Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
    • cool_hiC Offline
      cool_hi

my 2mth old mynamar maid is getting better, & have much much more initiative, AFTER hubby had a LONG & serious talk with her, telling her what we didn’t like about her work & asked her+reminded her why she want to come here to work…& told her, if she doesn’t improve, we will send her back to agent/if she’s not happy, after what we told her, she can let us know & we can release her back…

After that night, she seemed to a totally different person!! take a lot of initiative to do work, quite attentive to my son, esp when he climbs up & down, she’s quite fast to run to him/attend to him…so I take it that she was initially simple being ignorant, as in she’s inexperienced & not aware of her job duties/what’s expected of her…

Just that, she’s still a bit blur, coz last week, she gave my 5 yr old girl RAW egg to eat!! just becoz my silly girl requested!! I heard the sound of a spoon hitting the bowl, & wondering who’s making the noise & went to check & got a shock! my girl eating the RAW egg!! if I not home, tink she will get diarrhoae end of the day!! I asked my maid, she just stare at me & smile & said my girl says she wants…sigh…didn’t really scold her, just told her NO RAW food, as in MEAT & EGGS!! coz will fall sick…hope she understand me!!(my funny girl likes raw carrots,lettuce,tomatoes etc…but RAW eggs??? my girl still insist it’s nice, BUT I told my maid can’t give in to all her requests!!)

Have another minor problem…can tell that she starting to bond with my kids,esp my 2yr old boy…but noticed she likes to kiss him on his cheeks…few weeks ago noticed & subtlely told her not to,told her reason is, in case she’s sick & passed virus to him…she kind of stopp doing it for past 2 weeks, but tis few days, noticed she kissed him again…what should I do? like a bit bad to tell her not to, coz I myself ALWAYS, EVERYDAY, will kiss my son…BIG KISS somemore…so like a bit hard for me to tell her politely leh…scared she not happy…how ah??

hquek

cool_hi:
        Just that, she's still a bit blur, coz last week, she gave my 5 yr old girl RAW egg to eat!! just becoz my silly girl requested!! I heard the sound of a spoon hitting the bowl, & wondering who's making the noise & went to check & got a shock! my girl eating the RAW egg!! if I not home, tink she will get diarrhoae end of the day!! I asked my maid, she just stare at me & smile & said my girl says she wants...sigh..didn't really scold her, just told her NO RAW food, as in MEAT & EGGS!! ........

Have another minor problem..can tell that she starting to bond with my kids,esp my 2yr old boy..but noticed she likes to kiss him on his cheeks..few weeks ago noticed & subtlely told her not to,told her reason is, in case she's sick & passed virus to him..she kind of stopp doing it for past 2 weeks, but tis few days, noticed she kissed him again..what should I do? like a bit bad to tell her not to, coz I myself ALWAYS, EVERYDAY, will kiss my son..BIG KISS somemore..so like a bit hard for me to tell her politely leh..scared she not happy..how ah??
        Good to hear your maid is working out for you. i find that where I can open and close one eye, it makes for a better life. My Myan maid also quite good - in that when I help out in the chores, she will come by and say, NO, ma'am, I DO.

And yes, there are things I can faint - I gave her some clothes peg to keep and pointed to some more that were left on the table...our friend only kept the ones I gave her. I washed toilet and asked her to dry up for me, she ok. But the shampoo bottles etc that I put outside the toilet remained there. I take it in stride - didn't reprimand her becos she didn't do wrong. It's funny in retrospect (she doing exactly what I told her); but it's a bit amazing how she cannot exercise that little bit of extra.

Anyways, come back to kids, I think you should be happy that she's bonding well with your kids. Would you prefer she heck care your kid or if she like your kid? As long as she only kiss the cheek, I think that's ok. Any further, you should get a myan person (eg from agent?) to explain that some places are forbidden - only mummy territory.

But at the end of the day, you are the mummy, if you don't like, I think just tell her neutrally and nicely - perhaps even jokingly a bit that you will get jealous.

micollh

cool_hi:

Just that, she's still a bit blur, coz last week, she gave my 5 yr old girl RAW egg to eat!! just becoz my silly girl requested!! I heard the sound of a spoon hitting the bowl, & wondering who's making the noise & went to check & got a shock! my girl eating the RAW egg!! if I not home, tink she will get diarrhoae end of the day!! I asked my maid, she just stare at me & smile & said my girl says she wants...sigh..didn't really scold her, just told her NO RAW food, as in MEAT & EGGS!! ........

Have another minor problem..can tell that she starting to bond with my kids,esp my 2yr old boy..but noticed she likes to kiss him on his cheeks..few weeks ago noticed & subtlely told her not to,told her reason is, in case she's sick & passed virus to him..she kind of stopp doing it for past 2 weeks, but tis few days, noticed she kissed him again..what should I do? like a bit bad to tell her not to, coz I myself ALWAYS, EVERYDAY, will kiss my son..BIG KISS somemore..so like a bit hard for me to tell her politely leh..scared she not happy..how ah??

