All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.2k Views 1 Watching

Heyya jul04, sad to hear your review with regards to your trial. While the absence of other children may have contributed to the solemn and somewhat not-so-cheerful first time for all of you, the manner in which the directresses could engage children is also important. With your homework and research, i am proud to announce here that i do find you are more than ready to make a fair basic assessment of what to look out for in your recce and your future trial sessions. I too was somewhat disappointed to note your thoughts and had to read the review twice just so that it would sink in and so that i could visualize the entire hour and a half and put myself in your shoes and of course your boy's shoes too for that matter.

The flow of the lessons can be more engaging and also involving the parents in the process, with or without other parents and children.

Oh dear... right now as i'm typing this, i'm going... hmmm... :idea:... mebbe i could do a trial session for you? 😐

But mine definitely won't be free lor. :rotflmao:

smurf

Wow, Buds doing trial session! šŸ˜‰

smurf

Wanna check on the sound 'a'. Why different phonics method has different sounds for the letter 'a'? :?

When I listen to Ants on the apple, the sound is 'ah'. Whereas when I listen to letterland, the sound is 'air'?? :?

Depending on the slang or the accent of the speakers

in the respective countries. šŸ˜‰ You choose if you
            want your child to say the word glass with the
            \"ah\" sound or glass with the \"air\" sound. šŸ˜‰

As long not the singlish \"grass\" sudah.. :faint:

jul04

While the absence of other children may have contributed to the solemn and somewhat not-so-cheerful first time for all of you, the manner in which the directresses could engage children is also important.

Hmm.. I'm not that confident that I'm making an absolutely fair assessment coz I'm still a newbie & untrained in Montessori. So I guess I could give them the benefit of the doubt. But personally, I find that it's not for me. I dunno if I'm asking too much as what I've read abt Montessori on the Net are all pretty US-based, and the books I've read are either published in 1910s or by Maria Montessori herself :lol: All I can say is, it's not for ME. It could be a good class for other parents šŸ˜„
              [quote]With your homework and research, i am proud to announce here that i do find you are more than ready to make a fair basic assessment of what to look out for in your recce and your future trial sessions. [/quote] :dowan: Aiyoh don't do me paiseh lah :oops:

I'm just a beginner. In fact, I'm only on my 2nd book, \"The Discovery of the Child\" by Maria Montessori. Heavy going man! And I'm not really READING reading.. It's too much for someone who just wants to understand, not to become a Directress šŸ˜› I just plowed through the section on Seguin's method of teaching children how to write using geometrical drawings 😢 :nosebleed: šŸ˜“ Only halfway through & the loan period from NLB's almost up :lol:

Seriously though, could the Montessori method have changed so much over time or geographical location that it makes what I read inapplicable? I mean, are my expectations unreasonable? Coz when I went to Character, Amazing Star & Modern International... they seem so un-Montessori šŸ˜ž Am I looking for something that isn't available in Spore?

And please! I'm not well-versed at all! I have a knack of smoking & looking really confident, like I really know what I'm talking abt :rotflmao: :siam:

[quote]Oh dear... right now as i'm typing this, i'm going... hmmm... :idea:... mebbe i could do a trial session for you? 😐

But mine definitely won't be free lor. :rotflmao:[/quote]Hey! I'd like a trial! Then I can see if I can relate my readings to the real world :love:

jul04

Describe the book to me, jul04? :please:

Er.. I wasn't paying that much attention to the book. Too busy looking at my boy & judging his reaction & managing my disappointment at the same time.

It's an A4-sized, portrait-orented book. It's very colourful with each page covering 1 alphabet.

For eg, there would be a page with bouncing balls as the picture for 'B'. The alphabet would be printed on the top left/right corner of the book in large font, superimposed on the picture. \"Balls are bouncing\" are printed on the bottom of the page, sort of like a caption.

Something similar for \"Lizards are leaping\".

Oh something funny... For 'X', the picture's on a goat behind an X-ray machine with his rib bones viewable on the X-ray screen. The phonetic sound for 'X' was \"kirst kirst kirst\".. I always thought it's \"sss\"? Hmm? :scratchhead: Chaim lah, like that how to teach my boy Phonics? :roll:

smurf

Hey jul04,

That's why I was hesistating whether to immerse ds2 in Monte or not. Coz what I used to know (last time), was that kids in Monte only know how to play play play. Not academical inclined. Furthermore, I read that some kids graduated from Monte cannot fit into the p1 schools environment. That got me worried.

