All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.9k Views 1 Watching

NataTL:
      Me huh just came back from my hunt.....

Very accademic le this MMI, I go thru their N1,2 K1, 2 worksheets etc. no bad know..... How anyone got any comment on MMI bt merah branch but ... race 40% singh? But i don't care lor i prefer ACCADEMIC! Play, Exploration etc etc I'll do during weekend. Jul04, Toodles, Buds how le...... MindChamp suppose go down yesterday but changed to today and now i like cannot decide.....
      I don't have any comments on that particular branch for i've
      never been there. Eh 40% Singh teachers or students? :?

MMI has quite good curriculum and systematic worksheets.
      Only thing with MMI is the high turnover as many have complained here.
      Good teachers are hard to come by, hence the only advice i have for you
      is to go for a trial lesson. Actually the play part is also included in the routine
      mah.. the children should also be able to get their hands on manipulatives,
      puzzles.. blocks.. and the likes even in a Montessori centre. šŸ˜„

NataTL:
      Jul04, yr bb still small just go any monte which you think can take care well your girl. If not happy still can change ma
      Because the child is young lah all the more she belly fussy... err... very
      concerned i meant.. ehem.. abt where her child should be placed. Good
      education begins from young mah.. so, the search is now onz.

Everyone revert here after hunt hor. So everyone else also gets a slice of
      the cake.. and the dig in the dirt. :evil:

jul04:
        I'm opposite from you. I don't want a school with lots of worksheets. If I want academic per Singaporean context, I'll go for Newton. I prefer learning 'broader' stuff, that's why I want Montessori.

Montessori has a balance of both. šŸ˜‰

NataTL:
          Teacher just left them playing and they do something else.

Learning thru' play when accomplished correctly nurtures children to be
          confident speakers and children who can think out of the box.. has a
          wealth of vocabulary.. creative.. hands-on.. as the kind of teaching
          is not like *rote learning (*blackboard learning = teacher directed = i say, you do).
          NataTL:
          I prefer my kids to prepare attitude for learning then to play.
          Wah-seh.. :celebrate:
          NataTL:
          I rather school teach, I supplement. Playing part I am very good already, I can do the job hee hee
          Cute lar you! :lol:

jul04

Buds

I have a question about discipline in a Montessori. I think they don't call it \"discipline\" but you get what I mean right?

For eg, if the child starts to take the knobbed cylinders (*woot* I know the name leh, dun pray pray :nunchuk: ) and instead of trying to fit them into the right slots, starts to use them to knock violently on the wall/floor/table, what does the directress (again.. impressed by myself :preen: ) do?

Or if Child A takes Child B's materials away by force coz Child A doesn't want to wait for his turn, what does the directress do?

Not abt discipline but TLC now :

When a new child is dropped off, he'll prob start bawling unless he's the most confident, well-adjusted kid in the world. What does the directress do in that case?

jul04

NataTL:
              Jul04, yr bb still small just go any monte which you think can take care well your girl. If not happy still can change ma

Because the child is young lah all the more she belly fussy... err... very
              concerned i meant.. ehem.. abt where her child should be placed. Good
              education begins from young mah.. so, the search is now onz.

Everyone revert here after hunt hor. So everyone else also gets a slice of
              the cake.. and the dig in the dirt. :evil:
              Yes, I'm concerned now becoz it's the \"golden period\" for my boy to absorb stuff now mah. I don't wanna miss the boat on his sensitive period, so to speak :lol:

And I really don't want to keep changing & hunting for new schools. I'm the kind of person who likes to know \"why why why?\" then I'll make an informed decision. I don't like to be rushed in my decisions (coz I'm ahem.. insecure) so I need lead time here! :imconstipated:

NataTL

jul04:
                Buds

I have a question about discipline in a Montessori. I think they don't call it \"discipline\" but you get what I mean right?

For eg, if the child starts to take the knobbed cylinders (*woot* I know the name leh, dun pray pray :nunchuk: ) and instead of trying to fit them into the right slots, starts to use them to knock violently on the wall/floor/table, what does the directress (again.. impressed by myself :preen: ) do?

Or if Child A takes Child B's materials away by force coz Child A doesn't want to wait for his turn, what does the directress do?

When a new child is dropped off, he'll prob start bawling unless he's the most confident, well-adjusted kid in the world. What does the directress do in that case?
                You went for trail already? You very detail le. Can i follow your kid's monte school if you found one??? So I can free scouting around.

But again, shall we be more kumpong style? like let the chick eat anythings, run around freely, fell down etc don't kanchong? Kumpong chicken tastier isn't it?

NataTL

kids 40% singh race. Jul only 1 is it? very boabei good la if you have the time pls choose carefully so if 2nd 3rd come along no need to headache. Like me lor now, any dump them in bit panic cos k1 still want to change school.

NataTL

On MMI is the nearest, no prawns fish also good?

Toodles, toodles where are you??? (sing like the song fishes fishes where are you ) What school can share???

jul04

NataTL:
                      jul04:

Buds

You went for trail already? You very detail le. Can i follow your kid's monte school if you found one??? So I can free scouting around.

But again, shall we be more kumpong style? like let the chick eat anythings, run around freely, fell down etc don't kanchong? Kumpong chicken tastier isn't it?

No lah, my trial is this Sat am. I'll post my experience here to share k?

I haven't visited any Montessori school at all. Just read 1 book published in 1915 and some online googling abt Montessori šŸ˜‰

It's just that I find that the philosophy is very good, and it seems suitable for my boy. He has a very strong opinion abt things and likes to \"do do do\" all day - seems that the Montessori materials will let him \"do\" the whole day & stop messing up the hse :frustrated: :xedfingers:

I'm not really into teaching as in learn spelling, reading, do mental sums etc.. everyday do worksheets & worksheets.. Not at this age anyway! I want my boy to learn more things than that. I was from traditional schools obviously, and I went to a neighbourhood Pri sch, SAP sec sch, Top 5 JC & NUS - I can study & pass exams but I really lack in people skills and resourcefulness. I can analyse very well, but I can't find out things. I remember being young & asking \"why\", asking questions & being shot down by teacher for being so irritating & ill-disciplined & I was told to just DO IT. And now I am boring, traditional, scared old me šŸ˜ž

For the first few yrs, I'd like my boy to be spared these negative forces to learning. As for adapting to traditional Pri 1 school, aiyah! heck lah! He has the next 20 yrs to do that! šŸ˜“ šŸ™

As for not letting him study at all, cannot lah! ILs will spoil him rotten & he'll be stupid (as in cannot think) then how? I don't want to support him till I die 😢 So.. Montessori is good lah. less worksheets so not so \"study-ish\" but he's learning as he is \"doing\" things ( :evil: evil & sneaky mummy)

jul04

yeah I only have 1. So I'm a bit anal abt where to send my boy. Plus it has to be near my MIL's place in Toa Payoh - scully No 2 comes along, I'll need her help to look after No2, so the school can't be far away at my place in Sengkang right?

Anyway I've sort of made up my mind & will go for a trial on Sat to re-affirm my decision abt Montessori. Now I shall look ard for Montessoris near Toa Payoh. Then it's time for more trials again Argh! Never-ending headache :frustrated:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 81 / 165