All About Montessori
[quote]I prefer drop-off programmes. For my children and for my lessons too.
really?
but my dd is still so young. i prefer to drop off only at 3. haha.
cos i intend to wean her only when she is 3, or is she would want to wean earlier, fine. but my ds2, i had to wean him at 3. so he was ready to go to school only after that.
fully breastfed and with sahm, tend to be more sticky...
also if i am there, just sitting at the corner, they are happy, independent and confident.
if i disappear, at 18mth, she won't know if i will be back, she will bawl through the lesson. not nice for the tr and the other kids too, right?
[quote]So, how much were their fees? [/quote]checked the paper, $220 for 5x, 2 hours per session. it's per month.
[quote]Alamak.. dun liddat lar. You dunno my style of teaching oso right?
Plus it is just a small spare room used as my work room. Nothing spacious..
airy.. or cheerful about it.. HDB mah.. how cheerful are HDB flats. :lol:[/quote]dunno style, but you wrote so much here. after i saw this thread, i read all the pages dutifully.... i also read some of your articles before. so know your style roughly.
aiyah, now main factor is the distance. so far. very difficult cos my dd sit in the car seat 5 min will start to want to come out and sit with me. so rest of journey she will be crying. if i drive long distance, i stress myself.
so must wait lor. i wrote to Montessori Children House, ask them to consider setting up a branch in Jurong West, hahahaha. I say I like their style. they say very difficult, cos they are there for 22 yrs already, still 1 center, they like to keep it small and cosy.
i say, still can consider. told them Jurong West full of young families, all preschools are packed to the gills, long waiting lists too. Very few or no true Montessori, so they should.
maybe you should move to JW too. hahahaha -
Hey Buds,
Just want to ask u something. I saw a Montessori grammar apparatus (dunno what u call that), supposedly to teach elementary students grammar. I saw this at a Montessori sch and was quite impressed with the sch that uses it.
Is this tool widely available in other sch? So far, I didn't see this in some of the schs I visited. So I wonder if this is commonly used. :? -
smurf:
Which one issit that you saw?Hey Buds,
Just want to ask u something. I saw a Montessori grammar apparatus (dunno what u call that), supposedly to teach elementary students grammar. I saw this at a Montessori sch and was quite impressed with the sch that uses it.
The Farm Box...
http://www.postimage.org/
or The Grammar Kit...?
http://postimage.org/image/2d1bvtfus/smurf:
The effectiveness of delivery of the Montessori Method is to really useIs this tool widely available in other sch? So far, I didn't see this in some of the schs I visited. So I wonder if this is commonly used. :?
all its materials / apparatus for its intended purpose and the variation
exercises that come with them.
I cannot say whether it is widely
available or widely used as i did not recce ALL or that many
Montessori centres in Singapore to make a fair judgment.
But yes, a centre should have these as it is a follow up to the Montessori
Phonics programme... to introduce simple grammar skills to the children.
Hope this clarifies. :celebrate: -
Thanks Buds! :celebrate:
But I saw these:
http://www.adenamontessori.us/global/product.php?cid=3&offset=20&gclid=CN_7v4ajoqcCFcV66wodFG61BA
The noun, verb symbol. I heard that they are introduced to kids at elementary sch, so that explains why pre schs dun have? That's what I heard from the sch that uses it. :? -
I managed to find this interesting article that tries to summarise what Montessori is all about & present it to the layman in as simple a form as possible. Might be worth a read
I browsed through quickly & found it really helpful.
http://www.montessori.org/sitefiles/montessori_101_nonprintable.pdf -
Lurve the reads at the Montessori link, jul04! :please:
:thankyou: -
:dowan: Just sharing some info, coz I understand starting from scratch & not knowing anything abt Montessori and thinking that it's so weird & arty-farty quackhouse :oops:Lurve the reads at the Montessori link, jul04! :please:
:thankyou: -
I'm finally going for a trial at Totsville Montessori this Sat. Will update here again
Contemplating whether to go for the trial at Ykidz next Sat :lol: -
jul04:
Jul04,I'm finally going for a trial at Totsville Montessori this Sat. Will update here again
Contemplating whether to go for the trial at Ykidz next Sat :lol:
May i know how old your child is? Joining the PG or workgrp? -
Anyone knows any other Montessori sch in serangoon?I have visited some of the good ones but yet to find one that is very good and within my budget. Good ones are out of budget and some which is not what I want is within.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.