How to wash vegetables clean yet retain their nutrients

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    99 Posts 28 Posters 26.5k Views 1 Watching
      Happy Mama

[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
      Ya, I thought it might interest quite a few of us, since most of us here cook for our familes, and washing vegetables is one of the most basic thing we have to do. :celebrate:

yes, washing is impt.
      that's y when i am outside, i dun eat veg, they dun wash them properly.

then like that how to eat out i am sure they dont clean the meat also properly :stupid:[/quote]Ya lor... Like that no meaning in life leh... Cos my family LIVES TO EAT, not eat to live. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

Actually the white vinegar I have at home is used mainly for cleaning not for cooking. Haha, now found another use for it.

Funz, are there different types of vinegar? Ah, I now recall that I do have vinegar at home, but that's Japanese, and it's for sushi...

Yup, many types. There is brown vinegar, u know the kind u put in your loh mee. Then there is brown rice vinegar which I use for some marinades and balsamic vinegar for salads. I do use all these vinegars in my cooking. But white vinegar I use mainly for washing.

Happy Mama

[quote=\"Funz\"]Actually the white vinegar I have at home is used mainly for cleaning not for cooking. Haha, now found another use for it.

Funz, are there different types of vinegar? Ah, I now recall that I do have vinegar at home, but that's Japanese, and it's for sushi...

Yup, many types. There is brown vinegar, u know the kind u put in your loh mee. Then there is brown rice vinegar which I use for some marinades and balsamic vinegar for salads. I do use all these vinegars in my cooking. But white vinegar I use mainly for washing.[/quote]Oh ok thanks Funz!

Bungii

Bungii:

That's what my mum does. We use rice water (after the first rinse) to water the plants, wash our hands or even wash dishes, if there is any left of them. It works a bit like tea, helps to remove grease.

We also add vinegar to water to soak the fruits and vegetables.

Someone ever told me that using flour with water would remove the white stuff on the grapes, but I've not tried. My mum told me the white stuff on the grapes means that the grapes are of good quality. Not sure, but being lazy, I just soak the grapes in vinegar water and rinse off.
            šŸ‘…

Hi Bungii, this is interesting, using flour with water to remove the white stuff on grapes.

Oh, the white stuff means the grapes are of good quality? I thought those were the pesticide?

Beats me too, I also thought that was the pesticide, until she said that the \"cloudy\" look was alright. Glad you asked, I was too busy to go find out more previously. I just did a search on the internet. Here is more info about the cloudy look.
            http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/magazine/articles/2008/09/21/grape_bloom/
            http://www.chow.com/food-news/53503/whats-that-white-stuff-on-grapes/

Augmum

[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
              Ya, I thought it might interest quite a few of us, since most of us here cook for our familes, and washing vegetables is one of the most basic thing we have to do. :celebrate:

yes, washing is impt.

But the veg dishes outside taste so much nicer than home-cooked ones leh... maybe because of the strong heat from the wok.. Especially stir-fried Kai Lan, Sambal Kangkong etc.[/quote]at restaurants, think still alright, as they are cleaner,
              but at hawker centres/foodcourts, i dun eat their leafy veg,
              only cabbage, bean sprouts or cauliflower.

Augmum

then like that how to eat out i am sure they dont clean the meat also properly :stupid:
                meat not too bad lah, even if there are pesticides or toxic in it also cannot be cleaned or washed. šŸ˜‰ :lol:

Augmum

[quote=\"Augmum\"]
                  yes, washing is impt.

then like that how to eat out i am sure they dont clean the meat also properly :stupid:

Ya lor... Like that no meaning in life leh... Cos my family LIVES TO EAT, not eat to live. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]aiyo, din eat leafy veg outside, consider no meaning in life ??....haha
                  yes, my family aslo luv to eat, šŸ˜„
                  we explore eating places and try out recipes ourselves.
                  when outside, we usually order meat dishes.

Augmum

Bungii:

Hi Bungii, this is interesting, using flour with water to remove the white stuff on grapes.

Oh, the white stuff means the grapes are of good quality? I thought those were the pesticide?

Beats me too, I also thought that was the pesticide, until she said that the \"cloudy\" look was alright. Glad you asked, I was too busy to go find out more previously. I just did a search on the internet. Here is more info about the cloudy look.

i heard abt washing grapes with toothpaste, even cleaner than using salt.
                    but i have yet to try this way of washing. šŸ˜‰ :shock:

Happy Mama

Bungii:

i heard abt washing grapes with toothpaste, even cleaner than using salt. but i have yet to try this way of washing. šŸ˜‰ :shock:

:!: OMG! This is so funny! I've never heard of using toothpaste to clean grapes.. Augmum, I'm now imagining brushing the bunch of grapes like brushing teeth. It's going to be so time consuming to eat grapes but I'm sure the grapes will be sparkling clean. šŸ˜‰

Will you be trying it anytime soon, Augmum? I'm so curious to know the effects...

Augmum

:!: OMG! This is so funny! I've never heard of using toothpaste to clean grapes.. Augmum, I'm now imagining brushing the bunch of grapes like brushing teeth. It's going to be so time consuming to eat grapes but I'm sure the grapes will be sparkling clean. šŸ˜‰

Will you be trying it anytime soon, Augmum? I'm so curious to know the effects...
                        hey, happy mama, u're still awake ?? thot u sleep early?

yes, using TOOTHPASTE to wash grapes, u can google it, do have some info on it.
                        dun think i will try it out...so troublesome,
                        need to scrub them one by one.....haha
                        i rather soak all in the vinegar water, save time. šŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 10