Q&A - P2 English
Hi Janet,Hi Champion,
Told hubby I don't want to go to Popular Expo in March and he asked me, 'Are you sure ? That is one expo sale you won't miss.'
I went to BookFest twice last year...first time just for a very short while as I was having a bad cough. Went 2nd time almost towards the end of it and got several good buys.
Know how I \"brain-wash\" myself? \"Oh, Expo too far lioa and sure many people will be there then I can't slowly comb thru the books. Ok, better don't go!\" :lol: So, lazy mummy like me will not travel far but controlling myself not to step into Popular Bookstore too often
But....if I read good recommendations from KiasuParents, then I will \"brain-wash\" myself,'Ok, it is a good buy - just get this one, Q at the cashier, pay & out I go!\" :laugh:
Janet, Can you advice me for the science book titles you normally get for your son. other than conquer.
Thanks. -
plum-cake:
For Science assessment, I get SAP as this publisher is much better. For some assessment books, the answers given at the back may be wrong, so do look out when you revise the topic after marking it.Janet, Can you advice me for the science book titles you normally get for your son. other than conquer.
Thanks.
Started off with Renee Chong, Mable Cheong and Helen Lee (EPH). Now using 'Learning Science' (lower/upp block) as well as Conquer Science, New Syllabus Science (Helen Lee), Oxford Primary Essentials by Teo-Gwan Wai Lan. -
Janet,
I have a suggestion and hope it will not impose too much of a trouble for you :idea: . Do you think you can create another thread:\" Janet Lee's recommendation of Assessment Books?\" I have been following a few threads and find that you have an extensive assessment books to share & recommend. Really appreciate your inputs. I guess all these are your experiences with DS and now going thru again with DD :hi5: -
Not imposing lah. I am just an ordinary mum buying assessment books through trial and error. Dare not start a thread on assessment books. I have banged my head against the wall for some assessment books though.Janet,
I have a suggestion and hope it will not impose too much of a trouble for you :idea: . Do you think you can create another thread:\" Janet Lee's recommendation of Assessment Books?\" I have been following a few threads and find that you have an extensive assessment books to share & recommend. Really appreciate your inputs. I guess all these are your experiences with DS and now going thru again with DD :hi5: -
Have to agree; Me too :stupid: on some Assessment Books that lelong lelong around the neighbourhood. Yes, we all learn thru trial and error and are now more selective in our choice of Assessment Books :celebrate:
Not imposing lah. I am just an ordinary mum buying assessment books through trial and error. Dare not start a thread on assessment books. I have banged my head against the wall for some assessment books though.Champion:
Janet,
Hi Champion,
With first one, absolutely have no idea how to buy assessment books at all…fortunately a friend of mine taught me to get Chinese ones. Then the kiasu in me ‘woke up’ and learnt to explore Popular often.
Along the way, realized some authors for Chinese write too difficult ones esp SAP publications), making son unmotivated to get work done. Go Popular again to comb through other publishers. Now using mainly Learners for Chinese assessment books.
As for Science, some authors like Mabel Cheong, Renee Chong and Helen Lee are not bad but questions do not really follow latest syllabus requirements…worse still, some answers given can be wrong.
Maths worse…I really wash my hands off completely teaching. My job for Maths is to make sure the assessment book follows the syllabus and ‘attacks’ the areas son is weak in.
When daughter moves up to P2, I will have to learn how and which assessment book to get again. Endless cycle. -
Yes, Janet I have to agree to what you have to say.....Exploring with DD1 makes me realise there are many many Assessment Books out there that are\"luring\" me to buy & buy BUT now I really make the effort to stand there and comb through every page. No point buying those too \"chim\" and she gets no motivation to attempt to it and then end of the year, pack and pass to someone else.Hi Champion,
With first one, absolutely have no idea how to buy assessment books at all...fortunately a friend of mine taught me to get Chinese ones. Then the kiasu in me 'woke up' and learnt to explore Popular often.
Along the way, realized some authors for Chinese write too difficult ones esp SAP publications), making son unmotivated to get work done. Go Popular again to comb through other publishers. Now using mainly Learners for Chinese assessment books.
As for Science, some authors like Mabel Cheong, Renee Chong and Helen Lee are not bad but questions do not really follow latest syllabus requirements...worse still, some answers given can be wrong.
Maths worse...I really wash my hands off completely teaching. My job for Maths is to make sure the assessment book follows the syllabus and 'attacks' the areas son is weak in.
When daughter moves up to P2, I will have to learn how and which assessment book to get again. Endless cycle.
I also noticed something - don't know whether you share the same sentiment: Those new publication esp it is the 1st publication and dated 2010 or 2011 - they tend to have many printing errors and the answers are incorrect. I experienced this while buying 2 books when DD1 was in P2 and told myself,\"Don't always go for the new publication - look thru the contents 1st!\" So this is also one of the lesson I learnt.
My DD2 is K2 this year and also being giving assessment books for her to practise on. Those that I bought are quite similar to the P1 syllabus so I hope she able to grasp the concept well before entering P1. Even the school itself is giving them writing that are like P1 std! Oh gosh, Singapore's education is really very chim
Hi Champion,
Some primary school authors write for preschool as well !!! Can you imagine the stress ? Y.F.Foo is a Maths author and he wrote ‘A Must Have Parent’s Guide. Preschool Maths Guide’.
I used to think getting ‘challenging’ problems will be good. How wrong I was. My son refused to get the questions done. So I got another one which has different levels of difficulties. He could do the Maths questions given and felt motivated. That’s why I dumped the idea of ‘Challenging Problems’ now.
I didn’t notice the printing errors in 2010/11 but the Science books are those I am more careful with now…it can make a difference between correct and wrong.
New may not be good. When I see new publications, I flip through and see how and what type of questions are asked, whether son has problems with his present school work and new assessment book can help him. I’m guilty of getting this new title last night, it’s called ‘Mastering Cloze’ by EPH. Avail from P3-6. What I like about this book is the sample answers given on why that particular option is to be used for that particular question. -
Thank you Dear. :salute:
For Science assessment, I get SAP as this publisher is much better. For some assessment books, the answers given at the back may be wrong, so do look out when you revise the topic after marking it.plum-cake:
Janet, Can you advice me for the science book titles you normally get for your son. other than conquer.
Thanks.
Started off with Renee Chong, Mable Cheong and Helen Lee (EPH). Now using 'Learning Science' (lower/upp block) as well as Conquer Science, New Syllabus Science (Helen Lee), Oxford Primary Essentials by Teo-Gwan Wai Lan.
I am going to get the P3 straight away. then I can see whats the syllabus and depth. Thanks for your help!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.