All About Montessori
If the timing is not to my advantage, I would need a sch bus.
Lumiere, totsville, are the only Montessori sch that I have seen cheerful children with cheerful kids, especially totsville. But totsville classroom is too small.
smurf:
Does Totsville have sch bus? Coz they're within budget, have cheerful kids & you've sent your No. 1 there before right?If the timing is not to my advantage, I would need a sch bus.
Lumiere, totsville, are the only Montessori sch that I have seen cheerful children with cheerful kids, especially totsville. But totsville classroom is too small.
Nope, ds1 was with Marymount kindergarten.
Totsville doesn’t have sch bus coz it’s still a very small kindergarten. -
Oh i thought your son was at totsville then u transfered him to mmk? Thought you mentioned he prefered totsville coz over there there was no need to wait his turn, just go in n pick materials n start. I must have rem wrongly :oops:
[quote]I prefer drop-off programmes. For my children and for my lessons too.

really?
but my dd is still so young. i prefer to drop off only at 3. haha.
cos i intend to wean her only when she is 3, or is she would want to wean earlier, fine. but my ds2, i had to wean him at 3. so he was ready to go to school only after that.[/quote]I prefer my children be independent as soon as they can.
The whole idea of gg pre-school IS to un-sticky them isn't it?
I am also a SAHP and love my kiddies to bits, but i dun like koalasfully breastfed and with sahm, tend to be more sticky...
sticking on me too long. :lol: I encourage early independence as
much as possible so they learn to take care of themselves even
when i'm not around with them.. learn to deal with things all on
their own.. plus i find they learn better without me around.
Mine bawled too. But as an educator who usually try to wean the parents[also if i am there, just sitting at the corner, they are happy, independent and confident. if i disappear, at 18mth, she won't know if i will be back, she will bawl through the lesson. not nice for the tr and the other kids too, right?
off from the kiddies... i left mine with a brief goodbye... told her when da
clock showed 12 o'clock i'll be at the doorstep of the centre to wait for
her hug... and told her to have fun. :love: She cried buckets the first
day. 2nd day she cried less and 3rd day didn't cry but refuse to join
in.. read=didn't participate in anything. :lol: I kept my word & was
punctual thru out the week and she finally told me the following
week that she can't wait to go to school that morning.
Settle. :celebrate: The fact that i knew the operator
and the staff well also helped with my decision to
leave my girl the minute i dropped her off.
I got a :salute: from my friend (the operator) & the staff for my
gung-ho-ness in leaving my first born behind just like that.
With #2, took longer as she saw me working around with other
children. She asked to be in the class i was teaching instead. :lol:
She wud be fine when she didn't see me but started screaming for
me when she did. She was such a chubby wittle cutie pie, it was kinda
painful to see her cry like that but again great teachers whom i also knew
and entrusted my girl to them entirely. They did great with her and she did
super in the end that when she left after graduation, they insisted we all
keep in touch. :love:
[quote]Alamak.. dun liddat lar. You dunno my style of teaching oso right?
Plus it is just a small spare room used as my work room. Nothing spacious..
airy.. or cheerful about it.. HDB mah.. how cheerful are HDB flats. :lol:[/quote]kabalevsky:
Wah-sei.. :salute: You can size me up that easy!dunno style, but you wrote so much here. after i saw this thread, i read all the pages dutifully.... i also read some of your articles before. so know your style roughly.

Actually i oredi had my hands full before i realised i was preggie.maybe you should move to JW too. hahahaha
My slots were filled for the coming year but with the move, most
were unable to travel and my timing was limited as i do not want
to infringe on time with my girls for both play & work so i only
offered very few slots for when they were in school or having
their PM nap..
I had requests for baby sitting too like day-care but a bit much
to do since i am alone without help. So i didn't take it up.
I managed two special cases till completion and then i moved
up North. JW i find, is far from everywhere so didn't consider
that area at all. Plus JW really IS crowded! D'ya know how
tough it is to take the train to anywhere from Jurong area?
:faint:
Full to the brim to the extent of ppl shoving around!
[quote]I prefer my children be independent as soon as they can.
[/quote]I guess so, at 3yo. 18mth to me, still a bit early. My no pay childcare leave ends when she is 3, and I'll be ready (note, it is \"I\" :)) to let her go alone then.
[quote]I am also a SAHP and love my kiddies to bits, but i dun like koalas
sticking on me too long. :lol: [/quote]I also don't like. sob sob.
But cos I don't have helper or other help, dd has seen mostly me since birth. In fact, a large part of the day, it's just me she sees, so she's a big big koala.
You don't know how happy I am for her brothers to come home from school (even though they are so noisy), cos it means they can distract her for some time!
