All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.9k Views 1 Watching
      jul04

NataTL:
      Buds, your that 'lian da li' swanging left and right a bit disturbing le ... ha ha ha!

I agree! I keep wanting to reach out & 'hop' them in case they snap :rotflmao:

NataTL

I was reading old threads, CS monte not bad? $1800 per term + 1/2 day super ex hor. No play ground no nothing… This monte I went earlier got one big gym + outdoor play ground. Big area open concept not noisy but am still hesitating about teachers… will need to find out more.

The reason MC was consider b’cos i gonna throw my #2 there, I have no time for him until he reach K1 and like to concentrate on my elder one. And I hope my #2 can pick up whatever from there. This school is bal of both. academic and play as claimed by the in-charge.

Those without worksheet har usually Play thru learn type. I prefer some worksheet so i know what they learning.
        When I was hvg my #1, me like him to play & play enjoy his childhood. But luckily he turns out to be love to learn. My elder learnt or know s lot already while he was in N1. So when I place my #2 in another Play thru learn type school, he learn nothing except songs & songs, play & play, story reading. He’s not learning or recognising ABC, Colours, 123. I very panicky. ( cos I compared the elder bro learnt so much and he don’t) Some more my #2 playful type I worried he xing hong hong don’t want to study.
        Anyway I’ll not choose play thru learn again. Even though they claim that teacher will watch & observe but most case not. Teacher just left them playing and they do something else. I prefer my kids to prepare attitude for learning then to play. I rather school teach, I supplement. Playing part I am very good already, I can do the job hee hee

jul04

Oh which Montessori did you send your No1 & 2 to? Only play & play & never learn? 😞

Haha I like the way you say you're very good at the playing already :lol:

jul04:

I got! I got the hints! :roll:

....Wait your turn awhile k. :please:

Ok.. waits (not patiently) *drums fingers* :rubhands:

Even my #3 can wait for me.. :politebleah:
            Oredi say my student:teacher ratio very high.. cheh.. :roll:
            Dis wan fussy parent leh.. This Saturday trial, the teacher sure :faint:.

Such in-depth information can only be given during my quiet time
            which is rare these days. I prefer to be clear when dishing out these
            kinda important stuff and not just shove you some books and let you
            be done with it. 😄 And since it IS homework for you, i must make sure
            i still remember the contents too! :lol: I've been outta force for some time
            liao leh.. good that y'all always keep me busy with all your interesting questions. :love:
            NataTL:
            our haka yellow wine chicken....ask yr hubby pick it up from me? am serious - our family specality.
            Aaaawww... :please: I'm so touched! 😢
            jul04:
            Wah! Sounds delicious! I'm not giving birth but can I eat? :please:
            Eh, NataTL, you got hear the thick-skinned one oso asking you to pu pu her oso anot?
            jul04:
            Wei! Must bu bu then got energy to serach for Montesorri school mah :lol:
            Yeeeah.. 😐 Right. :laugh:

NataTL:
              What homework huh?

She asked for it! :laugh:

Naah.. she wants to know some good Montessori books to prepare her
              to ask intelligent questions when she goes down to Montessori centres
              to do her preschool shopping. 😉
              NataTL:
              What PM buds giving?
              I never say i'm giving her PM leh. 😉
              NataTL:
              You share with me la… if ok, I go kill the chicken now. Buds very kind sharing whatever she knows and post it in the forum to read. Not for her posting I would able to know so much abt monte.
              No need kill chicken. You say oredi i belly kind. I will share here with all.
              Post on this thread okie? 😉
              NataTL:
              Buds, good day to u! The above u mentioned exist in which CC? Can share pleassssssssss. (if by you I sure go lor no matter how far and price is right)
              Good day to you too.. errr.. actually nite liao now. :lol:

The above is how \"I\" teach. 😉 No particular cc.
              Same way my staff will teach too. I've had the privilege of working with
              the best people in the line of duty over the years... but oh of course, some
              truly darn crappy ones that spoil not just the Montessori name, but ppl who
              give early childhood education & its educators a bad name. They are not
              suitable for this line at all in my opinion... and the children are the ones
              suffering at the end of the food chain. Poor things really. 😞
              NataTL:
              Sign! Will only have do enrichment for Eng & Maths. Workgroup is a daily programme and very ex.
              I have been approached actually.. a few parents and acquaintances have
              requested i include home-based workgroup in the works when i do intend
              to start anything from home.

But my home too small ah. :oops: Not conducive. Paiseh.
              NataTL:
              I went to the centre ya, the lady just blab blab what will be taught and lastly she just said one seat left. Woow all the sales talk and no personal touch at all turned me off
              I'd be turned off too if i were you. Many centres i went to did not even
              bother to ask my child's age and went ahead like you said.. blah blah away..

