"branded" sch vs neighbourhood sch
DesertWind:
No lah... From what I know they chopped them off after PSLE results were out. Sorry if I wasn't clear. It's still terrible to lose 2 of 7 classes though. It is an indictment of your own teaching quality, especially when the kids are scions of succesful families with intelligent parents.jtoh:
But that's what's being practised at several schools. The easiest way to make your COP look good is to chop off the bottom classes of your affiliated primary school and take in the better students from outside. Why do you think schools have been raising their COP from 200 to 210 to 220 and so on. You lose about 1 class of bottom students each time but get students from outside coming in at >250.
Hi Chenoceau,
But did I interpret correctly what you were saying was the girls were told to CHANGE SCHOOL just before PSLE at Primary 5 or 6?
This is different from what jtoh said to raise COP up. If the girls never get into the school in the first place, there would be no issues. I think no kids should be forced to change primary school mid-way although I think nowadays such is being done.
For eg, I have heard of principal from a \"better\" neighbourhood school telling parents to transfer their kids not performing very well at P3 out to a new neighbourhood school.
Can faint since I never heard of such a thing during my time.
To me it is a horrifying thought to be told to change primary school halfway because I believe in stability and completing the number of years in the same school.
:idea: -
[Change school. :idea:
Look at other schools' fundamentals and change. My cousin switched his daughter from a no brand school to a branded school in P2 (AFTER examining fundamentals). He got her into RGPS, no less. Best of luck!! :D[/quote]
too late already :lol: he already left the school. I did try to change after SA1 exam , bring his outstanding result to another school. they reject us , say no vacancy, dun even bother to entertain me after seeing the result .
no choice ds was stuck in tat school for the next 6yrs. fortunately
in the last 3 years, he got in the \"previlege\" class , did well in his psle n he is now in one of the top IP boys school. -
kiasu2011
:congrats: :rahrah: :congrats: :rahrah:
I hope mine in neighbourhood school also will follow in your son's footsteps!! -
So true.
They were smart but did badly. Same as in my daughter's case. Too much time spent gossiping and bitching. I was amazed that little girls could be so bitchy! Idle minds are the devil's playground. When The Daughter went to secondary school, the content of her phone SMS were very different. More healthy and less political. Her secondary school provided enough stimulation to occupy idle minds.jtoh:
Hi Chenonceau,
I always enjoying reading your posts because you make sense.
Was wondering, why were the smart girls chopped from the school? Did they underperform and were in bottom two classes of the cohort? -
DesertWind:
:shock:
Hi Chenoceau,
But did I interpret correctly what you were saying was the girls were told to CHANGE SCHOOL just before PSLE at Primary 5 or 6?
This is different from what jtoh said to raise COP up. If the girls never get into the school in the first place, there would be no issues. I think no kids should be forced to change primary school mid-way although I think nowadays such is being done.
For eg, I have heard of principal from a \"better\" neighbourhood school telling parents to transfer their kids not performing very well at P3 out to a new neighbourhood school.
That's terrible. My friend was called into the P's office at the end of P1 when her son wasn't performing well. Told her to find a school more suited to her son's ability.
Can faint since I never heard of such a thing during my time.
To me it is a horrifying thought to be told to change primary school halfway because I believe in stability and completing the number of years in the same school.
:idea: -
I would think the above is a sweeping generalization and may not hold true for all.
Some powerful person whose daughter got chopped found a way to remove the dinosaur. Now, a powerful person = smart person with high IQ. Why would daughter of high IQ person get chopped if the school had been duly diligent? After all, parent IQ is the strongest predictor of child IQ.enne:
Chenonceau: tats very bad!!
cant imgaine that.. how did the girls cope then?
In any case, the dinosaur had since been removed and hence, the said branded school may no longer be under as bad a management as you have described. We should perhaps give the school another chance.
I am very interested in the neighborhood school your son went to though I know you will not reveal. Different people have different views on what makes a neighborhood school. Rosyth for one is right smack in the middle of many HDB flats but I would hardly call it a neighbourhood school. -
preciousmoments:
I would think the above is a sweeping generalization and may not hold true for all.
Some powerful person whose daughter got chopped found a way to remove the dinosaur. Now, a powerful person = smart person with high IQ. Why would daughter of high IQ person get chopped if the school had been duly diligent? After all, parent IQ is the strongest predictor of child IQ.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"enne\"]Chenonceau: tats very bad!!
cant imgaine that.. how did the girls cope then?
In any case, the dinosaur had since been removed and hence, the said branded school may no longer be under as bad a management as you have described. We should perhaps give the school another chance.
I am very interested in the neighborhood school your son went to though I know you will not reveal. Different people have different views on what makes a neighborhood school. Rosyth for one is right smack in the middle of many HDB flats but I would hardly call it a neighbourhood school.[/quote]The sweeping generalization has robust research support in many studies tracking IQ. Parental IQ have strong relationships with child IQ. Nonetheless, it is true that it does not hold true for all. Nothing in the social sciences has 100% predictive power.
Give another chance? That is right. That is why I refuse to divulge the name of the school despite having received so many PMs. That is giving it another chance. The cautionary tale does not apply to the specific school. It applies to the process of applying for branded schools. What happened to one branded school can happen to any. Parents just need to exercise due diligence.
Neither would I divulge the name of the neighbourhood school my son is in. One must show some circumspection whether in praise (so that parents are not unduly mislead by a single person's experience) or in critique (so that the school might be given another chance). Suffice to say that none have yet mentioned my son's school in this thread... and it does not appear in any of the top school exam papers collections that I have bought. -
But that's what's being practised at several schools. The easiest way to make your COP look good is to chop off the bottom classes of your affiliated primary school and take in the better students from outside. Why do you think schools have been raising their COP from 200 to 210 to 220 and so on. You lose about 1 class of bottom students each time but get students from outside coming in at >250.[/quote]Yes, schools with affiliated sec schools have COP raised to maintain standard. Daughter's school will be see a rise in COP next year. Also heard that the principal of the sec side have been bringing in students from overseas to raise standard.
This is horrifying! :!:DesertWind:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]What parents found in the year my daughter and her friends took her PSLE is that the school is not as loyal as it makes itself out to be.
I trusted the school, and they did such bad job with The Daughter and her friends, and when it came to PSLE, the school chopped away 2 out of 7 classes so that the cut-off at secondary level still looked good. -
No lah... From what I know they chopped them off after PSLE results were out. Sorry if I wasn't clear. It's still terrible to lose 2 of 7 classes though. It is an indictment of your own teaching quality, especially when the kids are scions of successful families with intelligent parents.
OIC, thanks for clarifying!
Wah...ho....you are very brave to state this in bold. Because thought even our SM could not stand up to public pressure on this...
:thankyou:kiasu2011
:congrats: :rahrah: :congrats: :rahrah:
I hope mine in neighbourhood school also will follow in your son's footsteps!!
you are so knowledgeable , i think your children should be no problem.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.