hl124273

E3:
      hl124273:

Thanks E3 ! Is there anywhere that I can find this information ? On PHPPS website I dun recall any ...

The exam formats for the papers cannot be found on the web. This forum is where you'll usually find the info. 😉

Btw, I hope there's no change to the time allocation and formats cos nowadays, lots of changes going on. :?

Hi E3, thank you, this is very very useful !

hl124273

E3:
        hl124273:

There is compo for EL too ? I suppose helping words provided ? Oh no, how to teach her now ???

Yes, there'll be helping words. My advise is to start training her to get used to writing compositions as often as possible. Dd used to write from pictures from Picture Compositions 2 by Terry Bell, published by Learners Publishing.

Previously,I bought some model composition book for P2 from SAP publisher and some compo assessment books , got her to try just now.
        Any tips on how to \"spot\" potential compo topics ? :lol: I figured that those done in class will not be repeated in any way.

JRLam

Hey P5/P6 parents with kids on HCL -

Can I check with you how the book 水浒传 was taught in your dd/ds’ class? My son told me that his CL T has NEVER taught them (ie read or explain the content in the book), but let them watch the video records instead. This may not be a bad idea, since it can be quite interesting, but unfortunately, the kids, who hardly watch any CL shows, let alone this type of 古装show, are totally confused! Well, at least my son is. To make matter worse, the CL T doesn’t show the entire story in sequence, but skips some chapters randomly. I reckon she maybe running out of time to finish the book! My son, who is very interested in such 古装武侠 stories, completely catch no-ball! T didn’t even ask them to go home and read in advance (they won’t understand it anyway).
          I am just wondering, is this the way that this book should be taught? Or is it the case for this particular CL T only?
          Now I have to read and explain every chapter to him (and must catch up with his CL T’s speed as well, which I must say, is very unpredictable since she ‘jumps’ chapter as and when she likes), to rekindle his interest in CL stories (so long as it is CL!). Otherwise, I won’t be surprised he will BAN CL book becoz they all look so chim!

JRLam

hl124273:
            Hi Periwinklejoy

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me!

My gal has a good rapport with her, and with everyone else too cos my gal is likeable and easy to get along with. She told me she likes both the current and new tutor and didn't know which to choose.

When I came home, she told me she wants the current tutor to continue, and at her study desk, I found a note that she wrote which reads \" tell mommy that I still want tutor Chen(and not other tutors\" .. I asked her about the note, and she said she wanted this current tutor, nothing against the new tutor as she likes the new tutor too. ......
            Hl124273,

Can tell that u are really stressed over this which-tutor-to-keep issue .. poor mummy - pay $ gets more headache ..

My view is - It takes a while for kids to get used to any T. Your dd, as u mentioned, is likeable and easy going, so I reckon she likes someone very readily and easily too. I feel it is tough for 8-yrs old kids to differentiate who is good or bad over 1-2 lessons, unless 1 of them is really very extreme. She may feel bad if u terminate the 1st tutor, coz no matter what, she had spent quite a bit of time with her, and its not as if the 1st tutor mistreats her.

Well, is it possible for u or your dh to take a half-day leave or go office a bit later to stay at home to LISTEN to the lesson discreetly? Or, can u record the lesson (I mean the sound only lah) using whatever device that can last the longest? At least, then u will be able to judge both tutors' teaching method?

Whoever tutor u decide to engage eventually, I think u will need to have a good talk with her on your expectation, and also be more hands-on to make sure your dd gets value out of every lesson. If u chose the new one, make sure u give your kid and her sometime to get use to each other. Can't expect miracle on language.

Note that 2x-a-week lesson maybe ok for P1/2, but P3 or end P2 (depending on the kid's ability and parent's level of kiasu-ness), twice-a-week maybe necessary due to the additional demand from Compo and Compre. My CL tutor stressed that P1 & P2 are very elementary, but the gap widens in P3/4. So it is very impt that kids understand P3/4 very very well. My son suffers now in P5, becoz he 'cruised' past the P3/4 period .. sign ..

