[Serangoon] Primary Schools
not taking school bus. will be sending him there in the morning b4 work, then my mum-in-law volunteer to go and pick him after sch. dunno if convenient or not. actually still looking around for alternative choices to plan.
most likely will still try to aim pei chun 1st, then go to schools like guangyang or kheng cheng tat are nearer to her place.
thank you! -
dorisp:
thanks for the link! judging from the history, i can forget about it la! dun waste time liao!samuraipapa:
how is yangzheng as a school? does it need balloting? is it safe and convenient for a boy to travel to tpy alone?
Hi samuraipapa
I am not familiar with yangzheng but you may look at the ballot history below:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/serangoon

I just called OLGC and learned that there was balloting for those staying within 1-2km last year. According to the person, about 14 applicants from 1-2km category were rejected! This means those outside 2km have no chance at all, right? However, the balloting history shown here on Kiasuparents indicated that balloting for last year was for only >2km. :? Could someone pls verify on the accuracy of information?
My DD (2005) is due to register this year for P1 and we stay beyond 2km of OLGC. I would like to check if I have any chance (at all) in balloting this year based on last year's demand.
Would appreciate if any of you could kindly share your experience with the P1 registration in OLGC last year.
Thanks in advance! -
alivio:
I just called OLGC and learned that there was balloting for those staying within 1-2km last year. According to the person, about 14 applicants from 1-2km category were rejected! This means those outside 2km have no chance at all, right? However, the balloting history shown here on Kiasuparents indicated that balloting for last year was for only >2km. :? Could someone pls verify on the accuracy of information?
There was balloting in P2C for those staying >2 km from the school last year.
However, prior to last year, the usual scenario was balloting for the 1-2 km category. Hence, could the staff be telling you a \"general\" scenario rather than specific to last year's situation? :scratchhead: -
In any case, while past history serves as a good guide, the situation may and can be very different each year.
Since you are looking at P2C, you can check the spaces available by the end of P2A and check the take up rate of P2C with the school during that phase, but before the deadline, to decide.
Hope these helps...........
Thank you dorisp and qms for your response!
If only schools would be more open in releasing info about their enrolment figures for each phase and their balloting history on their websites. Then clueless parents like me can better gauge our chances... Lucky we got this kiasuparent to turn to!
Best of luck! :celebrate:
I did not do PV for rosyth… but stay within the 1-2km distance… which is few blks away… do i need to do ballot too?? I’m so confuse, with all the phrases thingy… ><||| read so many times, but i still don really understand… am i tupid or wat… ><|||
choz_cai:
I did not do PV for rosyth.. but stay within the 1-2km distance.. which is few blks away.. do i need to do ballot too?? I'm so confuse, with all the phrases thingy... >_<||| read so many times, but i still don really understand.. am i tupid or wat.. >_<|||
For rosyth, balloting is required even within 1km for the past few years. So if you stay 1-2km, chances are unlikely. Better look elsewhere... -
thanks for the advise…
my alternatives is Ai Tong… coz i’m old gal mahz…
just tot tat i don nid to take sch bus, so my gal will slp alittle longer… >_<|||
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.