Nah, I am a hands-off mum for my elder boy since he was P5. Told him cant rely on me, better DIY on his own. Even for his weak CL now, also cant help much (beyond my ability).
And following lizhi's theory that boys get their intelligence solely from their mums, this shows that Jen is one clever mama :salute: .E3:
You have coached him well, Jennifer! :celebrate:
So mother & son ended up in the same jc?
Incidentally, my younger boy also says he wants to enrol in this sch, this one must
very hard :lol:
:thankyou:IJJ:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]My elder boy finally did well for his PSLE. The sec sch he is attending now has a small cohort size. Last year he was offered a writing course (by Stanford U) and this year a chance to represent the sch in an international Maths competition.
Wow..that is impressive!! Glad for you. :celebrate:
Being recognised really makes a difference in the child's attitude towards learning. Like dangling a carrot in front. Hope he keeps up this effort and not be distracted by BGR in future
And again I have to manage my expectations of my younger boy. Cant be selfish to think he wld be like my elder boy.[/quote]Heard from my son that your ds2 performed very well in CA1 so far. :celebrate: -
dyh:
wow, got chance to go to Stanford U then.jennifer:
Last year he was offered a writing course (by Stanford U)
Just a creative writing course conducted in the Jun hols in the sch by someone with some links to the U. Exact details I dun hv. But I doubt like that means got chance lah.
See how blur I am with regards to my elder boy's education :oops: Wash my hands clean clean, only to get them busy with my younger boy
Trapwithin:
Yeah, keep trying. But if he has tried his best, i hope you will not over-push him. it will make him demoralised and lose self-esteem. i always tell my sons it is not so much the results, the most impt thing is that they try their best.
Keeping trying, never give up.janet_lee88:
Hi Parents,
So envious to see your kids score 90+. My son told me he flunk his Maths Paper 1
...still don't know what his Chinese and Science results are but doubt they will be good. English Band 3...don't know how to improve his results. -
dyh:
Heard from my son that your ds2 performed very well in CA1 so far. :celebrate:Jennifer:
Cant be selfish to think he wld be like my elder boy.
I only heard from him his EL and MA, also dunno if he has done well since we need to reference to the class avg. Tell the truth, I threatened him: if the exam papers came back with no workings, hv clean passages, no highlights or brackets, I wld punish him even if he got the correct ans (who knows if he was just being lucky). This boy is very careless and does speed reading, very prone to missing out details/misinterpret. Always tell him to slow down to digest the info, but always disappointed me. Hence the harsh treatment now. Dun tell your boy this hor.
IJJ:
Only 1. That girl is always top. I suspect should be either her or her twin brother the one who turn away GEP offer. Only 6 from 85-93. Very rare to see such. I wonder how are the scores in those mixed ability classes.[/quote]can pm me who is that top girl? just wondering if it is the girl i think she is...
wow.. that's a very good score for EL...Mrsbongz:
[quote=\"IJJ\"]
93. -
Heard from my son that your ds2 performed very well in CA1 so far. :celebrate:dyh:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]Cant be selfish to think he wld be like my elder boy.
I only heard from him his EL and MA, also dunno if he has done well since we need to reference to the class avg. Tell the truth, I threatened him: if the exam papers came back with no workings, hv clean passages, no highlights or brackets, I wld punish him even if he got the correct ans (who knows if he was just being lucky). This boy is very careless and does speed reading, very prone to missing out details/misinterpret. Always tell him to slow down to digest the info, but always disappointed me. Hence the harsh treatment now. Dun tell your boy this hor.
[/quote]wow u are a perfectionist. :shock:
dyh:
Yeah, keep trying.[/quote]My elder boy P5 CA1 results were also a downhill sight. Think it is the sch's alarm clock to wake up pupils. Dun be discouraged.
Keeping trying, never give up.Trapwithin:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Hi Parents,
So envious to see your kids score 90+. My son told me he flunk his Maths Paper 1
...still don't know what his Chinese and Science results are but doubt they will be good. English Band 3...don't know how to improve his results. -
this yr's p3 cohort seems stronger than last yr's.lizhi:
Highest score is 98... yes, we are all try our best... :celebrate:
Highest score in standard for Pri 3 CA1 English is 99 marks. -
dyh:
wow u are a perfectionist. :shock:[/quote]No lah, just doing my job to make him as independent as possible and as soon as possible so that I can do sth else with my hands :lol:Jennifer:
[quote=\"dyh\"]Heard from my son that your ds2 performed very well in CA1 so far. :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.