All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 767.6k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      greenbean2011

hello kaushal26,

I not familiar with East Spring, nor Chong Zheng primary.

perhaps what you can do is - attend year end parents orientation day (POD), at both primary schools.

closer the time towards Term 4 - before the LAST day of Term 4 on 18 Nov 2011, call up both schools, find out when exactly is parents orientation day.

note - once yr end school vacation starts after 18 Nov 2011, P + teaching / admin staff go on holiday, no one will pick up yr phone call, no matter how long you ring.

from asking Principal, teachers, parents there qns on POD – once you clarify your doubts, then you in better position to know which school (ES or CZ) curriculum is higher standard, which CCAs you prefer, normally which Secondary schools do kids end up in from past statistics, etc.

note:
      there are 2 types of parents’ talk / briefing.

a)\tthe one conducted around year end Nov / Dec period is POD - for kids entering Primary 1.

b)\tthe other type conducted around beginning each year January is for detailed curriculum briefing for parents - for all levels from Pri 1 to Pri 6.

this is conducted only once a year, beginning January each year. The next time they repeat – will be January, the following year.
      go school website, check up online calendar when they conduct.

it is good to attend both types of parents’ briefing.
      why ? there is always Q&A at end of session.

from other parents’ concerned queries during Q&A, you can pick up a LOT, 阿great deal of info - about the school you intend to send yr child to.

then as you mingle around with P, teaching staff, plus other parents at higher level than yr kid, you get 1st hand insider news about the school, at yr finger tips.

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

greenbean2011:
        hello laughingcat,

thanks for yr info, sweetie pie !
        now parents can go Bishan and buy.

:rahrah:

how you find the books ?
        like them ?
        No problem lah.....must share mah.

Personally, I don't really like it leh....coz the pictures are abit too cartoon for my boy. :lol:

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

hot:
          tamarind:

For kids who do not like to read on their own, parents can establish a routine and ask them to read out loud for 15 minutes every day. It is also important to find good books with interesting story lines to develop a love for reading.

hi,

:?: When we tell kids to read out loud and on their own, do we need to assist them to sound out words that they cant pronoun or should we let them try blend the letter and read out themselves? As for my case, my kid tends to wait for me to give the sound of the word. But most times, I told him to try using phoinic method, only when he cant blend correctly I will then help. But I observation as he is relying on me to read, he is not putting effort to blend / read by himself. How?
          and when helping on the difficult words, should I teach him to sound the word in phoincs method or just read out the word to him.
          I think applying the phoinics techniques should be more appropriate, but there again, he is too dependent that a short para may need to pause for help for many times, till most times, I let out steam :x (impatience!) How?

Hi Hot,

On my personal sharing....hopefully it is of much help. Currently, my boy reads out on his own for up to 3-4 pages on Charlotte Web. He is now 4.4yrs old.

How did he come to this level? It all boils down to using phonics techniques and consistency and most important of all - patience. Initially we gave him alot of encouragement that he can do it on his own. Once he is able to do it and his effort makes him proud of his achievement and most importantly he is making mummy very happy. I reward him with lots of hugs and kisses and things that he wants such as toys, sweets, ice-cream and even trips. On my part, lots of lots of patience. :love:

Callie Tan

hot:
            Dear parents,

I hope parents could share your experience regarding the preparation for primary school and time schedule spend with your kids everyday.
            I have a son of 6 this year going to P1 next year.
            I would like to find out with parents things that you are doing with your child prior going P1, cos I do not want to react too kan-jiong or too relax in front of my child.
            I am particularly concerned about the 3 main subjects being taught in P1 and wonder should I expect him to be able to do the assessment books given him in order to be sure that he is ready for P1? How do I know he is ready?
            Currently, I am using the assessment books of English, Mathematics and Chinese to let him do at home. At times, he is doing both Chinese and English one after another, depending on the amount of time spent on each subject. If one of the subject has taken him too long, I will let him do other subject on another day.
            I wonder should I draft out a time table to both of us to follow? How to plan?
            How intensive should parents prepare for their kid prior P1?
            Heard that there is Pre-preparation workshop or class for Primary 1, where can I look for? Or is it necessary for kid to attend?
            Can parents share your time table for activities such as study and leisure with your child / children with me?

Thanks in advance!

regards
            My girl is in P1 this year.

Based on my experience, I think you are doing a fine job so far... As long as kids go to pre school, they are more or less ready for P1 because topics cover in first semester are very similar to what they will be learning in K2... I did buy some assessment books for my girl when she was in K2 because she had so much free time after school. Whether to draw up a time table is subjective... it definitely incultivate good habits which may be ideal when he starts P1.

Preparation for P1 courses start around aug so if you are keen you can keep a look out during that time, it's too early now. I did send my girl for P1 english preparation classes at TLL (thought it was good) and chinese and maths at other enrichment centres... I don't think it is necessary for such courses but if you have time and $$$, it is good curriculum to start early... As i mentioned, P1 work not so \"siong\" lah...

Daughter is in P1. The principal told parents that she wants P1s to enjoy the first year in school…so no work will be brought home. However she wants the girls to read both English and Chinese storybooks and one parent to speak English and the other to speak mandarin.

The worksheets brought home don’t seem to echo principal’s idea of relaxing P1 though. Anyway, I am revising what teachers have taught and reinforcing them. The important thing to do at p1 is to get kids to establish the love for reading.

Callie Tan

Daughter is in P1. The principal told parents that she wants P1s to enjoy the first year in school...so no work will be brought home. However she wants the girls to read both English and Chinese storybooks and one parent to speak English and the other to speak mandarin.

The worksheets brought home don't seem to echo principal's idea of relaxing P1 though. Anyway, I am revising what teachers have taught and reinforcing them. The important thing to do at p1 is to get kids to establish the love for reading.
                haha... couldn't agree more with you, janet_lee88! I was told not to be too uptight as P1 and P2 are still the honeymoon years but I look at the work and all the preparations etc, I think it's not true lor... I was away on business trip for 8 days and when I was back, there were so much to catch up!!!

• G Offline
                  greenbean2011

hi,

if any parent is keen to teach yr child at home montessori Mathematics, you can now sign up for the parents workshop that is coming up in March.

The montessori Maths syllabus cover from kindergarten level right up to Pri 3 level.

last year i attended montessori Phonics.
                  it was very good. now, i can teach my daughter Phonics at home, step by step.

so thought of sharing with all parents here that - there is one parents maths workshop coming up in March, over 4 Sunday afternoon:-

dates: 13th March, 20th March, 27th March and 23rd April 2011

refer more info here:-

http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

• G Offline
                    greenbean2011

hi all,

here is a parents workshop coming up in March, Sat morning, by experienced teaching professional:-

http://postimage.org/image/y23obpyc/

plum-cake

greenbean2011:
                      hi all,

here is a parents workshop coming up in March, Sat morning, by experienced teaching professional:-

http://postimage.org/image/y23obpyc/
                      Thankyou for sharing
                      😎

philipsteele

i get more valuable information from here,my brother have two children,his exam will start next week ,so its nice information i will give this tips to him.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 68 / 131

kicciK
                        kicci