Your elder kids went to preschool so early too?
My ds1 started at 3yo but at that time I was working and mil said it was too traumatic for her (note: it is \"her\", not ds1) to send him to school when he cries every time she has to drop him off. So we took him out, and started him at 4, and only 2x a week, 3hrs in the morning only.
He only truly started kindy at 5. But he took to it like fish to water.
ds2 was 3 at that time, so he wanted to go to school like big brother. No problem for ds2 then, since he was the one who wanted to go. Hence for me, ds2 started \"earlier\".
I've been a SAHM for 4 yrs liao, 2 more yrs and it will end. I think I will treasure it and just teach her myself, if I can't find somewhere suitable, and since you have moved further off! I thought CCK was still ok.
[quote]I got a :salute: from my friend (the operator) & the staff for my
gung-ho-ness in leaving my first born behind just like that. :D[/quote]Indeed, not easy! So I salute you too!
(I dk why i cannot use the emoticons, I click click click, cannot, otherwise can be like u, use so many.... hehe)
I[quote] had requests for baby sitting too like day-care but a bit much
to do since i am alone without help. So i didn't take it up.[/quote]yup, can imagine! totally understand. pat your back.
me too, 2 older kids plus this not so small baby, but still baby. ugh...
too much work! too little time!
JW is crowded indeed. I don't like crowds too. But my family and friends are all around this area, so it was a natural choice for me when we bought our flat. Also, flats are so cheap here when we were buying, we paid it off fully within 4 yrs, no need long long loan, save on interest.
Which is why even though DH not a super earner, I can stay home lah.
So JW has its benefits.
Abt schools, true, not that many choices of good schools at certain levels (only tertiary lvl, 2 unis in the west...). I think for preschool the crunch is worst.
Pr sch, also quite bad. Too many schools bursting and over subscribed. But Sec sch, River Valley just moved here, so it's a possible good school choice. haha. Thinking too far huh? And anyway, getting Off Topic liao.
nvm, maybe someday can get together just for playdates, if not classes!
[quote]I prefer my children be independent as soon as they can.
[/quote]I guess so, at 3yo. 18mth to me, still a bit early. My no pay childcare leave ends when she is 3, and I'll be ready (note, it is \"I\" :)) to let her go alone then.
[quote]I am also a SAHP and love my kiddies to bits, but i dun like koalas
sticking on me too long. :lol: [/quote]I also don't like. sob sob.
But cos I don't have helper or other help, dd has seen mostly me since birth. In fact, a large part of the day, it's just me she sees, so she's a big big koala.
You don't know how happy I am for her brothers to come home from school (even though they are so noisy), cos it means they can distract her for some time!
Your elder kids went to preschool so early too?
My ds1 started at 3yo but at that time I was working and mil said it was too traumatic for her (note: it is \"her\", not ds1) to send him to school when he cries every time she has to drop him off. So we took him out, and started him at 4, and only 2x a week, 3hrs in the morning only.
He only truly started kindy at 5. But he took to it like fish to water.
ds2 was 3 at that time, so he wanted to go to school like big brother. No problem for ds2 then, since he was the one who wanted to go. Hence for me, ds2 started \"earlier\".
I've been a SAHM for 4 yrs liao, 2 more yrs and it will end. I think I will treasure it and just teach her myself, if I can't find somewhere suitable, and since you have moved further off! I thought CCK was still ok.
[quote]I got a :salute: from my friend (the operator) & the staff for my
gung-ho-ness in leaving my first born behind just like that. :D[/quote]Indeed, not easy! So I salute you too!
(I dk why i cannot use the emoticons, I click click click, cannot, otherwise can be like u, use so many.... hehe)
I[quote] had requests for baby sitting too like day-care but a bit much
to do since i am alone without help. So i didn't take it up.[/quote]yup, can imagine! totally understand. pat your back.
me too, 2 older kids plus this not so small baby, but still baby. ugh...
too much work! too little time!
JW is crowded indeed. I don't like crowds too. But my family and friends are all around this area, so it was a natural choice for me when we bought our flat. Also, flats are so cheap here when we were buying, we paid it off fully within 4 yrs, no need long long loan, save on interest.
Which is why even though DH not a super earner, I can stay home lah.
So JW has its benefits.
Abt schools, true, not that many choices of good schools at certain levels (only tertiary lvl, 2 unis in the west...). I think for preschool the crunch is worst.
Pr sch, also quite bad. Too many schools bursting and over subscribed. But Sec sch, River Valley just moved here, so it's a possible good school choice. haha. Thinking too far huh? And anyway, getting Off Topic liao.
nvm, maybe someday can get together just for playdates, if not classes!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.