Corporation Primary

981 Posts 59 Posters 308.7k Views 1 Watching
      Kabby

Hello \"old tjm\" πŸ˜‰ ,
      I was thinking, \"Got new member lioa, see who this is?\" And realise you have changed your sign in name.... :lol: Very unique lor - care to share how it comes about? Heee...me very kapoh hor.....

.........But one MISTAKE I saw - the vendor printed the school name as\"Cooperation Primary School!\" Asked my girl to tell the vendor tomorrow that they should be careful in their printing and that is the basis courtesy to show respect to the school. My girl was like,\"Huh, Mummy - you never Kiasu leh; this one you also noticed!\" :cheeky: Anyway, that just small little drama happened at home that I wanted to share with CPS parents....

Quite good deal in the book list - esp the famous all time favorite of lower primary: \"GERONIMO STILTON\" is selling at $8.00 a copy!!!! Chiong huh...haha...but my gal has almost the whole series so she is not excited lioa :laugh:
      haha, ya champion, you are my old buddy too.

yup, while thinking of usernames, i was thinking of my fav music. and of course cannot name myself jaychou or wat, pp will laugh at me.

kabalevsky is a russian composer. i like his pieces. of course, i also like mozart and beethoven but those are very common. must be special, otherwise the username might be taken up already. anyway, i just like to be special, ahahaha.

wow, how come i didn't receive the book fair advert?!?! i asked ds1, he didn't get it! is it tmr?

i just bought 2 Geronimo Stilton books from Popular for ds1's friend's birthday!!!! ahh!!!! one of them was $23+ cos it was hardcover. !!! argh!!! heart pain now. $8 is a good deal!

my son not interested in them, somehow, didn't catch on with him, but ya, his friends are all very into it.

should i just give him some money and get him to browse tmr?
      i am afraid he will buy Ben 10 books.... i can't help but think it is a waste of money to buy those which he will only read once. I tend to only allow him to buy classics or non-fiction types which he may refer to them repeatedly. (also cos our house is so small and there is no more space for too many books)

but it is so exciting though. i have a weakness for buying books too. i used to save a lot on kids' clothes cos boys have nothing much to buy. but now i have a lil princess, i started to develop a weakness for all things pretty too! everything looks so cute for lil girls!
      ok i am getting a bit OT now. better end the post. πŸ™‚

Champion

wow, how come i didn't receive the book fair advert?!?! i asked ds1, he didn't get it! is it tmr?

i just bought 2 Geronimo Stilton books from Popular for ds1's friend's birthday!!!! ahh!!!! one of them was $23+ cos it was hardcover. !!! argh!!! heart pain now. $8 is a good deal!
        Yes, the book fair is tomorrow, 22nd Feb & the day after 23rd Feb from 9am - 2pm by Readers' House. The normal Geronimo Stilton is selling at $8 each, Thea Stilton series @ $10 each. I guess the one you bought from Popular was the hardcover 320 pages selling $23.80 Retail price but they are selling at $18.00...Guess tomorrow recess time many students will gathered around the stall to grab for the best deal πŸ˜„

Kabby

Yes, the book fair is tomorrow, 22nd Feb & the day after 23rd Feb from 9am - 2pm by Readers' House. The normal Geronimo Stilton is selling at $8 each, Thea Stilton series @ $10 each. I guess the one you bought from Popular was the hardcover 320 pages selling $23.80 Retail price but they are selling at $18.00...Guess tomorrow recess time many students will gathered around the stall to grab for the best deal πŸ˜„
          Ya, you are right, but even the hardcover one has a good discount!
          You know, I just came home from Popular at JP 2 hours ago!!! Really, with those 2 books. Argh!!! If only!

Moral of the story: change my phone to iPhone, and check KSP forum every few min for updates, in case i miss important news like this!