Good to hear your maid is working out for you. i find that where I can open and close one eye, it makes for a better life. My Myan maid also quite good - in that when I help out in the chores, she will come by and say, NO, ma'am, I DO.

And yes, there are things I can faint - I gave her some clothes peg to keep and pointed to some more that were left on the table...our friend only kept the ones I gave her. I washed toilet and asked her to dry up for me, she ok. But the shampoo bottles etc that I put outside the toilet remained there. I take it in stride - didn't reprimand her becos she didn't do wrong. It's funny in retrospect (she doing exactly what I told her); but it's a bit amazing how she cannot exercise that little bit of extra.

Anyways, come back to kids, I think you should be happy that she's bonding well with your kids. Would you prefer she heck care your kid or if she like your kid? As long as she only kiss the cheek, I think that's ok. Any further, you should get a myan person (eg from agent?) to explain that some places are forbidden - only mummy territory.

But at the end of the day, you are the mummy, if you don't like, I think just tell her neutrally and nicely - perhaps even jokingly a bit that you will get jealous.

my previous maid used to be like that.. i thought is my instruction not clear, cant she be more automatic, i scolded her that time.. now, i think i should \"accept\" that this is most maid's style of working.

my current maid is when remember then do.. she can don't do things that i don't remind her.. and let the place get dusty..

i feel having maids sometimes make me a bad person as i have to scold or raise my voice at her cos cannot tahan ! i used to be more calm than now.. sigh. life will be shorter like that

hquek

micollh:

my previous maid used to be like that.. i thought is my instruction not clear, cant she be more automatic, i scolded her that time.. now, i think i should \"accept\" that this is most maid's style of working.

my current maid is when remember then do.. she can don't do things that i don't remind her.. and let the place get dusty..

i feel having maids sometimes make me a bad person as i have to scold or raise my voice at her cos cannot tahan ! i used to be more calm than now.. sigh. life will be shorter like that
            My 2 prev maids (Indo) used to exercise their discretion - in the WRONG direction. Eg they will clear away the dishes without checking even though I wanted the soup. I grew to realise that I am the sort who rather handle those manual mode type of maids. That be said, this current one is a bit too manual.

But as my hubby puts it, if never do or wrongly done, just tell her and make her do again and again...she should get the point eventually to do it right the first time round.

I usually don't raise my voice at them. Only when it's very serious or compromise safety of my kids then I will raise my voice. No choice...nowadays all very fragile..I don't want to have to wander around the neighbourhood to find a runaway maid.

peapot

ccol-hi, I thought it was kind of sweet that the maid kiss the child. I haven’t got a maid before that will kiss my girl. It was usually my girl who will kiss the maid.

I thought your maid was rather sweet. At least it shows she loves the child. For me I don’t mind as long as the kiss stays on the cheek or forehead and not on the lips.

My girl also kiss the maid on the cheek. I thought it would be nice if the maid also kiss her cheek back. Ha…but it never happen.

peapot

LKVM, I ever enquire 2 years back from Topmaids. I think they specialise in Myanmar maids. The boss is Ang Moh and the wife is from Myanmar.

They told me that their maids are given off day and during off day, their maids will return to their house where there’s a church nearby. So their off day gathering is usually near the church which is near their house, so pretty safe according to them.

But I never get any maid from them because at that time of enquiry they couldn’t supply me a maid on time as I was in a hurry to get a maid. So, I went elsewhere.

moonee

Does anyone know about the maid agency TopMaids?

I called them 9 months ago, a mynmar lady answered, spoke good english, she mentioned that she goes down to MOM and will pop by my home with biodatas... waited for her call, she didnt turn up nor call me. i called her the next day and she mentioned that she was tied up at MOM and will come by my place the following day, played me out again and never heard frm her. I dont have a very good impression of this agency.
                  You can try checking them out, have u tried calling?

• raynregR Offline
                    raynreg

also other thing is they r taking 10 months loan upfront... :!:

Woah :shock: that's like working on a 2 years contract but received only 1 year of pay. These agents are really squeezing them dry. How much is their monthly pay of Myanmar helpers. The 10 months loan is definitely going to be more as compared to either Indo or Phili.

• G Offline
                      gumiho

Does anyone has Trustable Maid Agency to intro ?

Preferably located in the east area.
                      Looking for Filipino Maid, don’t mind Myanmar maid who can speak understandable english.

• raynregR Offline
                        raynreg

Ya boy…if there is such an agency, all the mummies on this forum would make a dash for their service. No need to rant here.

Recently select a phili helper and I’m keeping my fingers cross and praying hard that I’ve made the right choice.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 404 / 1032