as a parent considering to send or already sent their child
or children to a Montessori centre, it SHOULD NOT be for the sole purpose
of learning Phonics and Math. The purpose of sending children to a
Montessori centre is for a holistic programme that centres around the
complete growth & development of the child. The curriculum is not meant
to show parents how fast the children learn, but how well they learn and
how deeply embedded all the concepts are in their minds that help prepare
them for formal primary education and life itself. ....In a Montessori cc, the children will be exposed to Cultural subjects that
waaaayyy prepares them for Science in P3... learning animal categories
mammals, amphibians and the likes and learning why they are categorized
where they are... what are the characteristics within a group of animals...
....names
of continents... they learn the different ways people all over the world greet
Now how abt the part where children learn to be independent and learn the
life skills that even parents forget to instill in the children?
The curriculum even covers social grace and courtesy. Music? Learn to
appreciate classical music of Bach & Mozart.. art .. and wow... there's
just too many to share here in one posting... really..
Some parents and some centres who have this rush for children to learn as......There is more to the Montessori Education than just the tested and proven
ways of the Montessori Phonics and Montessori Math..
Me! Me! Me! I'm one of the rare breed. Am being seduced by Montessori not for the Math & Phonics but for all the other things you mentioned. :love:
As for the Math & Phonics part, I'm just relieved that it seems to be on track to make kids seem educated enough to read & count
so that people don't treat my boy like an uneducated boor :x NataTL:
Where to sign up Monte and Parents program?
Hmm.. as I said a looong time ago, I was thinking of parent-child Montessori at Tosville or YKidz. These are the 2 places that I know of. Totsville's 1.5h while Ykidz's is 1h only. But.. I'm waiting for some people to pass me some info so I can sound :nunchuk: at the school *HINT*Parent & child programme you mean? Uhmmm... :idea: Not many seem to be
doing it these days as the trend is to focus more on drop-off programmes,
which is a pity really... cause Parent & Child Montessori pgrms definitely
help parents look into the Montessori Method of teaching children prior
to signing up for the drop-off pgrms. By then, parent and child have
further understood and adapted to the programme and the child
can benefit from not having to deal with that much separation
anxiety, as the initial bonding with teacher + parent in the
class has already been established. -
Dear Buds,
Thanks so much for your long reply and explanations.
Yes i read from another thread about monte… and further from yr reply but me going out and no time finsh reading and digest it. It sound soooo impress. How come the monte my kid attend is not such? the main reason is also the monte teacher turn over rate is very high. Can you let me know or recommend me a good monte to go??? i very desparate cos monday come i must registerl my kid to mind champ as they only have one space left… but now thinking finding another monte school.
About Naf, is she conducting any programe for kid. If yes i definately send my kid.
Also if not wrong, read you gave birth? so now confinement? woow wee u full of energy… i really thanks for your explanations and will discuss further later. If can must, pu pu you with our haka yellow wine chicken…ask yr hubby pick it up from me? am serious - our family specality. -
NataTL:
our haka yellow wine chicken....ask yr hubby pick it up from me? am serious - our family specality.
Wah! Sounds delicious! I'm not giving birth but can I eat? :please: -
jul04:
Aaaawww... :please: I'm so touched!NataTL:
our haka yellow wine chicken....ask yr hubby pick it up from me? am serious - our family specality.
Wah! Sounds delicious! I'm not giving birth but can I eat? :please:
Eh, NataTL, you got hear the thick-skinned one oso asking you to pu pu her oso anot? :laugh: -
I got! I got the hints! :roll:
Belly busy leh me!
Just replied to most PMs nia.
Teacher : Student ratio too high for this teacher leh! :faint:
Wait your turn awhile k. :please: -
smurf:
Hi Hi din know they have grammer coming up..... am interested le, got partner already?Anyone keen to sign up for this:
Montessori grammar workshop
It's $147, early bird is $97, if bring another friend, it's $180 for 2 seats.
http://montessoriprogram.com/montessori-grammar-workshop-2 -
Ok.. waits (not patiently) *drums fingers* :rubhands:I got! I got the hints! :roll:
....Wait your turn awhile k. :please:buds:
Aaaawww... :please: I'm so touched!
Wah! Sounds delicious! I'm not giving birth but can I eat? :please:jul04:
[quote=\"NataTL\"]our haka yellow wine chicken....ask yr hubby pick it up from me? am serious - our family specality.

Eh, NataTL, you got hear the thick-skinned one oso asking you to pu pu her oso anot? :laugh:[/quote]Wei! Must bu bu then got energy to serach for Montesorri school mah :lol: -
Jul04, Hello! U interested in yellow wine chicken is it? What homework huh? What PM buds giving? You share with me la… if ok, I go kill the chicken now. Buds very kind sharing whatever she knows and post it in the forum to read. Not for her posting I would able to know so much abt monte.
Yes I read Ykidz provide this parent and child programme, not sure go or not.???
Buds, good day to u! The above u mentioned exist in which CC? Can share pleassssssssss. (if by you I sure go lor no matter how far and price is right)
Sign! Will only have do enrichment for Eng & Maths. Workgroup is a daily programme and very ex.
I went to the centre ya, the lady just blab blab what will be taught and lastly she just said one seat left. Woow all the sales talk and no personal touch at all turned me off
I feel practical & sensorial most cc comes with it as for cultural more or less is just dragonfly touch water??? Geography, history and continents cannot go too in depth, kid still not able grasp right? I’ll some time borrow books from library to intro about weather, life cycle and bugs
Hopes all these will make up for little of monte learning route…. Better than nothing… for pple not having monte nearby house.
Toddles, Hello! can share which cc yr kid go to? I know is east… no way for me to go there lor but just curious and envy u having the right choice. -
Hi NataTL
Haha not really homework lah. I don't know much about Montessori, so I asked buds for some books that I can read to learn a bit more. Then I can decide if I want to put my boy into a Montessori pre-nursery/kindy/childcare etc.
I'll pass you the list when she finally replies *HINT HINT* :lol: Then we can trade my list with your yellow chicken :drool: :lol:
You can call YKidz for a trial class. If you don't attend, you'll never know?
Anyway I shd be going for a trial class this Sat at Totsville. I'll come back here & share when I have time
jul04:
I'll pass you the list when she finally replies *HINT HINT* :lol:
Oii! :rant:jul04:
Gd for you! I'd go for the 1.5hr trial myself if i were you.Anyway I shd be going for a trial class this Sat at Totsville. I'll come back here & share when I have time

1 hour wee too short to share with so many other ppl.
How much for trial session... or issit free?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.