[Toa Payoh] Primary Schools
sorry… where exactly is cedar pri? is it next to cedar girls? is it girls or coed school?
meiah:
oops... miss out the part on soompa! if i use my mum-in-law s address still must go moe to soompa? can i use my own address to get into a school in tpy?
Balloting would depends on whose address you are going to use right? If you ask your mil go moe to soompa to use her address, then whatever schools that falls within 1km will be grouped with the 1-2km range when you register your child.samuraipapa:
Hi, can I check which are the better schools around tpy area apart from pei chun? intend to send my boy to my mum-in-law's place in tpy lor 8 after discussing with my wife.
looking for a school tat dun need balloting...
Generally St Gab's in Serangoon no need to ballot at 2C for within 2km but no guarantee lah. Lor 8 is within 2km if I'm not wrong. Some of my friends say the sch not bad.
In TPY, if Pei Chun cannot, think some people would prefer Kheng Cheng. Most of Lor 8 is within 1-2km of Kheng Cheng. If not, then doorstep is First Toa Payoh. If not, then no more sch for boys liao.
You can also observe St Andrew's and Kuo Chuan depending on which part of Lor 8 she's at.
Good luck. -
samuraipapa:
sorry... where exactly is cedar pri? is it next to cedar girls? is it girls or coed school?
cedar Pri is in Cedar Estate. check streetdirectory.com
it's near Cedar Girls but not next to it.
Cedar pri is coed. -
meiah:
really ah? I didn't know that leh. then not so \"near\" if use grandparents' address loh....
Balloting would depends on whose address you are going to use right? If you ask your mil go moe to soompa to use her address, then whatever schools that falls within 1km will be grouped with the 1-2km range when you register your child.
...meiah:
Yup. according to my ex-school mate who is teaching in Kheng Cheng, Kheng Cheng is the 2nd choice school in TPY, 1st choice being Pei Chun.
...samuraipapa:
Hi, can I check which are the better schools around tpy area apart from pei chun? intend to send my boy to my mum-in-law's place in tpy lor 8 after discussing with my wife.
looking for a school tat dun need balloting...
In TPY, if Pei Chun cannot, think some people would prefer Kheng Cheng.
You can also observe St Andrew's and Kuo Chuan depending on which part of Lor 8 she's at.
If you see the stats, you'll see that for phrase 2C sup, Kheng Cheng is over-subscribed so I think people who fail to get in to Pei Chun or IJ swarm over to Kheng Cheng.
Lor 8 might be within 1k from Kuo Chuan. but if you're in the 1 - 2k cat, need to ballot.
not sure abt SA cos I'm not interested in boys' schools. -
samuraipapa:
Guangyang is not new and has been around for ages. they just have a new building....
can give me more info on kheng cheng and first toa payoh? my mil told me tat there will be a new school, guangyang in bishan too. how do these schools compare?
not really heard abt them myself
according to school reputation, I'd rank them in this order (good to bad):
Kheng Cheng
Guangyang
First Toa Payoh. -
samuraipapa:
Pei Chun is a SAP school...if your boy is comfortable with Chinese, you can consider but balloting takes place for those staying within 1km.lol, maybe its just me. but if my son cant even do well enough in his psle to get to a sch of his choice, then maybe he shouldnt be in schools where he got to go thru backdoor.
i prefer a school where the learning culture is not too bad, and he can learn and develop at his pace. pei chun is actually my 1st choice, but im afraid its too popular for me. so trying to find a good 2nd choice so tat i dun have to waste time and risk rejection -
samuraipapa:
oops... miss out the part on soompa! if i use my mum-in-law s address still must go moe to soompa? can i use my own address to get into a school in tpy?
Mil must go moe too. Sure you can use your own address but if you are more than 2km from the school of your choice, chances will be slimmer.
For eg, Pei Chun every year has balloting for 2C within 1km for donkey years. So if you are outside 1km, as good as no chance unless you are very lucky. If you use mil's address, then also as good as no chance cos her address will be grouped with the 1-2km applicants. Years ago, I was also looking at Pei Chun and I lived within 1km then but I gave up. cos I didn't want to go thru balloting.
Kheng Cheng usually no ballot at 2C cos many parents try Pei Chun first. So balloting will happen at 2C Supp. May ballot within 1km, 1-2km or outside 2 depending on cohort.
If you don't mind Guangyang or First Toa Payoh, you can try these schools at phase 2C Supp cos they are not likely to ballot since applicants are fewer. If your mil's house is within 2km from Kuo Chuan, you can try there at 2C first so see if you can get a place. It's a coed school and has affiliated sec sch. Principal is quite 'on' there.
I'm not very sure about Kheng Cheng so I can't give more info. Sorry. Other than that, compound actually quite big and nice. -
samuraipapa:
:lol: 4 years later, you won't be thinking this way when his teachers all start piling stuff for psle. And after spending tonnes of $ on tuition and results not up to expectation, got 'backdoor' better than none!lol, maybe its just me. but if my son cant even do well enough in his psle to get to a sch of his choice, then maybe he shouldnt be in schools where he got to go thru backdoor.
meiah:
pss... the quite on P is finishing 6 years there so will change soon.... If your mil's house is within 2km from Kuo Chuan, you can try there at 2C first so see if you can get a place. It's a coed school and has affiliated sec sch. Principal is quite 'on' there.
... -
pinkapple:
pss... the quite on P is finishing 6 years there so will change soon.meiah:
... If your mil's house is within 2km from Kuo Chuan, you can try there at 2C first so see if you can get a place. It's a coed school and has affiliated sec sch. Principal is quite 'on' there.
But then again, nowadays the young p all very on one. All the p also all quite young. Cos got so many new p promoted every year.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.