Hope my 2-cents' worth helps ..

hl124273

JRLam:
              hl124273:

Hi Periwinklejoy

Hl124273,

Can tell that u are really stressed over this which-tutor-to-keep issue .. poor mummy - pay $ gets more headache ..

My view is - It takes a while for kids to get used to any T. Your dd, as u mentioned, is likeable and easy going, so I reckon she likes someone very readily and easily too. I feel it is tough for 8-yrs old kids to differentiate who is good or bad over 1-2 lessons, unless 1 of them is really very extreme. She may feel bad if u terminate the 1st tutor, coz no matter what, she had spent quite a bit of time with her, and its not as if the 1st tutor mistreats her.

Well, is it possible for u or your dh to take a half-day leave or go office a bit later to stay at home to LISTEN to the lesson discreetly? Or, can u record the lesson (I mean the sound only lah) using whatever device that can last the longest? At least, then u will be able to judge both tutors' teaching method?

Whoever tutor u decide to engage eventually, I think u will need to have a good talk with her on your expectation, and also be more hands-on to make sure your dd gets value out of every lesson. If u chose the new one, make sure u give your kid and her sometime to get use to each other. Can't expect miracle on language.

Note that 2x-a-week lesson maybe ok for P1/2, but P3 or end P2 (depending on the kid's ability and parent's level of kiasu-ness), twice-a-week maybe necessary due to the additional demand from Compo and Compre. My CL tutor stressed that P1 & P2 are very elementary, but the gap widens in P3/4. So it is very impt that kids understand P3/4 very very well. My son suffers now in P5, becoz he 'cruised' past the P3/4 period .. sign ..

Hope my 2-cents' worth helps ..

Hi JRLam,

My only \"concern\" with this new tutor is that she only teaches a few Primary school students, no P2 student at the moment, and she has total of 20+ students comprising of Sec students. Hmm.. is that a real concern that I should be thinking about ? :? I can work from home as and when I want to and I had a chance to meet the new tutor and showed her some of the work done.

I guess a good tutor should have some structure or methodology to teach, not random. New tutor said she will follow the text book, and use assessment books similar to what I already have which is good enough.
              I think the chinese compo will be the challenge - not sure how tutors teach composition, but the current tutor did ask me to go get 3 compo guide books. Also, the current tutor will keep a record of the homework to be done by writing it down in a notebook on the stuffs my gal need to complete.

IJJ

E3:

It'll only be good if you have the time to guide her with the \"difficult\" chars. I have to screen thru all the essays, then highlight only the ones that I find it's within her \"zone of understanding\" for her to read. Other than these highlighted essays, she read from another model compo book which was closer to her level. It's a compilation of well-written compos written by kids from different schools. This year, I have yet to find a really good one.
                Oh yes. That is exactly what I do with my girl.

IJJ

:udawoman: :udaman: to all the PH parents (myself inclusive :lol: )!!!

We broke the 1000th line! :celebrate: :rahrah:

E3, I am deeply impressed by both you and your girl's memory power. No other 'horse' can outrun your involvement. :ugogirl:

IJJ

Hi hl124273,

I have been refraining from posting a reply for your tuition issue. Your dd is only in P2, right?

Putting myself in your shoe, I will definitely drop the current tutor and try the new one. Simply because

1. Poor quality service - unspotted mistakes and lack of explanations. Well, some super tutors can provide superb quality tuitions with tons of students, most simply cannot. It is up to the tutor to decide how many students he/she want to take, but it is up to the parent/child to judge the quality.

2. Unwilling to go along parental's needs. Parents and child are the clients. Don't let the tutor lord over you. I believe that every child is different and parents know theirs best. If a parent prefers that dec shall have a 2 weeks rest, so be it. I know the 2 weeks break won't hurt mine. If go by your tutor's definition, school holidays should not even exist.