The better ones take time to ask my child's name.. age.. invite my child to
              go in to play.. or give my child something to work with while she chats with
              me.. At least that is what i usually do when i entertain parents who come to
              speak with me. :love: Must create interaction with child mah.. Want to do sales
              also must do properly la. The children are the real customers you know? :evil:
              NataTL:
              I feel practical & sensorial most cc comes with it as for cultural more or less is just dragonfly touch water???
              Well, it shouldn't. :rant:
              NataTL:
              Geography, history and continents cannot go too in depth, kid still not able grasp right?
              Ekhh.. *buzzer sound* Wrong! 😛

Aaaah... Never assume a child is an empty vessel. :idea:

Rule number 1 okay? Dun forget that. :love:
              NataTL:
              I’ll some time borrow books from library to intro about weather, life cycle and bugs. Hopes all these will make up for little of monte learning route…. Better than nothing.. for pple not having monte nearby house.
              Trust me, it will. If i have extra time which i don't really have right now.. :lol:
              I can give you some ideas what to do with your child. Fun stuff. 😉
              Buuuuttt.. must wait for my extra time. :oops:
              NataTL:
              Toddles, Hello! can share which cc yr kid go to? I know is east… no way for me to go there lor but just curious and envy u having the right choice.
              Toddles took some time and procrastinated over her choices as well.. plus
              the grandparents are the ones who are entrusted to bring her girl there.. but
              i'm not sure if they do have transport services there, do they Toddles? :idea:

NataTL:
                Me huh just came back from my hunt.....

Very accademic le this MMI, I go thru their N1,2 K1, 2 worksheets etc. no bad know..... How anyone got any comment on MMI bt merah branch but ... race 40% singh? But i don't care lor i prefer ACCADEMIC! Play, Exploration etc etc I'll do during weekend. Jul04, Toodles, Buds how le...... MindChamp suppose go down yesterday but changed to today and now i like cannot decide.....
                I don't have any comments on that particular branch for i've
                never been there. Eh 40% Singh teachers or students? :?

MMI has quite good curriculum and systematic worksheets.
                Only thing with MMI is the high turnover as many have complained here.
                Good teachers are hard to come by, hence the only advice i have for you
                is to go for a trial lesson. Actually the play part is also included in the routine
                mah.. the children should also be able to get their hands on manipulatives,
                puzzles.. blocks.. and the likes even in a Montessori centre. 😄

NataTL:
                Jul04, yr bb still small just go any monte which you think can take care well your girl. If not happy still can change ma
                Because the child is young lah all the more she belly fussy... err... very
                concerned i meant.. ehem.. abt where her child should be placed. Good
                education begins from young mah.. so, the search is now onz.

Everyone revert here after hunt hor. So everyone else also gets a slice of
                the cake.. and the dig in the dirt. :evil:

jul04:
                  I'm opposite from you. I don't want a school with lots of worksheets. If I want academic per Singaporean context, I'll go for Newton. I prefer learning 'broader' stuff, that's why I want Montessori.

Montessori has a balance of both. 😉

NataTL:
                    Teacher just left them playing and they do something else.

Learning thru' play when accomplished correctly nurtures children to be
                    confident speakers and children who can think out of the box.. has a
                    wealth of vocabulary.. creative.. hands-on.. as the kind of teaching
                    is not like *rote learning (*blackboard learning = teacher directed = i say, you do).
                    NataTL:
                    I prefer my kids to prepare attitude for learning then to play.
                    Wah-seh.. :celebrate:
                    NataTL:
                    I rather school teach, I supplement. Playing part I am very good already, I can do the job hee hee
                    Cute lar you! :lol:

jul04

Buds

I have a question about discipline in a Montessori. I think they don't call it \"discipline\" but you get what I mean right?

For eg, if the child starts to take the knobbed cylinders (*woot* I know the name leh, dun pray pray :nunchuk: ) and instead of trying to fit them into the right slots, starts to use them to knock violently on the wall/floor/table, what does the directress (again.. impressed by myself :preen: ) do?

Or if Child A takes Child B's materials away by force coz Child A doesn't want to wait for his turn, what does the directress do?

Not abt discipline but TLC now :

When a new child is dropped off, he'll prob start bawling unless he's the most confident, well-adjusted kid in the world. What does the directress do in that case?

jul04

NataTL:
                        Jul04, yr bb still small just go any monte which you think can take care well your girl. If not happy still can change ma

Because the child is young lah all the more she belly fussy... err... very
                        concerned i meant.. ehem.. abt where her child should be placed. Good
                        education begins from young mah.. so, the search is now onz.

Everyone revert here after hunt hor. So everyone else also gets a slice of
                        the cake.. and the dig in the dirt. :evil:
                        Yes, I'm concerned now becoz it's the \"golden period\" for my boy to absorb stuff now mah. I don't wanna miss the boat on his sensitive period, so to speak :lol:

And I really don't want to keep changing & hunting for new schools. I'm the kind of person who likes to know \"why why why?\" then I'll make an informed decision. I don't like to be rushed in my decisions (coz I'm ahem.. insecure) so I need lead time here! :imconstipated:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 80 / 165