrived in sg on 31st Jan and this is her first time in sg.. so i tink she hasnt have the courage yet to pocket my kids red pkts.. *cross fingers* tat it will remain this way..
Sorry to have misunderstood. :oops: -
Yes i agree.. but she din.. tat's the relieve thing for now.. juz haf to monitor..
If she can start pocketing angpow so fast then she's big trouble.
Sorry to have misunderstood. :oops:
No nid to apologise.. i was the one who did not indicate clearly.. i should be sorry..
An alarming number of foreign maids ran away from their employers' homes in 2010 alone.
A Straits Times check with embassies and foreign workers showed that at least 4,000 had run away from their employers' homes last year.
The most common complaints heard were homesickness, being overworked, or bosses who scolded them as well as being unpaid for their work. The majority had worked in Singapore for less than six months and were yet to receive a regular salary since they had to repay loans of up to 11 months' salary to employers.
Embassy officials say many of the women's complaints cannot be proven and some are even found to be false. But it is rare for the women to return to their employers. About 70 per cent are repatriated and the rest move to new employers.
4000 is a lot leh - esp since it involves mostly new maids. I would think this shows that maids are more aware of their rights and don't need the money - run away can go home faster? Those who truly need to support their families would have gritted their teeth (unless conditions are really bad).
Should they look into the requirement where SG employers pay up on behalf of the maid? And the maid pay that amount themselves? Since we are talking about HK and Taiwan, I understand that employers don't bear their loans if any to go there. I'm sure their local agents are more effective to make sure the maids pay whatever is due to them (agent) for placement fees than a hapless employer who dunno where the village is situated (I don't).
Anyway, so far the 3 maids I got only get salaries deducted for 8 months - I wonder which bloodsucker agent (this is harsh but that's how I feel) get 11 months. FYI, this current myanmar maid: she is getting cash $60 and her salary deduction is about 8 months. -
Thanks so much to all for the advice.Agree, better be more careful as to the valuables and monies in the house. If she really bought a hp, the next question is how she's going to finance the usage.
Act blur in front of her and pretend dunno. No point going through her belongings as she may have passed it to a friend.
I'm actually wary of letting maids go down to wash the car by themselves becos I see a lot chit chatting away with friends. That is also a good time to pass things around. So either we wash the car ourselves; or we'll go down with her together.
Yes, we should be more careful with valuables and money with this maid, as with my previous Filipina maid (who was kept her own salary). With the \"no cash\" policy, I think we have been more relaxed and less wary. However, it is true that they can pass the money and stuff to their friends. My maid is able to handle the work and so far, I have very little complaints. The issue is she has a sweet mouth and is quick to come up with excuses...also I strongly suspect she can be defiant and stubborn... so don't want to spoil the current cordial relationship.
I just told my son, in my maid's presence, that I always know when he is lying even though I don't always kick up a fuss over it. Hope she gets the hint.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.