How to wash vegetables clean yet retain their nutrients
:lol: :lol: :lol:Funz:
Actually the white vinegar I have at home is used mainly for cleaning not for cooking. Haha, now found another use for it.
for me, i used it mainly for washing fruits such as grapes.
once, my hub asked me how come often seeing me buying vinegar
and yet i never use vinegar to cook dishes. :lol: -
Wow, Augmum, then you will be very busy leh, if you slowly scrutinise the broccoli because there's so much to scrutinise... Moreover, so tiny, how to look out for worms?Happy Mama:
I just spoke to my helper and she told me that for broccoli, she will also soak with a pinch of salt, as the salt will cause the worms, if any, to wriggle their way out.
for broccoli, i 'll slowly scrutinise for worms when washing
becos there was once , i almost ate the worms after cooking. :roll: :lol:
Don't tell me you use a magnifying glass? :!: :!:
Hehehe, just kidding...
starlight1968sg:
i also dun buy the idea of using veg cleanser to wash fruits and veg.I mean all veg.
I dont use Vege Fresh (chemical ?) at all.
reason being, on further thinking,
if one uses a chemical to wash fruits or veg, will the chemicals be left behind the fruits or veg? -
Totally agree! Now that I know we can use Vinegar to wash fruits and vegetables, it's time to say \"goodbye\" to my Vege Fresh!
i also dun buy the idea of using veg cleanser to wash fruits and veg.starlight1968sg:
I mean all veg.
if one uses a chemical to wash fruits or veg, will the chemicals be left behind the fruits or veg?
Wow, Augmum, then you will be very busy leh, if you slowly scrutinise the broccoli because there's so much to scrutinise... Moreover, so tiny, how to look out for worms?Augmum:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]I just spoke to my helper and she told me that for broccoli, she will also soak with a pinch of salt, as the salt will cause the worms, if any, to wriggle their way out.
for broccoli, i 'll slowly scrutinise for worms when washing
becos there was once , i almost ate the worms after cooking. :roll: :lol:
Hehehe, just kidding...
[/quote]LOL...no magnifying galss lah...juz use naked eyes,
actually, not alot what? i dun cook for a family of 10 .... -
Totally agree! Now that I know we can use Vinegar to wash fruits and vegetables, it's time to say \"goodbye\" to my Vege Fresh!
i also dun buy the idea of using veg cleanser to wash fruits and veg.Augmum:
[quote=\"starlight1968sg\"]I mean all veg.
if one uses a chemical to wash fruits or veg, will the chemicals be left behind the fruits or veg?
[/quote]yes, vinegar is much safer.... :celebrate:
wowβ¦happy mama,
yr this new topic generate quite a interestβ¦i havenβt have time to step out of these few threads. -
:lol: :lol: :lol: Eh Augmum, try using salt like what my helper does lah... maybe you'll see the worms wriggling out by themselves... this way easier mah.
LOL...no magnifying galss lah...juz use naked eyes,Happy Mama:
Wow, Augmum, then you will be very busy leh, if you slowly scrutinise the broccoli because there's so much to scrutinise... Moreover, so tiny, how to look out for worms?
Hehehe, just kidding...

actually, not alot what? i dun cook for a family of 10 ....
Ya, I thought it might interest quite a few of us, since most of us here cook for our familes, and washing vegetables is one of the most basic thing we have to do. :celebrate:wow...happy mama,
yr this new topic generate quite a interest...i haven't have time to step out of these few threads. -
:lol: :lol: :lol: Eh Augmum, try using salt like what my helper does lah... maybe you'll see the worms wriggling out by themselves... this way easier mah.
LOL...no magnifying galss lah...juz use naked eyes,Augmum:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"] Wow, Augmum, then you will be very busy leh, if you slowly scrutinise the broccoli because there's so much to scrutinise... Moreover, so tiny, how to look out for worms?
Hehehe, just kidding...

actually, not alot what? i dun cook for a family of 10 ....
[/quote]Eee.....quite disgusting leh. :!:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.