Raffles Girls' Primary
Luanee:
Haha from what I read here, u do have very high aspirations for ur dd hee.. Anyway I just felt the need to defend RGS as I really had a great time there, despite me not from any top-notch pri schools and not from well-to-do family.[/quote]hehe, I always think more, but did less. I believe good schools can benifit children more, especially for late maturity kids. I really thank my parents spent a lot of efforts to give me a good study environment. I was once in a normal school, i know the difference of good and normal school. I just want my DD to be in a good enviroment for her health growing up, not too much higher expectation.ctct61t:
[quote=\"Luanee\"] Dont have to worry about cliques or anything.
I'm not worry about cliques, I'm worry no chance to go RGS.
Not all RGPS girls are thinking of RGSS after PSLE. There are so many other options now like NUS high, NJC ,SOTA etc… unlike before where theres only RGSS and Nanyang to be considered.
Last years top PSLE scorer is neither in RGSS or Nanyang today.
dear Luanee,
you may consider enrolling yr girl for kumon Chinese. My friend whose son from Barker road church kindergarten enrol him for kumon Chinese at age 3.6. When he entered NYPS, his chinese was very good. He was able to read chinese novels independently - eg: Sui Gu Zhuan, San Guo Yan Yi, in beginning Pri 1.
usually people tend to send kids to kumon for Maths. But kumon Chinese also very good.
(sorry if i OT) -
yes, moonee!
NUSI is an excellent school. One thing i curious about is … if want to pursue medicine, does NUSI teach Human Biology, Physiology, Plant Biology, etc ? can a student pursue medical course, after going through NUSI ?
(my last OT) -
greenbean2011:
yes, moonee!
NUSI is an excellent school. One thing i curious about is .... if want to pursue medicine, does NUSI teach Human Biology, Physiology, Plant Biology, etc ? can a student pursue medical course, after going through NUSI ?
(my last OT)
Hmm, I'm not too sure, dnt know much about their syllabus, actually I have been wondering the same too. -
dear ctct61t,
sharing …
a close friend of mine stay in Pasir Ris. Her daughter was from an unknown neighbourhood school in Pasir Ris. Her psle score was very good - good enough to enable her to choose RGSS, NYGH Secondary schools, etc.
n the end, she chose NYGH. I ask - why not choose RGSS ?
she replied - bec NYGH Chinese culture is extremely rich, and NYGH character moral building / development is also very strong. Teaching of traditional character values like li yi lian ci - very solid !
her girl was selected by NYGH to represent her school in China - at debates overseas with China local students there … and she won medals.
Today, she had grown up, now 20 years old. She had won scholarship (after been selected by a panel of scholarship interviewers) to study corporate law in a famous England university law school there.
My friend told me she need not folk out a single cent, because all her university school fees and accomodation are all provided for, foc. She even got allowances for makan, etc.
RGSS is not the only way to go. Other available options are always open, may be even better. If you keep thinking of RGSS in yr mind, - unconsciously you’re exerting stress on yourself, and on your poor girl. -
Thanks greenbean2011 for your sharing.
In fact, My DD is a happy and blur princess, she was always punished during classes as she always forgot to bring her school stuff, did not finish her homeworks... she spents hours to play with her friends downstairs everyday...she has so much things to talk, to care when she come back... I did not put too much expectation on my girl. But I still hope she can go into a good school, as I think it's really important for her to develop well in all aspects. Not only her study, the most important is her character moral building, this is life long career.
I hope she can be a happy girl all the way. If she has the chances to go into any of good school all of you mentioned, I will be very very happy lah... :lol: -
These few days, my DD seems got into the problem of good friends, my DD likes to make friends, she has 2 best friends A and B previously, but recently, one of her best friends A said since my DD has another best friend B, so she (A) will not be my DD best friend anymore…my DD cannot understand why she said that, she emphasized to A that both A and B are her best friends…A said she will think about it, and let my DD know the result by today.
I don’t know how to advice my DD on this, I don’t have much memories on such things…don’t know other kids face the same problem or not…but it seems quite serious to my DD, she always thought about it. -
ctct61t, you are not alone.
Friendship has always been a problem for my dd since P1 (or even K1/2). When they are in good terms they are ‘sisters’ but when they fight they are ‘enemies’. I will share my listening ear whenever my dd wants to ‘complain’ about anyone in her class. I try not to get too involve in it and let her sort it out herself. I will try to at least console her by telling her maybe her friend was in a bad mood that day and should be fine if you you talk to her again a few days later. Beside that I will try to make her day by buying her what she likes eg. an ice cream or stuff like that. -
greenbean2011:
Thanks greenbean, yah i didnt know Kumon has Chinese. Yesterday I was trying to converse with her in Mandrain and she really sounded like an ang moh lol..dear Luanee,
you may consider enrolling yr girl for kumon Chinese. My friend whose son from Barker road church kindergarten enrol him for kumon Chinese at age 3.6. When he entered NYPS, his chinese was very good. He was able to read chinese novels independently - eg: Sui Gu Zhuan, San Guo Yan Yi, in beginning Pri 1.
usually people tend to send kids to kumon for Maths. But kumon Chinese also very good.
(sorry if i OT)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.