Champion

You know, I just came home from Popular at JP 2 hours ago!!! Really, with those 2 books. Argh!!! [/quote]

Haha...Popular JP! I am controlling myself not to step in there too often πŸ™ Reason? I will end up in the Assessment Books section and tempting to buy more :?: Haha...

Kabby

You know, I just came home from Popular at JP 2 hours ago!!! Really, with those 2 books. Argh!!!
              Haha...Popular JP! I am controlling myself not to step in there too often πŸ™ Reason? I will end up in the Assessment Books section and tempting to buy more :?: Haha...[/quote]

hahahaha
              I don't have that temptation yet. Good thing CPS has no exams in lower Pr so I save money for the 1st 2 yrs. BUT I would need to brush up his Chinese. There is a test at the end of the yr, did you mention?

Champion

BUT I would need to brush up his Chinese. There is a test at the end of the yr, did you mention?

If I don't remember wrongly (Memory no good lah πŸ˜‰ ) - there will be SA2 only for the P1s & P2s.....But as of last year P2s SA2, my view was that it really not an ideal benchmark to stream the kids to P3s. Sorry, I don't mean to critise what the school's policy is but as I shared before - the top 2 P3 classes are a \"mixture\" of the top 80s in P2 but somehow the teachers' allocation are not \"of the equal standard\"! I am still hoping to see \"improvements\" after Term 1 or if not I guess many parents will speak out during the P-T-M.

Kabby

BUT I would need to brush up his Chinese. There is a test at the end of the yr, did you mention?

If I don't remember wrongly (Memory no good lah πŸ˜‰ ) - there will be SA2 only for the P1s & P2s.....But as of last year P2s SA2, my view was that it really not an ideal benchmark to stream the kids to P3s. Sorry, I don't mean to critise what the school's policy is but as I shared before - the top 2 P3 classes are a \"mixture\" of the top 80s in P2 but somehow the teachers' allocation are not \"of the equal standard\"! I am still hoping to see \"improvements\" after Term 1 or if not I guess many parents will speak out during the P-T-M.

For ds1, no more SA2 at all already. They kicked in the full MOE policy of no exams. So P1 no SA2. I was just wondering if for ds1 that means P2 also no SA2, but confirm this yr no CA or SA1. There are class quizzes and so on though.

Yes, I hope your girl's class situation can be ironed out soon. Must bring up if there are any issues, better to resolve early in the year.

Champion

Yes, I hope your girl's class situation can be ironed out soon. Must bring up if there are any issues, better to resolve early in the year.
                    Hi kabalesvsky,
                    Yes, I do hope that the situation can be ironed out soon...spoke to few of DD's classmates' parents and they also very \"pek chek\" with the situation now in the class. Nevertheless, we as parents are doing our parts so I hope the school will do hers too....

• E Offline
                      ExpatMom

It turns out that the teacher who ripped my son’s artwork was an external relief teacher. Once he was confronted about it, he expressed regret. At least I know that the school does not condone these tactics, and it is an isolated incident.

Dealing with high energy kids is always a challenge. My son has been in several schools overseas that did not understand how to deal with his activity level, and in some cases he suffered for it. But I have found programs both in Singapore and overseas that were also really good for him. The key is to have a structured environment. My kid usually only gets into trouble during the time he is left to freely do as he pleases. When you give him tasks and structure, he does much better.

That’s really strange that they would keep the Indian child in a Mandarin MT class when he’s not even taking Mandarin. It seems as though the he would be better suited to go to the library to read. I can imagine that it is pretty boring, as well as distracting for him to try to read while everyone else is learning Mandarin around him.

• E Offline
                        ExpatMom

hi expatmom, it's still me, your buddy who met up with you at jp, just that i didn't want my old username anymore.

just to let you know. πŸ™‚
                        I see you there. πŸ™‚ How did you change your username? I've been meaning to change mine but couldn't figure it out.

Funny thing about the account settings... when I tried to specify my citizenship, my country wasn't on the list. Go figure!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 99

White_ChrysanthemumW
                        White_Chrysanthemum