We allowed our previous maid to talk on the phone.. sometimes if i wake up ard 12.30 she is still on phone :shock:[/quote] :shock: did you tell her to stop ? she next day morning still can wake up ?
Maybe you can tell her to use her phone at night -like after she finishes her work. Its the same when we work - our bosses also don't like if we have personal chats on the phone frequently on office hours. 34yrs should be mature and sensible enough :roll:Littlefly:
[quote=\"madinked\"]Actually the reason I let them have handphones is simple. They almost don't have a life here so it'll be nice to have a phone and they can at least communicate with friends. In the end she used the phone all the time. I had to step in a few times and stopped her. There were many times I stepped out of my room to see her in her room. When she saw me she would pretend to rearrange things. Despite warnings of keeping her phone, I'm reluctant to do I since it's her phone and she's 34 or so. I would think she has more self control than that.
As for off days I gave my maid cos she said she has relatives here. So I thought again it would be nice to be able to meet some people whom she can communicate easily and without restrictions. But in the end I think she went out to meet guys more than relatives. -
Yes, $1400+. Can you imagine my SHOCK when I received the bill. First thot was to terminate her, but she actually wasn’t that bad, guess still young and can’t think properly. Tho a little 小姐, she treated my kids well and that is my TOP priority, chores and the rest are 2nd. AND if I terminate, not only do I need to pay for her airfare etc etc, she has totally zero $ with her cos’ just finish loan. I still gotta bear the phone bill.
Anyway, it’s over for me. AND I’m GLAD. -
cwc:
Applaud your decision o be SAHM - one the toughest jobs around!It's really hard to have maid these days. Remembered the first 2 were quite OK, but 3rd was handful.
4+year ago, I allowed my ex-maid to have a handphone...just after she finished her loan. In the 1st month, she incurred $150+ of phone bills, I told her off. In 2nd month, a whopping $1400+....I was shocked. I requested for the statement & found that she was calling overseas, downloading stuff and spending 4-6 hours on phone everyday....many into middle of the night 2am and during daytime while she was supposed to be looking after kids/chores, she'll be on phone for 15-30 mins at intervals of every 30mins. No wonder she complained tired and often go into the room at 8+pm when I still slog till 12+am at night tidying up.
I gave her a good talk. Fortunately for me, she was remorseful and continued working for me (with hardly any pay until all her debts cleared). IF she was difficult and wants to leave, I'll be stuck with the phone bill cos' the phone was registered under my name. Eventually she completed 1.75 years but during her last 3 months, she started giving trouble again..... She wanted to renew but I decided enough is enough.....no renewal, no maid and I become a SAHM. Dun think I regret my decision.....it's sheer mental exhaustion.
Err...i need to watch out for my phone bills as we leave at home alone alot while we are at work.
10+yrs back, my mum's maids were not so 'complicated' and quite hassle free. Content with no offs and no phone. Gave one of them an off-day but she came home after lunch citing nowhere to go and also got no friends here. Thenafter she rejected off-days.
I think these days they learn from old-timers all the tips and tricks. -
Littlefly:
:shock: did you tell her to stop ? she next day morning still can wake up ?
Yes ofcuz I said then she fight with me saying I said thats her time she can talk even till 2 also.. her argument is she wakes up on time.. but dunno if she sleeps in afternoon cause i am FTWM
Hmm.....then I think you got trouble. To openly talk back and even have all these thing about my time...dun sound good leh. The one I mentioned, tho she still got up on time but due to tiredness, was very grouchy and started talking back and arguing with the MIL (I bring her and kids to MIL place during daytime). My MIL till today still harp about her....
and still scold me for allowing that maid to have phone. Better monitor.
I am shocked you should have asked her to pay lor :?cwc:
Yes, $1400+. Can you imagine my SHOCK when I received the bill. First thot was to terminate her, but she actually wasn't that bad, guess still young and can't think properly. Tho a little 小姐, she treated my kids well and that is my TOP priority, chores and the rest are 2nd. AND if I terminate, not only do I need to pay for her airfare etc etc, she has totally zero $ with her cos' just finish loan. I still gotta bear the phone bill.
Anyway, it's over for me. AND I'm GLAD.
She did. By continuing to work for me, she paid back by deducting her monthly pay....but of course, I didn't really got back the full sum cos' in order to motivate her, I would find reasons to give a few tens here and there. She knew and appreciate hence worked till her phone debt was 'totally cleared'. But also pity her, after 2 years, just a few hundred of earnings (cos she would spend money unnecessarily too). In the end, her conflict with my MIL cannot be resolved, so I didn't renew......scared liao. Initially I still had news of her....after my contract, she changed 3-4 employers within the year....not sure how she is now...... -
anything they do is ok anything we do is bad... even in the MOM contract they put if maid cannot perform well or have issues and have to transfer as a employer we will not hamper their transfer :stupid:[/quote]MOM has this Policy, U Settle With Your Maid / Foreign Worker ....
don't know leh.jtoh:
[quote=\"LKVM\"]
Good idea but how to do that :?
If No Settle, They Stay Till Settle ....
Meanwhile U Pay For their Lodging, Levy, Being Called Up to MOM till ....
U Boey Ta-Han, Pay Them Whatever, Buy Ticket And Send Them OFF ....
And Worse ....
Your Name is Recorded in the MOM File ....
And U Cannot Get Another Maid / Foreign Worker Till Current One is Settled ....
SO Who is MOM Helping?
madinked:
Huh? where From?
I doubt it's boyfriend since she writes to many guys. And one goes by the name of bala.jtoh:
Her boyfriend wrote to her in English? Terrible, these maids.
Oh did I mention she brought back bed bugs?
Alamak! GeyLang? :!: -
madinked:
Actually the reason I let them have handphones is simple. They almost don't have a life here so it'll be nice to have a phone and they can at least communicate with friends. In the end she used the phone all the time. I had to step in a few times and stopped her. There were many times I stepped out of my room to see her in her room. When she saw me she would pretend to rearrange things. Despite warnings of keeping her phone, I'm reluctant to do I since it's her phone and she's 34 or so. I would think she has more self control than that.
The Moment She with Us for a Month, she Ask to Be Allowed to Have Mobile Phone ....
I So Nice Some more Afraid she Kena Cheated by her friend, and Ask My Son To Check if the Phone she get from her friend is of Reasonable Price or Not ....
Then, I Got Problem.
She Has Both Ear-Piece Plug in Her Ears ALL the Time .... I Have to Shout to Get her attention when I'm within 3 feet from Her!
Caught her talking in Indo Frequently on the Phone, .... And She Say She's Singing .... :roll: :roll:
Till I Threathen to Confiscate her mobile phone, then she Reluctantly remove 1 ear-piece ....
Sigh .... -
Hmm...did she complete and do her housework properly ? its like we still need to turn up for work on time and complete what we are supposed to do at work- no excuse just bcoz we slept late the night before. Any thoughts of putting up a web camera at home to give the peace of mind ? My uncle sent his maid home after he found out from his neighbours that she brought men home in the afternoon when they are at work. :!:Littlefly:
:shock: did you tell her to stop ? she next day morning still can wake up ?
Yes ofcuz I said then she fight with me saying I said thats her time she can talk even till 2 also.. her argument is she wakes up on time.. but dunno if she sleeps in afternoon cause i am FTWM
That's why many of us don't like maids to carry mobile coz hard to foresee if they have the self-discipline. When they not 'auto' enough, then we have to intervene and then they don't like it. They forgot they are here to earn their keep, not holidaying or at their own house!Till I Threathen to Confiscate her mobile phone, then she Reluctantly remove 1 ear-piece ....
Sigh ....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.