After that, I decided to find out more about Monte, and visited SG Monte. I was very surprised with the standard they have.(academic, not values, etc).

Addition to that, tamarind also sent her gal to Monte phonics before, so I think the phonics is probably very good.

But I must say that I'm not so sure about the value they impart to kids, for church, at least we know, church usually teach children to do good, etc, but for Monte, I dunno. That's what I'm trying to find out. Maybe Buds can tell us more about this area?

šŸ˜‰

jul04

smurf:
                    Hey jul04,

That's why I was hesistating whether to immerse ds2 in Monte or not. Coz what I used to know (last time), was that kids in Monte only know how to play play play. Not academical inclined. Furthermore, I read that some kids graduated from Monte cannot fit into the p1 schools environment. That got me worried.
                    Uh uh, definitely not play play play. They are working, & very hard too. You shd see the kids in MFC. :please: At least, if the school follows most of Montessori's teachings, it's very impressive work. Honestly, when I read abt the materials they use & what they're supposed to do with them, I was like.. I cannot do this! šŸ˜“ Maybe I shdn't send my boy to Montessori else he'll think his mummy is really tooopid coz she cannot build pink towers or arrange 64 colours by colour & shade šŸ˜“ :lol:

As for adjusting to P1, I have my worries too. But I figured, what the heck! He's gonna be in school for the next 20+ yrs of his life. Plenty of time to adjust. I'll be less exacting in mt standard for the first yr since I know he is \"adjusting\" :lol:
                    [quote]After that, I decided to find out more about Monte, and visited SG Monte. I was very surprised with the standard they have.(academic, not values, etc).

Addition to that, tamarind also sent her gal to Monte phonics before, so I think the phonics is probably very good. [/quote]I think Montessori Phonics & Math is universally acclaimed for their effectiveness. But personally I'm more impressed by their sensorial training. I am not a very 'sensorial' person and I hope my boy can do better than me. Rote learning.. again, plenty of years for him
                    [quote]But I must say that I'm not so sure about the value they impart to kids, for church, at least we know, church usually teach children to do good, etc, but for Monte, I dunno. That's what I'm trying to find out. [/quote]Montessori was Catholic, ya know? She mentions a lot abt spirituality in her book, but that was the context then, these days, I'm pretty sure they try to detach themselves from religion.

In any case, they emphasise on self-control, peace, silence, cooperation, care for your friends & environment.. When I was at MFC, I saw a young gal helping a younger child with a material. It was so cute! She was like a mini-teacher & she made the boy walk 10 times back & forth to collect the material - I forget what it was called. Was it counting rods or what? :scratchhead:

The kids are very disciplined too. When they go to the toilet, they aws just go by themselves. No pestering the teacher, or communal toilet times. They take this chain from the shelf & put in on ard their neck so that when the teacher sees the chain missing from the shelf, she knows the kid has gone off to the loo.

And the kids are told to respect each other. No one can take away the material that someone is using. They have to put the material back in the same spot in the same condition as when they found it. They cannot disturb any child or step on their mat. If my boy can have this respect for others, half the battle is won. As for faith reinforcement, it's up to us parents, isn't it? :love: After all, even schools like MMK or St James don't emphasise on religion either.

Correct bo, buds? :lol:

Wah lau! :faint: You just blew me away jules! :love:

I'm feeling so proud now... as proud as a peacock..
                      and as proud as a momma can be. :snuggles:

Yes, everything oso tiok!

Bo salah.. :celebrate:

Well done, jul04.. you make me very proud. :please:

Parents like yourself are very very rare..
                      You do ask questions and require the answers at some time..
                      Other days, you do your own research as well and care to read up
                      to understand and to internalize her ways, her reasons and her legacy.

You're making me feel more onz now abt that trial.. :evil: .. so that you
                      CAN indeed live all that you have been reading. :love:

Everything you read or you have read was applicable then and still applicable
                      now and still very much relevant in today's context. My girls and students have zero
                      yes.. zilch problems in adapting to primary school life. Excel yes.. and not just in
                      the much worried-over academics but in relationship with teachers and friends,
                      in work attitudes... and for the love of learning. They enjoy going to school
                      every single day... without any trouble. :celebrate:

Psst.. i gave similar examples here some pages back.. šŸ˜‰
                      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=368485#368485

jul04

:oops: :dowan: :imanangel: :dancing: :boogie: :oops:

Told you not to make me paiseh liao :snuggles:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 95 / 165

taixiumd5acomT
                        taixiumd5acom