All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.9k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

You see... teaching is a human-reliant industry where it is the person
      that matters. If one works for the sake of the job, then the job works
      one down...

I wonder why its so difficult to find such a devoted and dedicated teacher such as u...
      Errrmmm.. a good handful of my students' parents are Montessori trained.
      Wow...so u r master of the masters...:politebleah:

Erm, so when r u opening a trial class ha? :preen: :rubhands:

Oh no no..

Bu shi wo! Not moi!

:dowan:

smurf, if you still in Yishun then still quite near me.. :evil:

Trial class? 😐

Ooohh that? šŸ˜‰

Okay!

I think first! :idea:

smurf

In central lah...but can travel a bit. :rubhands:

jul04

smurf

I went to the MFC parent presentation yesterday and asked abt whether they will pluck the child out to another class if he's advanced. Nope, the child will stay in the same class throughout his pre-school yrs so that the same directress can follow through his progress.

The only time they 'change class' is if they stay for the extended day coz some will choose Montessori, some will choose Chinese etc. But even so, the 2nd class remains unchanged throughout too.

smurf

Is it? Then maybe either they didn't get the question correctly, or I heard them wrongly.haha...pai seh for the wrong info...so, how was the session? Are u determine to send your boy to MFC?? :celebrate:

jul04

smurf:
                Is it? Then maybe either they didn't get the question correctly, or I heard them wrongly.haha...pai seh for the wrong info...so, how was the session? Are u determine to send your boy to MFC?? :celebrate:

No probs, it's just a simple miscomm šŸ˜„

Hiaz.. Hubs has no opinion on the pedagogical method. He's only concerned that his darling is happy, safe, enjoys learning, will become disciplined, more well-bahaved etc. So.. he has no objections to MFC itself.

I brought up a minor point abt whether it's healthy for our boy to go to school with classmats whose parents are very.. ahem.. well off, but he thinks they don't know at this age anyway. So.. prob we'll be going for MFC.

It's just the :moneyflies: 😢

jul04

smurf

I made a mistake abt the school fees too.

It's actually slightly less than $800/mth, including the building fund, materials fees, gst etc. At first I thought it was more than $1k/mth coz still had to add in $200+ /mth for the miscellaneous stuff.

jul04

Reality vs Fantasy, Creativity, Imagination

Just wanna ask what's the importance of having fantasy play and creative play with imagination? Coz Montessori advocates reality-based learning rather than playing with swords and daggers and slaying dragons.

Does this mean that playing with masak masak pretending to cook and eat is 'wrong'? Is colouring trees orange and the sun purple to be stamped out? Is using a plastic container as a hat 'deviant'? :?

smurf

Think the fee is $721 per mth, but not sure how much if add up misc...Excluding sch bus...go for it if u can afford!

Dun think the child would know who are the rich kids around la...at least not for pre sch...maybe in primary sch... šŸ˜Ž

jul04

Yeah it's around there, with the building fund, miscellaneous fees in already. No school bus though šŸ˜„ Waiting for the bus service to get back to me on the rates.

Yup I've filled up the form. But I frogot to bring a cheque out today so can only post tomorrow. Silly me :x

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 103 / 165