How to cook nice meals

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    631 Posts 41 Posters 202.6k Views 1 Watching
    • qmsQ Offline
      qms

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/6242/72017araasy2t.jpg\">

:drool:

noob

You want ang moh stew, chinese stew or peranakan stew. 😉 Haha...

Tks Funz! I will try the ang moh stew tomorrow. Do you need to season the chicken?

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

noob:

You want ang moh stew, chinese stew or peranakan stew. 😉 Haha...

Tks Funz! I will try the ang moh stew tomorrow. Do you need to season the chicken?

no need. But if you want to also no harm, just season with a bit of salt, so in that case, you may not need to add anymore salt into the stew later.

Happy Mama

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/6242/72017araasy2t.jpg\">

:drool:

qms, you need more bibs, pails and donuts? :rotflmao:

• qmsQ Offline
              qms

qms, you need more bibs, pails and donuts? :rotflmao:

Looking at the various food threads available, YES!

Augmum

Wow....all these oyster omelette making me :drool: :drool:

i ever tried before frying it at home, becos of not using lard, and fire \"not strong enuff\".....
                somehow the flavour and taste will not be as good as those hawker's oyster omelette, (ya lah...lard is not healthy, but who cares, i dun eat often.... 😉 )
                so rather buy from them. 😄

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                  starlight1968sg

Where to get cheap mussels? I like to eat them besides oysters too.

Augmum

:offtopic: A bit off topic here.

But wanna ask all esteemed cooks here, anyone know how to make almond cream, 杏仁湖 and black sesame gruel, 芝麻糊 using a soya bean milk maker?
                    Funz, u also like 杏仁湖 ?? :hi5:

there was once, after eaten 杏仁湖 from a hawker's centre,
                    kept craving for it.
                    but sadly, it's hard to find this dessert in most dessert's stall.
                    so hub made it for me.
                    he used the coffee grinder to grind the almonds, and cook it with rice flour,
                    and add in the almond essence.
                    very smooth, love it...... hmm .....think must get him to cook for me again. :idea:

jtoh

:offtopic: A bit off topic here.

But wanna ask all esteemed cooks here, anyone know how to make almond cream, 杏仁湖 and black sesame gruel, 芝麻糊 using a soya bean milk maker?

Funz, u also like 杏仁湖 ?? :hi5:

there was once, after eaten 杏仁湖 from a hawker's centre,
                      kept craving for it.
                      but sadly, it's hard to find this dessert in most dessert's stall.
                      so hub made it for me.
                      he used the coffee grinder to grind the almonds, and cook it with rice flour,
                      and add in the almond essence.
                      very smooth, love it...... hmm .....think must get him to cook for me again. :idea:

Your husband cooks desserts! You're lucky!

jtoh

I used the following

5 1/2 tbsp sweet potato flour
                        150ml water
                        1/2 tbsp chinese rice wine
                        light soya sauce, salt, pepper to taste

Mix the above in a bowl

2-3 pieces of garlic, minced
                        2 eggs lightly beaten
                        parsley
                        1 pack frozen oysters from NTUC

Heat up enough oil to cover the bottom of you frying pan.
                        Fry the garlic till fragrant, turn up heat and pour in the flour mixture.
                        Fry till the sides of the flour appears crispy and pour in the eggs
                        Once the eggs set, break up the flour into pieces and fry to desired crispiness.
                        Add oysters, for a quick stir fry
                        Dish out, garnish with parsley

My family tend to prefer the flour more crispy then soggy so I fry it a little longer. But when I thought the flour looked crispy enough, I added the oysters, the liquid from the oysters made the flour a bit soggy. Think next time, I will dish out the flour and fry the oysters separately before adding them to the dish. And yah, this dish needs a fair bit of oil to get it right.
                        The dish looks fantastic!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 64