St Joseph's Institution Junior
e-learning day = teachers probably having something to that day. Was told but can’t remember what it was.
I believe that each school has several such days each year.
Gecko -
yes, I believe quite a number of schools has e-learning day too. One of my friend's DS in St Anthonty also has last Fri as the e-learning day.
My ds enjoyed so much and told me he prefer PC then books and ask me why he can't learn from PC :roll:
but almost want to vomit while doing the P1 chinese cause it is like guessing the picture to guess the word (pinyin)...but good lah since my boy likes it so much and was very serious about it.. -
All schools here have e-learning once a year, including sec sch. If I am not wrong, it started many years ago after SARS, where all schools were closed for a few days, so they are getting them prepared in case got SARS, H1N1 etc… CHOI CHOI CHOI!!! they can still study from home. Just my two-cents worth…
Do you guys have to do any project?
My p1 boy has to do write up on Canada, now doing animal project. Need to find pictures, do 3 to 5 sentences about the animal, etc. I hope that there is no more such project because I need to find information for him!!! While he learnt nothing at all!!! Honestly, I dun see anything value added to doing such project, because it’s the parents who are doing it for the child. You really think the child would know where to get info , where to find pic?? We are talking about p1 only leh…and just now, I quarrel with him. He insisted that his teacher said need to do 2 animals but the letter only mentioned 1 animal! :x -
smurf:
why are you doing it for him? he should do it himself. give him a stack of old magazines and glue. maybe you need to cut for him. my kids were doing such things in kindy already. don't underestimate the capability of p1 kids.Do you guys have to do any project?
My p1 boy has to do write up on Canada, now doing animal project. Need to find pictures, do 3 to 5 sentences about the animal, etc. I hope that there is no more such project because I need to find information for him!!! While he learnt nothing at all!!! Honestly, I dun see anything value added to doing such project, because it's the parents who are doing it for the child. You really think the child would know where to get info , where to find pic?? We are talking about p1 only leh...and just now, I quarrel with him. He insisted that his teacher said need to do 2 animals but the letter only mentioned 1 animal! :x -
no…no project so far. and i do agree with smurf, if they have projects, we are the one that will be helping them to do it.
so far, i think Pri 1 is still al breeze, no homeworks etc…& I like it this way…hehe. Sometimes i do sit back and think, we expect our kiddos to know so much nowadays, that is why kids nowadays grow up so fast, too fast… -
Why I do it for him? Simple. Because he cant do it! Do you know how he did the Canada project? He just took an A4 size paper, scribble few words on it with his not nice handwriting and submit. He told me that his classmates submit dunno what Canada map, picture, etc…nice nice ones…and I know for sure these are the works of the parents. For pictures, we dun buy magazines, so if really have to do nice one, I need to go to bookshop, buy magazines and cut the pictures out! Waste money.
smurf:
Why I do it for him? Simple. Because he cant do it! Do you know how he did the Canada project? He just took an A4 size paper, scribble few words on it with his not nice handwriting and submit. He told me that his classmates submit dunno what Canada map, picture, etc...nice nice ones...and I know for sure these are the works of the parents. For pictures, we dun buy magazines, so if really have to do nice one, I need to go to bookshop, buy magazines and cut the pictures out! Waste money.
it doesn't matter. i would take his self created scribbled piece of paper anytime over the beautiful projects done by the other parents! project work is important for the kids development. if everything is mugging mugging mugging, they will be so bored! maybe sit down with him on your pc and help him download some photos and print for him lah... you can guide him but don't do too much for him. this is how they learn, by trying. and sometimes failing. -
Sigh...if only the teacher understands that...some teachers dun, as long as they see nice nice work, they give high points vs those scribbled work...to them, scribbled work = rubbish, sloppy work
But p1 only leh, if by p3 still give the teacher sloppy work then something must be done lah...but p1 first semester only leh...
I wish I can print some picture, but currently, no printer, must buy one... :oops:
Honestly, I dun think he is even bothered if he gets zero for the project coz he has a couldn't care less attitude...just now, I reprimanded him for not practicing violin and even threatened to stop violin lesson, although he said want to continue, but after a while, back to square one...How to teach this kind of kid??
if dunno, I can still teach, but dunno and couldn't be bothered kind?? I really dunno... 
smurf:
persevere! my son is like that. up to p3 still have to nag him to practice violin! but this year going for grading (aiyo, that one another stress!)...Sigh...if only the teacher understands that...some teachers dun, as long as they see nice nice work, they give high points vs those scribbled work...to them, scribbled work = rubbish, sloppy work
But p1 only leh, if by p3 still give the teacher sloppy work then something must be done lah...but p1 first semester only leh...
I wish I can print some picture, but currently, no printer, must buy one... :oops:
Honestly, I dun think he is even bothered if he gets zero for the project coz he has a couldn't care less attitude...just now, I reprimanded him for not practicing violin and even threatened to stop violin lesson, although he said want to continue, but after a while, back to square one...How to teach this kind of kid??
if dunno, I can still teach, but dunno and couldn't be bothered kind?? I really dunno... 
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.