For these, I will drop her without a single hesitation. You dd may object, well, as I told mine, mom always know better. 😉

As for the 1 month notice, no, it is not a common practise. I am one impatient person. If I think someone is misleading my child or wasting my child's time, then I would not want to wait/delay any further. And of course, I will not waste money and time on unworthy service. I will terminate immediately, pay her for service she had provided. Period. Sue me if she likes. 😐

Your dd is only P2, lots can be done. Don't fret. Although mine only ever had a pte for the 1st 6 months of P1 (CL), but this is my criteria for selection of tutor if I ever need one again.

1. Chemistry/rapport between the child and tutor.

2. Understand the moe/PH school standard and syallabus. - Some boasted a journalist or a high school teacher in China or whatever... as long as he/she is not familiar with moe/PH standard, will not able to focus and see result.

3. Patient, devoted and systematic. - Only with these, kids will build/maintain interest and be motivated to learn. My girl's ex tutor knew my girl's weaknesses and developed own worksheets to assess and strengthen them. She discussed strategies to work hand in hand with me to optimise resources and efforts.

4. Teach the child how to fish and not to put the fish right in front of the child.

5. Respect both the parents and the child.- Listen and discuss.

HTH!

Wish you find one good tutor soon! I cannot recommend my child's ex tutor as she has gone back to teaching in school, now a CL HOD. I am blessed to know her and have her as a personal friend now. I am sure you will find one great one soon.

IJJ:
                      Putting myself in your shoe, I will definitely drop the current tutor and try the new one. Simply because

1. Poor quality service - unspotted mistakes and lack of explainations. Well, some super tutors can provide superb quality tuitions with tons of students, most simply cannot. It is up to the tutor to decide how many students he/she want to take, but it is up to the parent/child to judge the quality.
                      Some tutors just take students, fully packed everyday but no QC...like my prev tutor

2. Unwilling to go along parental's needs. Parents and child are the clients. Don't let the tutor lord over you. I believe that every child is different and parents know theirs best. If a parent prefers that dec shall have a 2 weeks rest, so be it.
                      Agree 100%. Parents are the ones paying, so they are customers and tutor shouldn't be calling the shots. There must be mutual understanding between tutor and parents...for eg, if child needs a break from tuition once or twice, the tutor should understand with advance notice of course. I give my son a break from tuition after SA2.

As for the 1 month notice, no, it is not a common practise. I am one impatient person. If I think someone is teaching/misleading my child or wasting my child time, then I would not want to waste further. And of course, I will not waste money and time on unworthy service. I will terminate immediately, pay her for service she had provide. Period.
                      My tuition fees are paid at the 4th lesson. So when I terminated the tutor's service, I informed her before the 4th lesson.

Your dd is only P2, lots can be done. Don't fret. Although mine only ever had a pte for the 1st 6 months of P1 (CL), but this is my criteria for selection of tutor

1. Chemistry/rapport between the child and tutor.
                      Tutor must be able to establish firm rapport with child...when to be serious, when to joke...but no honey darling all the way and making the child so top of the world when it's NOT.

2. Understand the moe/PH school standard and syallabus.
                      MOE system always changing...so tutor must be in the loop.

3. Patient, devoted and systematic. - Only with these, kids will build/maintain interest and be motivated to learn. My girl's ex tutor knew my girl weaknesses and developed own worksheets to assess and strengthen them. She discussed strategies to work hand in hand with me to optimise resources and efforts.

4. Teach the child how to fish and not to put the fish right in front of the child.

5. Respect both the parents and the child.- Listen and discuss.

Trapwithin

JRLam:
                        [I can't even remember the CA1 format which my P2 dd just did .. hahaha ..

Did not know you have a P2 girl? Now we have another active P2 parent :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1002 / 2049

Rv22R
                        Rv22