Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      Funx3

[quote=\"LKVM\"]
      Good idea but how to do that :?

don't know leh.

anything they do is ok anything we do is bad... even in the MOM contract they put if maid cannot perform well or have issues and have to transfer as a employer we will not hamper their transfer :stupid:[/quote]MOM has this Policy, U Settle With Your Maid / Foreign Worker ....
      If No Settle, They Stay Till Settle ....

Meanwhile U Pay For their Lodging, Levy, Being Called Up to MOM till ....
      U Boey Ta-Han, Pay Them Whatever, Buy Ticket And Send Them OFF ....
      And Worse ....
      Your Name is Recorded in the MOM File ....
      And U Cannot Get Another Maid / Foreign Worker Till Current One is Settled ....

SO Who is MOM Helping?
      😛 😛

Funx3

madinked:

Her boyfriend wrote to her in English? Terrible, these maids.

I doubt it's boyfriend since she writes to many guys. And one goes by the name of bala.

Oh did I mention she brought back bed bugs?

Huh? where From?
        Alamak! GeyLang? :!:

Funx3

madinked:
          Actually the reason I let them have handphones is simple. They almost don't have a life here so it'll be nice to have a phone and they can at least communicate with friends. In the end she used the phone all the time. I had to step in a few times and stopped her. There were many times I stepped out of my room to see her in her room. When she saw me she would pretend to rearrange things. Despite warnings of keeping her phone, I'm reluctant to do I since it's her phone and she's 34 or so. I would think she has more self control than that.

The Moment She with Us for a Month, she Ask to Be Allowed to Have Mobile Phone ....
          I So Nice Some more Afraid she Kena Cheated by her friend, and Ask My Son To Check if the Phone she get from her friend is of Reasonable Price or Not ....

Then, I Got Problem.
          She Has Both Ear-Piece Plug in Her Ears ALL the Time .... I Have to Shout to Get her attention when I'm within 3 feet from Her!
          Caught her talking in Indo Frequently on the Phone, .... And She Say She's Singing .... :roll: :roll:

Till I Threathen to Confiscate her mobile phone, then she Reluctantly remove 1 ear-piece ....
          Sigh ....

Littlefly

Littlefly:

:shock: did you tell her to stop ? she next day morning still can wake up ?

Yes ofcuz I said then she fight with me saying I said thats her time she can talk even till 2 also.. her argument is she wakes up on time.. but dunno if she sleeps in afternoon cause i am FTWM 😐

Hmm...did she complete and do her housework properly ? its like we still need to turn up for work on time and complete what we are supposed to do at work- no excuse just bcoz we slept late the night before. Any thoughts of putting up a web camera at home to give the peace of mind ? My uncle sent his maid home after he found out from his neighbours that she brought men home in the afternoon when they are at work. :!:

Littlefly

Till I Threathen to Confiscate her mobile phone, then she Reluctantly remove 1 ear-piece ....

Sigh ....
              That's why many of us don't like maids to carry mobile coz hard to foresee if they have the self-discipline. When they not 'auto' enough, then we have to intervene and then they don't like it. They forgot they are here to earn their keep, not holidaying or at their own house!

Littlefly

cwc:

[quote=\"cwc\"]Yes, $1400+. Can you imagine my SHOCK when I received the bill. First thot was to terminate her, but she actually wasn't that bad, guess still young and can't think properly. Tho a little 小姐, she treated my kids well and that is my TOP priority, chores and the rest are 2nd. AND if I terminate, not only do I need to pay for her airfare etc etc, she has totally zero $ with her cos' just finish loan. I still gotta bear the phone bill.

Anyway, it's over for me. AND I'm GLAD.

I am shocked you should have asked her to pay lor :?

She did. By continuing to work for me, she paid back by deducting her monthly pay....but of course, I didn't really got back the full sum cos' in order to motivate her, I would find reasons to give a few tens here and there. She knew and appreciate hence worked till her phone debt was 'totally cleared'. But also pity her, after 2 years, just a few hundred of earnings (cos she would spend money unnecessarily too). In the end, her conflict with my MIL cannot be resolved, so I didn't renew......scared liao. Initially I still had news of her....after my contract, she changed 3-4 employers within the year....not sure how she is now......[/quote]Kudos to you. You must have been be very patient with her. Also by keeping her to 'clear' her bills, this also cut your losses to the minimum. 😎

BeContented

Littlefly:

Kudos to you. You must have been be very patient with her. Also by keeping her to 'clear' her bills, this also cut your losses to the minimum. 😎
                  Yes, minimum loss since she willingly stayed back. If she were to be nasty and chose to terminate (I think smart maids will do that), I would have to lose at least $1.5K immediate. (phone bill, her air ticket etc). That's why I say, she is not a bad girl....just young, simple and has not learnt how to control / resist temptation. Guess to me, being a little slow is fine, a bit lazy sometimes can understand, all of us have days when we just wanna laze....as long as the maid is within the limit I will choose to close one eye. Their life is terrible....at home or overseas, I do pity them. Look at it this way, it's our house, our children, natural for us to be more 'bia'...... when we feel like it, we can relax a bit too....but they have no choice.

However, I will draw the line clearly when they are not 'nice' eg. beat children/elderly, steal, tell lies, bring men home (mine will not have the chance tho) etc. 'Chin chai' a bit and we can be happier :imcool:

Littlefly

anyone has experiences on work division for maid and confinement auntie ? they would be sharing room with baby while my toddler boy will continue to sleep in our master bedroom.

I am thinking of setting out clear expectations from day 1 confinement so there’s no blurring of duties…

Confinement auntie
                    Cooks for me only
                    Attends to baby needs
                    Wash her own and bb clothes

Maid
                    Cooks for hb and herself
                    Wash ours and her own clothes
                    Housework as usual
                    Tend to my elder boy’s needs (as i plan to BF bb where possible)

Funx3

Littlefly:
                      anyone has experiences on work division for maid and confinement auntie ? they would be sharing room with baby while my toddler boy will continue to sleep in our master bedroom.

I am thinking of setting out clear expectations from day 1 confinement so there's no blurring of duties...

Confinement auntie
                      Cooks for me only
                      Attends to baby needs
                      Wash her own and bb clothes

Maid
                      Cooks for hb and herself
                      Wash ours and her own clothes
                      Housework as usual
                      Tend to my elder boy's needs (as i plan to BF bb where possible)
                      Do Add ONE More ....
                      Maid to Learn from Confinement Aunt :
                      How to Take Care of Baby Properly ....
                      Things Like Making Formula Milk / Cleaning Milk Bottles, Changing Nappies, Bathing Baby kinda day-to-day activities.

My First Maid, So Called Trained Already by Maid Agency,
                      Make Baby Formula with Cold Boiled Water ....
                      Don't Know how to Tape the Diapers ....
                      Don't Know how to Carry Baby ....

Even if U don't plan to let your Maid take care of your Baby Full Time, when U Need her assistance at times, with proper training, she will know what to do ....

And Congratulations to you for your Soon-to-Arrive Bundle of JOY!
                      :celebrate: :celebrate:

deskbound

i’m going to get a FT maid this june after i give birth to my 2nd child… should i choose one who has never work in s’pore? any pointers to share?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 439 / 1032