All About Montessori
NataTL:
Hi smurf, can you pls share which monte pre-school that you think is good? $1000 is for which school? If $1K this school can provides all under one roof learning apart from core curriculum they have music, cookery, speech & drama.
Buds school is the best lor...haha...
I haven't visit any sch with $1000 tag yet so no comments...but MFC is not bad for the location, teachers, full Montessori apparatus...they mixed age group, but also segregate children according to their ability. For example, if they think your child is more advanced that his or her age, they may put him or her to the next higher group rather than to his or her age group. Then he or she will learn more rather than being stuck at that level which he or she already know. That's the good thing. And they dun have uniform.
K1 or k2 already can write simple compo. They shouldnt have any problem coping with p1.
Only thing put me off is the hefty sch fee. $721 a mth is not a small amount, at least to me lah...I can only afford half of that.
Smurf
Actually i also don't know why MFC is so ex. I can't find much reviews on it either. But whatever i can find, is good. But it's almost like.. Hush hush. I sure hope it's not an exclusive atas school like etonhouse. I don't really feel comfortable with such an environment.
We're not rich either, so paying that amount of money requires some discipline and sacrifice of luxuries. Guess we only have 1, so feel more obliged and willing to splurge? -
So have u decided which sch to go for trial?

I’m going to Totsville just to look see.
I’m having maid probs so if ILs decide to do without a new maid, i’ll prob have to stash my boy at some CC or playgroup till next yr. If they want a new maid, i’ll continue the sat parent-child class till end of the yr v
I’ll check out MFC in detail for next yr. So much to do n the maid has to vex me! -
Hey, if u have time, can check this Montessori childcare at tots united. Very quiet environment, full Montessori. They have sch bus service also. So may be more convenient.
Brainkid:
I try larr.. :oops:Buds,
Thanks for your reply. :lol:
Dunno the reply helps anot..
Brainkid:
Isn't everyone a little bit kiasi?Problem with me as a parent is I AM KIASI. :oops:

Brainkid:
Fully understand what you mean. I did too.As my ds is currently under the care of my mom, I am only looking for a 2-4 hr playgroup.

So because i provide the care i don't need the care services of a childcare.
I love quiet afternoon sessions at some ccs and also the few hours pg setting.
I bought a few books for my mumsie to read to my girl when she was under her
care. ( I was then a FTWM ) I also bought educational CDs that i allowed my DD
to watch... bought some flashcards... and also educational toys for mumsie to play
with her. My daddie brought her cycling, swimming, playground and play football. :love:
So, we can actually indirectly suggest constructive activities for our moms to do
with our children at home while we are at work. It is how you say it or approach the matter that makes it work. Be diplomatic about it not force upon it.
Brainkid:
Mine did too. Dun worry larr..I want him to learn something rather than staying at home and hitting the pots and pans everyday.
Slowly mumsie and i also involved her with some cooking fun in the kitchen.
Montessori's Practical Life activities also involves the child in cultivating independence,
which includes pegging exercises, spooning beans, rice, pasta (etc)... and also pouring exercises
using jugs, funnels, beakers (etc)...Brainkid:
I see it in a postive way... that is to build my girls' immunities.BUT I am worried about sending him to Child Care Center because of the hygiene. I am kiasi he will fall sick in CC environment as there are more children.
I don't see how they can avoid getting ill at all and sooner or later they will
need to attend school anyhow... and to top it off, my elder is also asthmatic..
She's very resilient now. Many factors can make a child fall ill other than the 1st
few weeks of being in a confined environment where sooo many children congregate
at the same time.Brainkid:
The Ichiban i gave you is a kindergarten, not childcare.>So Ichiban and Amazing is out...

Brainkid:
Paiseh. I just list what i know. I cannot go around asking ppl what their faith is, right?>Hanis is muslim....Grrr....I am not keen on that kind of environment lei.
Just think of it, as the benefit for all kinda sharing okie dokie..
Brainkid:
No guru lar... gosh... no... :dowan:> CS..Sadly, he is in the once a week weekend program now. I wanted to transfer him to the daily program but there is no vacancy. Although the MD of CS was assuring me ds will have no problem switching to a daily class, it is a problem now...
So here I am finding alternatives and seeking help from the guru- YOU:laugh:
Just sharing experiences. :love:Brainkid:
Yup. Heard of it. But err not good ones.:oops: Do you have other recommendations? How about Seedlings Hub Montessori in Bt Panjang? You heard of it?
Brainkid:
I agree!It is not easy finding and enrolling the kid to a good montessori.When you find one good one, chances are vacancies are NIL. :stupid:
It's even harder to find GOOD Montessori centres to work in! :roll:
I'm very fussy as to where i work as well. :laugh: Muahahahaaa!Brainkid:
A good set up varies between parents.BTW, what is a good set-up for Montessori? For CS, they are putting kids between 1 1/2 to 3 1/2 together which I think is a big age range. Is this the way it should be?
That's why there are true Montessorians who go for the so called pure ones...
And there are those like me...
... the flexible ones. :love:
There are advantages in both varying age groups and also specific age groups.
I am not against either; though the teachings of the method goes for varying
age groups to work with one another with a minimum of the 3hr work cycle. -
Brainkid:
I reckon I need to stop that and I cant possibly tell my mom no to tv..so best to send him to learn something...for me...so long the schoolfees does not exceed $500/ mth...I think it is still acceptable.
Your budget is quite good. :evil:
:rubhands: -
NataTL:
I have been doing home-based since i became a SAHP.I'll still go around looking for monte learning.... me promise too to update. BTW, anyone considering pte monte programme to be conduct in the house? I saw in the advertisement, 6 yrs in london. So not sure is it her house all equipped with materials?
Buds howdy.... u can do so too right rent a room to conduct la. plsssss!!!
But only for enrichment. Hehee. :lol: Those also request from
frenz and recommendations by word of mouth. Plus i take in
case by case basis. Usually try to help those who have reali
exhausted all other means of help or special children who
are doing well fitting into mainstream schools.
I have had request for daily playgroup and even parent-child
sessions! :faint: But i no go London leh.. got equip with the
materials larr.. i oso no speaking London.. oni Singapore Eng
and eh.. that's not Singlish okay? :rotflmao:
I dun need to rent room. I oredi have spare room. :evil:
:lol: Please lah you all.. :lol:
Have class oso too far for you. Go concentrate on your pre-
school shopping / recce okay? Don't get distracted by the
pastures the other side of town. :laugh: Distance is one
of the major factors especially for a child that young.
hi buds,
:lol: Please lah you all.. :lol:
Have class oso too far for you. Go concentrate on your pre-
school shopping / recce okay? Don't get distracted by the
pastures the other side of town. :laugh: Distance is one
of the major factors especially for a child that young.
you're quite near me i think!
so, can open class???
please?
hi buds, you're quite near me i think!

*gulp*
Really arh?
Wait.. who are you again? Hehee.. :lol:kabalevsky:
:idea: Think first.. :idea:so, can open class??? please?

So far i only do enrichment phonics and math cos not too time consuming..
I lazy larr.. i enjoy my quiet time.. for myself.
Some more you all arh
all the fussy parents kind.. i scared lah.. :siam:
PS : What class are you looking for by the way? :love:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.