Anyone teaching their kids to bake ?
hahar! now, my search engines all shows "chocolate chip cookie recipes"
I find a few using the creaming method which i dun wan cos i jus need to drop the dough on the baking tray with a spoon. I want recipe tt use rubbing in method so tt my boy can play with the dough, rolling flat and cutting them out with cutters. Gee, wish me luck! -
wah!!! Looks beautiful.such yummy cupcake..your hubby must be a happy father on that day!
good luck with your chocolate chip cookies 1
Been wanting to make cup cakes but hee I don have an oven. Wonder if it is possible to do it with a microwave with convection settings? -
yerdua,
Good luck
mincy,
Can you use the microwave oven to roast chicken ? If you can, then should be possible to bake cupcakes.
The most important factor of baking cupcakes is actually trying to figure out how to the oven's settings, and how long to bake.
It took me about 10 trials (10 batch of cupcakes) over a few months before I figure out how to set my Kenwood oven properly. I burnt a few batches of cupcakes :oops: The heat above and below the cupcakes should be even. -
I oso dun have oven… shot circuit liao…
hubs didn’t replace… so no roast chicken
or cupcakes or cookies… oni got microwave
oven and toaster… hahahaa!
Only ovens with "convection" can bake lah,
right? -
tamarind, I think my oven suppose to be able to roast chicken...it got a rack but so far I have not try beforet... :oops:
buds, yah, I think only those microwave with convection can bake...not sure if toaster can bake though...it can toast pizza and stuff right, so if it is big enough may be can bake? -
Yes, i’m using those microwave with the convection function. This is the 1st time i use this function since i bought it 6 years ago…
Yerdua, your idea is brilliant. Shall use it for next year Father's Day celebration. Thanks!
Tamarind, you stay in JW & me in JE. Doesn't take me more than 10 minutes to drive over to your place. So any balance, load it away.
Used to bake a lot at mum's place. My place without oven liao. All recipes must dig at mum's place too. -
EN,
OK I will definitely keep you in mind when we bake the next batch of cupcakes
I’m glad you are making your kids interested in baking!
Many parents say it’s too much of a hassle to prepare and let their kids bake. And my close friends have asked me to start a baking class for kiddos at my house since I teach cooking everyday.
It’s good to see other mummies spending quality time with their kiddos through cooking!
My boy is 2.5yo now and he loves to help mix the batter, watch the oven and wash up! -
My Grandmother bought a cook book for kids that my daughter fell in love with. William Sonoma I think. And later she graduated to adult cook books and using the Internet to find recipes (she found Potato Chocolate Cake she baked for part of a presentation on Ireland. Cake to my surprise was very good).
Microwaves are amazing what they can do, especially with the convection feature so you get some browning. The browning is the major issue with a microwave that the convection solves. I took a class with my Mother on how to use a Microwave for cooking when I was in High School.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.